We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“We loved our upgrade”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We reserved a room and were assigned to a spacious, nicely appointed suite that made our 3-night stay more like a vacation than a business trip. Being in one of the cottages behind the office made our room very quiet and we had a parking place right by our door every time we needed one. Unlike a colleague who stayed in a nearby motel, we had not one, but two working flat screen televisions, a quiet refrigerator and microwave. After a long day in meetings, it was especially nice to be able to walk to nearby bookstores and restaurants in the evening. Centrally located hotels in university towns get a lot of wear and tear, so we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and friendly service at Aggie Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northcoast_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Hi, Thank You for your review. The Cottage Suites definitely offer good value for money and most guests are always pleasantly surprise with the size and the amenities we offer.

Hopefully we will see you again next time you visit Davis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
13
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

On a recent trip to work at UCD I stayed in this hotel for the first time. My room with 2 queen beds was on the small side, but the bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bath was clean with adequate water pressure in the shower. The morning breakfast offered many choices and very good coffee. I was pleased with the room rate, the quiet location and the proximity to campus. Would definitely return.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
I'm very pleased to hear you had a very comfortable stay at the Aggie Inn and I'm glad you enjoy the breakfast. Our goal at the Aggie Inn is for every guest to have a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon. Thank You for sharing your experience at Aggie Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Aggie Inn is in a good location, but that's about all it has going for it. Everything about the room was a little disappointing, from the A/C that was so noisy I couldn't sleep while it was on, to the wall-mounted hairdryer that was about as effective as being breathed on by someone with a fever. Based on some of the other reviews, it looks like they're in the middle of remodeling (as of Sept 2011). Until they're finished, I'd stay away.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one that has already been remodeled/updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcourt2011, Guest Relations Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Hello, and thank you for your review of your experiences at Aggie Inn. I am sorry that it was not the best stay. Rest assured we are working on these issues and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in Davis, be it for business or pleasure.

Best regards,

Matthew Silver
Royal Guest Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Davis hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for my nephew's marriage at a farm in the Capay Valley. This hotel, and the Best Western downtown were two hotels that were offering a wedding rate. I was a bit hesitant, to stay at the Aggie Inn, having read some bad reviews; but it seemed that most of them were a few years old, and that in recent years the hotel had been acquired by Ascend Properties, so I took a cha-cha-cha-chance. I was pleased to find that my room had been attractively updated recently in earth tones. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. My only complaint was a non-working bathroom sink plug. In the back of the main building there are some wood cabins where members of the bridal party were staying that looked interesting. The hotel is located right at the campus entrance, a couple of blocks from the main part of town. Anyone looking for a good value would do well to check out the Aggie Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcourt2011, Guest Relations Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Hello, and thank you for letting us know about your experience at Aggie Inn. This is a great way to let us and others know what we're doing right, and what we can do better. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting Davis.

Best regards,

Matthew Silver
Royal Guest Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Aggie Inn has recently become affiliated with a hotel 'group.' This fact encouraged me to make the reseervation, despite some 'tepid' TripAdvisor comments.

The premises look newly refurbished and the rooms newly painted and decorated. The bathrooms show age, but otherwise the room was clean anad comfortable. Hot water was plentiful, there was in-room coffee and free internet.

Many parking spaces are under cover - a plus in this climate. Breakfast was negligible:
Great if you want to make waffles, but not so good if you are looking for healthy foods. Apples, oranges and bananas were available.

Staff members were pleasant but had to call someone on the telephone to resolve room issues. Often, there was no one at the desk but a signing asking guests to call '0' for assistance. In this economy, that is understandable. Whenever I called, someone appeared almost immediately.

Overall, this is a good place to stay, reasonably priced. No 'wow!' moments, but a good, clean, safe and convenient accomodation. And it is centrally located in David: most of town and the UCDavis campus are within walking distance from the Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baysil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcourt2011, Guest Relations Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Hello, thank you for your review of your stay this week at Aggie Inn. We appreciate your candid feedback, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area. I will pass your comments on to the staff and the owners regarding your stay and how we can improve breakfast.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Best regards,
Matthew Silver
Royal Guest Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We've stayed at the Aggie Inn several times in the last 10 years. I can't comment on the main part of the hotel, but we've always stayed in one of the cottages. This time it looked like the room had been recently upgraded: new flat-screen TV, spa tub/shower with tub-to-ceiling tile, comfortable bed, spacious room. Housekeeping needs some better attention to detail. After two days my wife had to ask for a new bar of soap for the shower, and one day no washcloths were left.

Only serious negative was the poor wireless Internet connection. I actually had a better connection from the neighboring hotel. Wireless Internet has always been lousy here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmlowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcourt2011, Guest Relations Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Hello, thank you very much for your recent review of Aggie Inn in Davis. We are now affiliated with Choice Hotels, through their Ascend Collection. I will pass your comments on the staff and the owners and we will work on improving the wireless service.

Again thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best regards,
Matthew Silver
Royal Guest Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Maybe it looks too good from the street, because the rooms don't match the expectations we had after seeing the hotel. Really my biggest complaint is with the bathroom. The bathroom door is awkwardly located right near the door to the room, and the sink was external to the bathroom, also right by the door to the room. The exhaust fan in our bathroom blew air around but not out, kind of defeating it's own purpose. And the shower curtain was too short, so water got on the floor after showering. However, some friends of ours were staying in one of the "cottages" located on the property and they did not have the same complaints.
Also, the breakfast was horrible-- the pastries, cereal, and even the waffle batter was stale (how does that work?). There was no coffee and when I asked for some it took about 20 minutes for them to refill the coffee.
On the plus side, the beds were fine. The Aggie Inn is the closest hotel to UC Davis as far as I could tell, so there is that. And there is a nice hot tub.
My recommendation would be to do the Best Western at C and 3rd. The two hotels are the same price, and I caught a glimpse of the rooms there and they are much, much nicer. Plus the Best Western is closer to most of the Davis restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVCasualty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.4 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 245 1st St, Davis, CA 95616-4645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aggie Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing