We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great onsite dinner dining”

Stonehill Tavern , A Michael Mina Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonehill Tavern , A Michael Mina Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 143 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Wine Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: STONEHILL TAVERN at the Monarch Beach Resort in Dana Point offers modern American cuisine focusing on seasonal ingredients and elegant tavern fare with twists on home-style favorites. The menu showcases the restaurant's strong relationships with local farmers with offerings of California coastal vegetables, as well as local and seasonal seafood specialties.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great onsite dinner dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

tasteful setting and tasteful food, presentation and service were great!. This place was packed for hotel fine dinning, but understandable so, with the great food & ambiance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Philp N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    32
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Dinner at the St Regis in Dana Point. Very expensive but also very beautiful. Our table looked out over the ocean at sunset. Oysters, lobster fritters (outstanding), Caesar salad (okay), foie gras and scallops (great), and lobster pot pie (very good). Our waiter was great and he paired wines with the different courses. Valet parked for free (tipped). Meal with cocktails and wine cost $342.00.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Burnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Terrible service! ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Stonehill Tavern on our honeymoon. When I made reservations I mentioned it was our honeymoon and they told us they'd give us a great table. When we arrived they seated us in a not so great seat, when we asked for a booth they turned us down. We ordered our drinks and waited a long time for our server to return. We ordered our food, my husband ordered the steak, I ordered the scallops. The food was actually pretty good but they brought my husband the wrong potatoes. The server never came back to check on us! I notified the restaurant manager and all she offered was to take care of us the next time we return. Return? I don't think so!

Helpful?
Thank BrookeAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Over rated!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

$55 steak came out miss cooked and not hot. Had to sends back. Signature turkey burger was dry and tasteless. Service was too slow. How does this place get the high ratings I hear about? We will never go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank golfer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved the ambiance, the wine list and the food! Our waiter, Claude, was excellent, friendly and our service was terrific. Very relaxing evening in a nice place with good food and wine among friends! Don't hesitate to eat here thinking it is just an ordinary hotel venue. It's great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCATravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonehill Tavern , A Michael Mina Restaurant also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Stonehill Tavern , A Michael Mina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing