We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does everything + more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Davenport B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does everything + more.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our N California road trip. After a long flight from the UK we wanted somewhere to stay that was in reasonable distance of San Francisco so chose the Roadhouse, we were not disappointed it got our holiday off to a great start. The rooms were very clean, and we were not troubled by the noise from the road as it seemed to go very quiet by 10 am. However the real bonus was the restaurant, which we have written a separate review and the beach across the rail track, both are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noworkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    47
    24
    13
    17
See reviews for
26
74
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We chose to stay at the Roadhouse Inn because it was out of the hustle of big city activities. After reading other reviews, pros and cons, we thought to give it a try. Overall there were some good qualities and some poor. We loved the comfort of the room. Being small was not a discomfort and the bed was very comfortable. The shades for the doors were very easy to operate for privacy. The Ocean View was a little disappointing since we paid extra for that amenity. You had to stand at the door or in a far corner of the room to see a sliver of the rock cliff and waters edge. The view was mostly of the southern highway hillside coming from Santa Cruz. The organic touch was very nice. The check in process was smooth, even though we had to ask for assistance at the restaurant counter. All the personnel we encountered was courteous and friendly. The dinner menu was limited. We did enjoy our evening meal. We walked to the Bakery down the road for breakfast the next morning because the Inn did not open until 8am. We wanted to get an early start on our second day. We chose to check out about 9:30am and had to find someone to leave our key with. I was not real comfortable not receiving any receipt or final checkout documents. Overall it was a comfortable evening stay. If your wanting something special, I would not advise this as a choice, but as a one night stay on the road, it was a good choice....pss...my friend just informed me the cat cried late into the night which caused the dogs in the area to bark, so I guess he didn't get to sleep very much. Maybe not good for a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Street noise around the clock and don't expect a good ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank two4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

One of the best finds on the Northern California coast. A real, old-world yet modern inn. A place you can spend a night on a road trip, have amazing food and very friendly staff. Yes, it's loud, as many people point it out. But the whole idea of a roadside inn is that is by the road. You can hear the cars, and you can hear the ocean, you can sip a glass of wine on the porch and then cozy up by the fireplace in the restaurant having one of the best meals ever.

You have to try the truffle fries. They are the best I've had. And the clam chowder - made with fresh clams - is also amazing. It's not just warm cream with bacon and potatoes. It's clam chowder. The artichoke lasagne is a unique and very successful dish, as well as any of the daily specials - last time I had salmon on a bed of wilted spinach with squash pure and pomagranate sauce. The food is delicious and affordable too.

If you want a real treat, stay in the Captain's suite. It's the largest room, on the corner, with amazing views.

If you just happen to drive by on a Sunday morning, don't miss the brunch!

And there's a full bar, with many local wines. Tea, coffee, fresh pastries are also available.

On the website, check out the specials - there are some great discounts during the week.

The Roadhouse is one of my favorite places. If you expect a quiet retreat, this is not it. But if you want to experience a unique, friendly place with a one-of-a-kind ambiance, this is your place.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are right above the restaurant, by the road. These are my favorites. Again, the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwzest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacto area
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Charming, old-Calif. look & feel but modernized here and there; nice bathroom fixtures, design and thought are evident everywhere. Balcony has a sliver of ocean view, a redone old mission is within walking distance up the side street; calm & quiet town, peaceful; double doors to the balcony; reservation lady on the phone days earlier could not be more helpful or better!

Then the cars started zooming about 50-75 feet away on Hwy 1 two-lane. Every car was sharply and in detail perfectly audible. They were almost identifiable by size and make, perhaps. Trucks, when deliveries began predawn, were distinct. Recc. do NOT stay in this place unless you are deaf or a truly world-class sleeper dead to the world during sleep hours.
IF THE HOTEL WERE TO FIX THE THIN DOORS, PERHAPS ADDING THICK SOUNDPROOFING, PERHAPS EXTRA DOORS TO FOLD OVER THE NICE BUT THIN MAIN ONES, ALL WOULD BE WELL enough. PERHAPS. Sound was not noticed except for the road tires and engines and so on (we did have the hotel all to ourselves).

Parking was available in the lot right behind, and the hotel's very-excellent reservation staffer had briefed us about on-street parking (put the tag on dash so city folks know you belong).

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless they fix the traffic-noise problem--the nice double doors unfortunately l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rndh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Davenport hotels

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
845 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I had already decided on my rating before glancing at those by other folks, and thought the reviews would be all over the map. That certainly turns out to be true.

My wife and I really enjoyed it. The rooms are tiny, but interestingly furnished, and the bed was fine. Finding an electrical outlet for my laptop turned out to be a challenge, and the bedside lamps equally challenging for someone who enjoys reading in bed, but the room still had a lot of charm. (The rooms are individually named; we stayed in China Ladder. Photos and descriptions of each room are available at the inn's website, and I highly recommend checking out what you are getting before committing.)

If you like a short adventure, be sure to walk across the highway (carefully!), find the path down to the beach, and explore it before leaving. The Pacific shoreline is gorgeous just about anywhere near Davenport.

We did have difficulty getting someone's attention when we had a problem, and waited about 15 minutes until someone in the restaurant associated with this inn could find a desk clerk to help us.

Room Tip: If you are reserving, be sure to check out the room at the inn's website before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

On a rainy night in March we stopped in to have dinner with relatives. We had stayed here on her recommendation many months ago.

The dinner was way overpriced and the service was underwhelming. Our experience was so bad with the management and staff that we will never return.

Yes the views are nice and the food in the restaurant is sometimes quite good. But I don't want to spend my hard earned money with people who are so uncaring about their customers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Glad we decided to stop at the Roadhouse on our trip down the Highway 1.
A few days ago my wife and I stayed at the Roadhouse Inn - We had the corner room with excellent views over the pacific ocean which we discovered the next morning. The room was spacious and well appointed. The bed felt comfortable and I didn’t wakeup once during the night (a very rare occasion when I’m traveling)
For dinner we tried the Brussels sprouts and when we noticed the pizza oven we had to try the pizza as well – great choice. The house burger was delicious and a local beer did the rest.
Next morning after a relaxed breakfast we were ready for the day and for sure we will be back on our way back.

Room Tip: We'd recomend the corner room towards the highway and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keyser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
10.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,657 reviews
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
317 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
16.2 mi away
Hostelling International-Pigeon Point Lighthouse Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn

Property: Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn
Address: 1 Davenport Ave, Davenport, CA 95017
Location: United States > California > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn is nestled within State Parks and Organic Farms along the California Coast Line. We are located in Davenport right on the world famous Highway One. Approx. 9 miles North of Santa Cruz. In our restaurant we serve organic mostly California Coastal Cuisine - all is cooked from scratch. The Inn rooms are individual furnished, most of them offer a view into the Monterey Bay. At night time visitors can sit outside on the porch a listen to the sound of the Pacific waves crashing ashore just 200 - 300 yards away. Davenport is a quite town, its the home of artists and craft shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Davenport Roadhouse Restaurant & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Roadhouse Hotel Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing