We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I tried this place thru a deal on living social. We were quite pleased. Very clean and nice room. GREAT location. We could walk to restaurant's and shops which was so nice.
CLOSE to the beach which was also a plus. Upon arrival, an employee or two were not the friendliest and I was a little discouraged but the rest of the employees the rest of our stay were great so maybe a person or two were just having a bad day. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbararaeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so pleased to hear that our staff was able to make your stay pleasant. We are happy that the you were able to take advantage of the resort’s close proximity to the beach and harbor shops. We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    433
    155
    78
    76
See reviews for
364
393
46
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

best location for a hotel we could see the ocean from our room there are bars and restaurant around you can eat and drink. super nice weather in July. every thing in this hotel is great except the fact that there is no self-parking and you have to use valley . and the cost I believe is $32 per day which is an extra that we didn't think of. it is located on a hill and there are restrictions for parking around the hotel eventually we ended up using the valley. they will charge you around $25/day resort fee over all the other stuff keep it in mind it can add up to a huge amount.if you are reserving online make sure to get the breakfast too it is awesome and cheaper if you get it online. waitress asking for tip even we use the buffet, weird ha? overall we enjoyed our vacation pool area ,our room , the park near the hotel ,beach were all great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa has to offer. We are glad that you not only enjoyed the warm weather of Dana Point but that you were able to visit the park and beach that is within walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Southern California. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott over the 4th of July holiday. First let me say that we booked in January and got a great deal. I understand the hotel was sold out so people who booked later paid almost double what we paid. It is a great location. Up on a cliff with the Dana Point Harbor on one side and the beach on the other side. It is a considerable walk down to the beach so plan for that. The hotel loans surfboards and boogie boards as part of your resort fee which is a great service. The pool was nice and they have a spash zone for the kids. We did have a couple of issues with our reservation before check-in and we received a call from the hotel manager (who then remembered us at check-in). The service was great all around. They set up chairs for the fireworks show and even handed out fresh popcorn to the kids. I recommend this hotel. It is an upscale Marriott property with reasonable rates if you book well enough in advance. The parking and resort fees are high but we knew that going in. We had the buffet breakfast both mornings and it was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 4th of July weekend with us. 4th of July is a very popular weekend for us, so we are happy to hear that you booked early and were able to enjoy all the amenities and festivities with us during this holiday. We are happy that you had a memorable experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here on our family trip up the California coast. Sure it was a little expensive but well worth it. The food quality was excellent. The room was excellent. The view was excellent. The pool was beautiful. My wife and daughter took advantage of the spa and were treated very well by the staff there. All the staff seemed to go out of their way to make us feel welcomed and taken care of.

The only blip was a waitress at the upstairs restaurant who we had one evening and got our order wrong. The next day we had her again and she again didn't get the order right.

One particular good service story was that the sink in our room was draining very slowly. I mentioned it to a hotel employee and when we went back to the room for a moment there were two staff working on the sink to fix it. I'm sure their plan was for us not to notice them.

I have said to my wife that I would gladly stay a week or two at this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are happy to hear that everything was “excellent” during your stay with us. It’s a pleasure hearing how our staff provided a truly memorable experience for your entire family. We are delighted that your wife and daughter enjoyed their spa service. We believe there is no better way to relax. We would love to have you all back for a longer stay of time and we look forward to it. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at the Laguna Cliffs for 4 nights. The trip was 1/2 business and 1/2 pleasure. Fantistic location with amazing grounds. Even though the hotel is in Dana Point ,Laguna Beach is right down the road. and I recommend checking it out. The marina and all of the 15 plus restaurants are a 5 minute walk down a scenic pathway or by the stairs. Ate at the resort and at Johnnies Famous and every meal was top notch. Every single staff member, regardless of their function, was polite friendly and respectful as if their sole purpose was to make you as happy as possible. The marina area is a must see. you could easily spend several hours walking through the public marina area. Doeheney Beach is also right next to the marina and a very nice beach and picnicing area

Room Tip: Do not take a standard room on the 4th floor. limited view from the far wall of the room and you ne...
See more room tips
Green Features: Every staff memner was awesome regardless of their function
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpic27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy a few nights of leisure activities during your business trip. Thank you for your wonderful compliments. The resort is truly situated in a perfect location, on the cliffs, yet walking distance from the beautiful Dana Point harbor and marina. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take some time for yourself and tour the city. We hope to see you soon, whether it be for business or pleasure or both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the resort from July 2nd - 6th and wish we would have stayed longer! The resort grounds were beautiful, right by the beach and close to many restaurants. The room was nice and clean and the kids pool area was perfect for them. Taylor at the front desk checked us in and she was very friendly and professional. I can't say enough good things about Luis at the front, he consistently went above and beyond to help us out and get us information. While we had a great stay, he really made it excellent. Marriott - you have a wonderful employee in Luis! We would definitely recommend this resort and it would be my first choice if we were back in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. We appreciate the wonderful compliments about our staff and we will be sure to share it with our team. We have an exceptional staff here that care about our guest’s stay and you were able to experience this first hand. Thank you for recommending our wonderful resort and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
285 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for a couple days for a wedding. This is a very nice resort. Spacious rooms, nice amenities and friendly staff. I was surprised that there were so many problems with my room upon check in. When we arrived, one of the two lights in the bathroom were burned out. We called right away and they came within the hour to replace. However they left the fixture partially dangling from the ceiling. Then when we went to bed, we noticed there wasn't a top sheet on the bed. Again, another call to the front desk however we used a different phone and discovered it didn't work. Within the hour they put the sheet on. Then in the morning when I went to make coffee, I noticed there were no condiments for the coffee (stir stick, creamer, etc...). Had to make another call for that. Also asked if they had some toothpaste since we forgot ours and they said they ran out. Just seems like some basic quality checks for a hotel of this type. Probably the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krp87b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you joined us for a wedding and experienced our resort and the friendly staff. We want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Our staff is extremely attentive and attention to detail is critical. We want you to know that this incident is definitely an exception and not the norm for Laguna Cliffs. We will be sure to share your experience with our team to ensure that this does not occur again. As I’m sure you are aware, we take great pride in providing a high level of service and quality to our guests and we were truly sorry to hear that the missing items in your guestroom put a damper on your stay with us. We certainly hope you'll reconsider giving Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing