We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Laguna Cliffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just coming back from the Laguna Cliffs Marriott where my wife and I have spent an excellent week end! It was our anniversary and the staff at the Marriott have done everything to make our stay a unique experience!
Our room had a beautiful Ocean View that was worth as much as a 5* hotel like the St Regis and the Montage.
The room was spacious and clean and they graciously brought us a fridge when we requested one to store our 4-month old son's breast milk. It's normally $15 p. day.
Breakfasts were included and the buffet had everything you needed. Everything was of great quality!
Overall a very nice week end and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is a real Marriott Resort, make sure you book the package with valet and breakfast.
Excellent resort for any occasion, we stayed the last weekend in August prior to the holiday weekend, they had an outdoor wedding set up for 6 p.m. that was "impeccable".

The breakfast buffet with omelet station and lot's of fresh fruit, coffee, orange juice with the possibility of outside ocean view seating is a must have.

I also liked the separation of family pool and adult pool.

Just a short walk down the hill to the beach (shuttle available)
Best value for a resort in southern California. MeuterMedia

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I recently stayed here with my girlfriend. This was the second time I had been to this truly unique hotel/resort. Unbelievable service, location, views, water sports, marina, nature, romance - it truly has all you can ask for so the price you will pay will be worth it no matter when you go here. I HIGHLY recommend it. It is one of the most comfortable, peaceful, yet fun, and luxury hotel and resorts I have ever been to. The landscape, the breathtaking views, the high quality of the restaurant food at breakfast or at any other meal and the friendly staff make this a true favorite of any person or family that will stay here. I guarantee this! And believe me I do not work for the hotel, nor have any stake/interest in it...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temovip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed for two nights during 12-day San Fran to San Diego trip. Gorgeous hotel with easily the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Hotel rooms are bright and airy. Grounds are lovely and the location above Dana Point Harbor is breathtaking. Lovely area for running. Valet parking requirement (at $27 a night) is rather foolish, but that's the only real complaint. Fabulous restaurant (Harpoon Henry's) right down the road; nice to walk both ways to enjoy the harbor.

Wish we could have stayed longer; will definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAdventure11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Just had a very pleasant 6 night stay, in a comfortable room with a view of the water. The hotel trumpets its renovation, which has resulted in a comfortable and updated physical space. The staff is generally very pleasant, as well. The main issues concern consistency. That generally separates good from great. Examples: some mornings no bathrobes in the closet, some evenings no turn down, some days no towels in the fitness center. Sometimes there is water at the valet station, sometimes not. It is easy to get a sense of these kinds of issues with a longer stay, and I would urge the property to "step it up" just a bit. But it was a great vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Used marriott reward points and the service of hotel was superb. Front desk person at check-in was very pleasant and found two rooms together with views for us.
Also to our surprise were complimentary breakfast coupons for the hotel restaurant.
The location of the hotel provides you access to the beach, but you have to walk a few minutes. Dining options in the harbor were good.

The workout area at the gym was clean, but I spent most of the time running in Dana Point area and enjoying the great ocean views.

I would come back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txausrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

After a disappointing day of travel (cancelled flights, lost bag, etc..), it was a refreshing change to be treated so nicely once we finally arrived at the Laguna Cliffs resort. The staff was overwhelmingly kind during our 7 day stay and the hotel itself is very nice. We were in a suite and found it to be comfortable for our family of 4 and the views were stunning. The resort sits on a bluff overlooking the Dana Point Harbor and it was an easy walk down to the Marina where there are shops, restaurants, fishing boats/ tours, beaches and lots of surfers. In addition, it is a great starting point for any of the other Southern Cali beach towns - or Disneyland - as it's right off of I-5 and the PCH. The staff is especially accomodating to kids with a free movie night on Saturdays (popcorn, drinks, candy, coloring pages), a kids club, treasure box with toys, etc... Unlike some resorts that we have stayed in recently, they make it known that families are welcome.

The only negative that we had is that it's a mandatory $27 for valet parking each night when there really is not a parking issue in Dana Point (free parking at the harbor, beaches, etc..). However, the the valet staff is friendly and prompt and provides directions and water bottles every time they hand over your keys.

Overall, great stay, great hotel, superb vacation. I would highly recommend this hotel for leisure or business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $247 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing