We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & Wine List”

Casanova Ristorante
Ranked #20 of 143 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casanova Italian Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge offers authentic North Italian cuisine in a romantic atmosphere. Many customers enjoy our specialties and specially selected wine list. The restaurant has a warm and friendly Italian ambiance with terracotta tiles and many beautiful images of Venice. It offers an indoor as well as an outdoor dinning experience. The delicious cuisine and wonderful music of many greats, including Frank Sinatra and Tony Bennett creates an atmosphere for love and celebration at Casanova. We are located just a mile away from the Ritz Carlton and the St. Regis Hotels off the Dana Point Harbor. Please visit our web site for our most up-to-date menu and dining specialties!
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Food & Wine List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Don't let the location fool you so that you change your mind to go here. It's in the corner of a little strip mall and doesn't have any view. Changing your mind to go here would be a BIG mistake.

I am super picky about italian food in the US as I travel extensively to Italy. The food here is great as is the wine list. The egg plant parmesiana is a MUST. My only regret is that I didn'tget the dinner portion as an appetizer. It is fantastic. Just the right amount of cheese and great sauce .

Main dish of Veal parmesiana was also wonderful. There are plenty of great wine choices both Italian and domestic ranging from very expensive wines all the way down to reasonable choices that will suit almost everyone. I am also very picky about wine lists as most are over priced and have few selections. There were several wines that I could have ordered and been perfectly happy with.

This will be the first restaurant I go to when I come back here. If you love good food then you'll love this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickFromSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    29
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We love this place. The service is excellent and the food is always good. We have yet to be disappointed. They have a great happy hour if you just want a quick bite. Also, they make the best cosmo in orange county. :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoSoCak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“YOU MUST TRY THIS - SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This restaurant is consistently very good. Service is excellent too. The tortellini with peas and prociutto is wonderful as is the seabass. Calamari, spaghetti and meatballs, gnocchi, all great. The bread is very good and arrives hot to the table. I never hesitate to eat there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent_Traveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Classic Italian, popular with locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This locally popular place is always busy so reservations are recommended, especially on Fridays and Saturdays. I have dined here several times over the past few years and always had a great meal. The ambiance is warm and pure classic Italian. When my friend and i recently dined here on a Friday evening, we split an entree. $3.50 is added to the bill for splitting an entree, but we didn't mind because the portions are very large. We ordered the angel hair pasta dish with chopped tomatoes, olive oil, garlic and basil. It was delicious, although I would add that for us, it was too heavy on the tomatoes. The entree included the house salad and we ordered an extra one. We then indulged in desserts - the creme brulee and spumoni, both of which were very good. The service was pleasant, although somewhat rushed, perhaps due to the line of guests outside waiting for tables. There are two rooms - one that includes booths and a long bar, and the second with dining tables only. We were seated at the back of the second room, where there happened to be a phone extension behind my seat that rang a number of times. The ring was extremely loud and was annoying to say the least. I would suggest silencing that ring.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbarb2-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid well crafted Italian menu.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Casanova had a solid well crafted Italian menu that they will vary to accommodate. No fuss here and thus has enjoyed a great reputation with locals for years. We have visited at least 4 times this year. Highly recommended for couples or small parties. One of those places where "everyone knows your name"

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Ristorante also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Casanova Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing