We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelled bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The room smelled so dank that I had to open the unscreened front windows to air it out. TV remote controls were primitive and difficult to use. The place has some nice common area decking with views, though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 732 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great hotel, clean, friendly staff. It is right across the street from the beach! Beds are comfortable. Free WiFi, free parking. Nice garden areas, ocean viewing. Fit our needs perfectly. Close to harbor, San Juan and more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101nancye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were going to Catalina Island for the weekend and chose this location for the night before the Catalina Express. Steve, the Manager on duty, was Super friendly! The room was very clean and the location was in walking distance of some restaurants and bars that Steve gave us a complimentary drink for. When Steve heard we were leaving early and would not be at the free breakfast, he asked us what we could like as far as bagels, fruit, etc and brought us up a plate that night along with our bill since we were leaving before the office opened. It was 1 mile from the Boat landing for the Catalina Express and it was honestly the perfect start to a perfect vacation!. Thanks again.

Room Tip: You can see the ocean from this hotel and it is 1 mile from the boat landing to Catalina from Dana P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A great view of the ocean from the balcony. PCH and railroad tracks are between the hotel and the ocean but it's close and quiet enough at night to hear the waves . The courtyard area is very tranquil filled with fountains, flowers, and seating. The rooms are large, the free breakfast has a good variety, free parking below the hotel, and a very friendly, accommodating office staff. I needed to extend my stay and Ferdinand made it possible for me to keep the same room. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem, I imagine it isn't $500 a night is because of the road between you and the ocean, but the views are still fabulous. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the room had a balcony facing the water. The owner was extremely friendly and was always welcoming. Not bad for $170 a night off of the ocean!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angryrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

In February, while travelling southern CA, we booked into this hotel. The staff were fantastic, always cheerful and willing to help with anything. Everything was clean and well kept. The bed was super comfortable. The location is great as it is just across the street to the beach and they have a nice cycle trail that guides you all over the beach area. We spent a wonderful two days here and hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a perfect experience. The entire property is immaculate. You notice this the moment you drive into the parking garage and ride up the elevator to the lobby. Everything is sparkling clean. Our room was lovely, the furnishings and decor are modern, and the beds are super comfortable. I slept like a baby both nights! Service is top-notch. From the minute we arrived, Fernando was so welcoming and hospitable. When we had breakfast the first morning, he was kind enough to show us where everything was located in the breakfast room and even offered to show us how to use the waffle maker. Breakfast was yummy...we enjoyed sausage, scrambled eggs, toast and bagels, muffins, danish, fruit juices, and hot coffee. The landscaping of the property is beautiful...there are several fountains, lush greenery, and beautiful flowers throughout. The hotel is right across from Doheny Beach. We took a relaxing walk along the beach before sunset one evening and we delighted by all the lovely rocks and pebbles peppering the shore. We had a wonderful stay and left feeling relaxed and so appreciative of this gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was located in the back, on the second floor, away from the highway. We asked for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123puff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
351 reviews
7.9 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
507 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92624-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $131 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing