We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Best Western!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Best Western!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were visiting friends less than a half mile away so we were not expecting much even with all the good trip advisor reviews. We were pleasantly surprised and feel we can safely say we stay no where else when visiting Orange County again. Our room was large and the bed was the super comfy and not just on hotel standards - it was a good bed. And good pillows which is such a rarity in hotels. Parking was easy and it was great to wake up and get a cup of coffee and cereal from the breakfast bar and sit looking at the ocean. For those not familiar with this part of southern CA be warned that you are right on PCH and right across from the train tracks. But so are most of the other places so do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dc_fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    159
    46
    19
    17
See reviews for
185
237
39
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nc
Level Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

my wife and i stayed here in september for three nights. i'll give you the bottom line first...there are much better choices in the area at lower prices. i can only blame myself for waiting to the last minute and doing too little research. we had enough time while there to visit other hotels for future visits to the area. i have traveled quite a bit and have done trip advisor reviews for at least three years. the positives for this property are decent staff, some rooms recently renovated, free underground parking, and little else. knowing what we were paying (>$200/night), we were dissapointed on arrival and was frankly a bit embarassed in front of my wife. the negatives are: dark and musty rooms (albeit with recent furniture/carpets), a general feeling of run-down and "homeyness", a terrible breakfast buffet (poor coffee, supermarket white flour packaged breads and "pastries", scrambled eggs and sausage that was brought out in tupperware, stale cereals in plastic bins cleared out ?when, all laid out in a tiny area with people eating while standing, smokers right outside door), and as mentioned in other reviews...hear-it-to-believe-it train noise. i finally figured out that the hotel is right at the point where the train is required to blow its whistle (repeatly) before a crossing...almost HOURLY, including most hours of the night and early morning. and it is difficult to justify choosing based on location because the view is a four lane highway and train tracks...not from most rooms, mind you, but from the front public areas. this is a quirky place that does not seem to have the consistency or status to be part of even the best western chain. if the rooms were $89 then maybe...but regardless of any response the manager may make to my review...believe me there are many better choices, even if you have to stay inland (the roads here get you to the beach quickly anyway).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is an older hotel but is well kept and the owners a friendly and accommodating. I recommend getting a room with a fireplace even if you aren't needing to use it, because the room is bigger and has a high ceiling, as well as being on a higher floor. The highway noise on the first floor is worse, but is constant no matter what-otherwise we could have listened to the ocean right across the street. We were usually only there during the evening-and the train didn't bother us at all. If you want to take any cruises or go to Catalina, the harbor is only about five minutes away. The room does have a musty odor so you may want to take some air freshener or incense. I think it is just due to the age of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent a weekend there recently to just recharge and enjoy some beautiful scenery and relaxation. The staff was very attentive, nice beautiful gardens with lovely classical music playing; very nice rooms with comfy pillow top beds and balcony with spectacular ocean views and sunset. The only drawback (which has to do with location) is the amount of traffic noise from PCH. It dies down later at night and I would have loved to open the windows to get fresh air and hear the ocean waves at night but the porch light was so bright and could not be turned off so I had to keep A.C. on all night instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dltakahashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This funny hotel:
I checked in and was told by the lady that I needed to pay an additional USD 14 for breakfast. I could not opt out of that fee.
Well, the next day I had to catch an early flight, so I went at 7.10am to the breakfast room. Everything was locked, no one was there.
At 7.10am I couldn't expect to get breakfast which I have paid for?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wassu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second stay. We come for an annual family event at Doheny State Beach. This Best Western is walking distance to the beach and bon fire, close to the overpass. It is a great location. This is a family-run hotel, clean, well managed. We really like the personal attention from the owners. Also, the beds and pillows are terrific, soft any comfy. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms by the sea have a great view, but you can hear the trains passing. Rooms in the rear are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn By The Sea for a short mini vacation. What a wonderful surprise! Great location minutes from the beach, free continental breakfast, caring staff, and soothing gardens. Convenient to adjacent cities--Laguna Beach, San Juan Capistrano, and San Clemente. Ear plugs are provided just in case the Amtrack doesnt lull you to sleep. What is nice is that the rooms have a balcony with views of ocean and you dont have to walk forever to get to your room. Rooms are tastefully updated and comfortable. You could take the overhead walkway to get to the beach quickly. All in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjpsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
1.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 13 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 13 in Dana Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92624-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing