We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Davenport B&B and Inns
1 review
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We did not know what we were going to see when we arrived and what a treat it was. They have a beach across the street which is huge and has amazing cliffs. The hotel was very clean and the staff was absolutely wonderful. It is about 15 minutes to Santa Cruz which is always fun. We went to Monterey for a day trip and it was about an hour away. We would definitely stay here again and we are already planning another trip. I can't wait to tell other people about this hidden hot spot. it was also very reasonable. We stayed 3 nights and it was $400.00. What a deal for an ocean view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fungirltaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    47
    24
    13
    16
See reviews for
25
74
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Davenport Roadhouse twice now, and will stay there many more times in the future.

I don't know about the rooms that are over their restaurant, but the room I stayed in would not be a good choice for someone who plans to spend a lot of time in their room. The room was clean and supplied a very good bed and very little else. In fact, I brought my own portable chair the second time I stayed there. There was an easy way to make coffee a few steps from the room. They have lovely local lavendar soaps in the bathroom. The free wi-fi was a little fickle. Everything else worked fine.

So why four stars? For me and my needs, it was actually five stars. I have a sister who lives in Santa Cruz who does not really have a way to put up a guest for a full week. Santa Cruz accomodations that suit me would be way beyond my budget. I like quiet and a nice setting. The Roadhouse provided these things, and was a 10-minute drive, with very little traffic, to my sister's place.

The Davenport Roadhouse is right across the street from ocean access....an easy walk to a beach. I visited the beach at both low and high tide. Two totally different experiences. Loved it!

I loved the convenience of the very good restaurant on the premises. I have now had both breakfast and dinner there. Unique menu and very good food.

I was traveling alone and the staff was very kind and helpful, which is very important to me.

If you stay there and you like art glass, the Lundberg studio showroom is just a short walk away. There are seconds in the showroom, as well as perfect glass. Next time I come, I will bring a budget for glass.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the rooms is what is probably an old vacation cabin, which is not on the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here to use the restaurant as we were staying about 10 miles up the road at pigeon point lighthouse. Between the lighthouse and Santa Cruz there really is very little. In fact beyond the lighthouse there isn't much either. We were entertained by a love band and the place was buzzing. We had to wait around 15 minutes for a table, but I always take that as a good sign. There were only 2 serving staff on shift and the poor girl sorting out tables and reservations was rushed off her feet. Still, the atmosphere made up for it. Food was fresh and good. I recommend the pizza. However, steer clear of the choc cake. It looks irresistible, but its not good at all. Very very very rich. I had to leave mine and that's unheard of!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

On a recently visit to No Cal, we ate here with a friend and her daughters and friends, one of whom is a student at UC Santa Cruz and recommended we come here as they had a great meal previously and wanted to come back.

With vegans, vegetarians, and meat eaters in our group our needs were diverse. There isn't much on the menu for a vegan, but they were happy to make a pizza with no cheese, which was excellent. The menu is small, but all the meals were tasty and the pricing was reasonable, especially for No Cal.

This is a kind of remote spot, but is well worth stopping at if you are coming up the coast from Santa Cruz towards San Francisco. Very pretty views nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gossamer78759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I paid $12 for a salad with little more than greens and a few beet chunks. The total coat to the establishment must have been in the range of 50-75 cents. If you eat here don't get this salad.
It is a total rip off!

Room Tip: Salads are two dollars a bite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Davenport hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stopped at the Davenport Roadhouse for lunch on our recent drive on Highway 1 from Carmel to San Francisco. There is little by way of decent food stops once leaving Santa Cruz as you head north on Highway 1 notwithstanding the great scenery, and the Davenport Roadhouse was a welcome surprise. I ordered a beetroot salad which was made with local ingredients, and it was well presented, properly prepared and with some delightful additions such as medjool dates sliced finely to add some natural sweetness to offset the beetroot.

The pricing was very reasonable, and the service was swift and the taking of our orders was efficient, and importantly correct. The Roadhouse has reflective brown glass windows which make it difficult for travellers to ascertain whether the Roadhouse is open. Better signage would help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pittjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stopped at the Roadhouse late on christmas eve after a long drive on our way home. We were just tired and hungry. We could choose between two and went for the larger one with a TV. It looked nice eventhough the rate of $160 (because of christmas) seemed a bit high. The room was clean except for the area around the coffemaker. We would have appreciated a fridge or microwave. During night time some traffic noise bothered us. Value for money was not good.
The restaurant was much better. We both choose the articoke/leak lasagne which was very good and worth the money. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abceschweitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
9.9 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
9.9 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,444 reviews
8.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
16.2 mi away
Hostelling International-Pigeon Point Lighthouse Hostel
10.0 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn

Property: Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn
Address: 1 Davenport Ave, Davenport, CA 95017
Location: United States > California > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Roadhouse Hotel Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing