We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Close to the Beach as You Can Get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Serene hotel setting across the street from the beach. Close to the pedestrian walkover and within walking distance of restaurants. Comfortable room with fridge, microwave and big screen TV. Hot breakfast with ample offerings. Short drive to Dana Point and San Clemente. Very friendly hotel staff.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony room facing beach is heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderingwindsorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 732 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our second time staying at this location and we will keep staying there whenever we visit the area. We had an issue with the truck of our car and the young man behind the counter offered to help try and get it open. Even though we were not successful the young man offered us tooth paste, tooth brushes, razors and shaving cream since our stuff was in our truck. For us that was going above and beyond his job description and for that we are grateful. Those little things help when you are stressed out about not having what you need when you are out of town and hoping the trunk will eventually open. We just wanted to say Thank you very much to the staff at The Best Western Plus in Dana Point, it was a pleasure to stay at your location!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paloma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at this location for our Presidents Day long weekend. It is right on the PCH and not too far away from Dana Point Harbor. This is a pet friendly hotel and we took our little Chihuahua with us. It was great to take our little for a walk around the harbor.

The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean. The beds were also quite comfortable. We were given a third floor room that faces PCH and was a bit noisy when the window was open, so we had to close the window and turn the AC on. It would be nice to have some fresh air.

We thought that there were fridge and microwave in the room when we made the reservation, but it turned out that they had removed them from the rooms. We had brought some food with us in our ice chest and we had to go down the stairs to the breakfast room to heat it up, which was kind of inconvenient.

However, besides these two little things, everything else was perfect. The breakfast was good and the food items were different everyday. They also have a pancake machine.

There's a $20 per day pet fee if you have a dog and a $10 per day parking fee. Although our parking fee was waived since we are the Best Western member.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back and away from the highway to avoid noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floatingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The people at this Best Western are very kind courteous and helpful.
However, the hotel suffers from a tough location.
Dana Point is a beautiful place, but this Inn is on the highway and therefore VERY noisy.
Besides that the amenities are very basic.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, request as high a floor as possible to reduce the noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yacovk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The staff very helpful and welcoming. The view was beautiful even though there is a street between the hotel and the beach. There are no hotels in Dana Point on the beach so the view was the best you could get. The room was very spaciaous and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We recently had a wonderful stay at this small,well maintained hotel. We had a balcony room with an ocean view. Although the room is at the front of the hotel it was remarkably quiet. There was very little street noise from the highway. The hotel has a quaint feeling with lovely small gardens. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom although small had a great shower.
We found the hotel to be very clean. Fernando takes great pride in the hotel and we found him to be most hospitable and helpful. He gave us some very helpful suggestions for dining, sightseeing and secured our tickets for us for Catalina Island. He went out of his way to make our stay in Dana Point memorable

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

also the frige was so noisy we had to unplug it very unhappy with our overall stay the food was very poor quality will not be back there are to many other places to stay to be unhappy so on and so forth

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
351 reviews
7.9 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
509 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92624-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $131 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing