We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, helpful staff, beds need work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice views, helpful staff, beds need work”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

My only real complaint would be the beds, felt like I was sleeping at an angle all night, they need to upgrade the mattresses at this location.
The views are fantastic and nothing beats drinks on the patio. Every meal I had here was fantastic, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Upstairs restaurant staff is very friendly and always smiling. Regular staff need work on greeting guests though, surprised front desk staff weren't outwardly smiling and pleasant. Some staff while walking through the lobby would smile and say hello, but others would duck their head and try not to make eye contact.
Valet fee is ridiculous, but staff was always friendly out there.
Beach is a short walk down the hill and easily doable in the morning for a stroll.
Restaurants are also down the steps and easily walkable.
I would stay here again on another visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank osubarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the panoramic ocean views of the resort, while sipping your drink. OverVue deck is one of my favorite spots of the resort as well. Our friendly staff is always at your service and ready to assist in anything you may need. We hope you enjoyed the beach and marina during your stay and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    460
    170
    86
    88
See reviews for
387
426
49
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I stayed at the resort for 4 nights recently. My husband has been battling leukemia for some time and we were given the okay to take a family trip and wanted to get back to Dana Point. We chose Laguna Cliffs Marriott based on the amenities knowing that some days we may need to stay on-site. Were we ever impressed! The location is perfect, easy to access and beautiful views. We had a partial ocean view with a balcony/patio (room 1015). The beds are comfortable and the furnishings were comfortable. The room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet came with a package we purchased and we enjoyed it every morning while dining outside on a beautiful patio. Every single employee we interacted with was friendly and helpful.

We did spend most afternoons by the family pool area. (They have two separate pools and both are beautiful). The family pool has splash pad activities and an additional wading pool. The service there is fantastic. One afternoon we needed some extra help due to my husband's illness and he was not feeling well. One of the attendants that had waited on us several times went above and beyond to take care of everything for us and make sure we were comfortable. I made sure to let the manager on duty, Ellie, know of the level of service we received because it was far better than expected.

If we are ever able to go back to Dana Point, this is exactly where we will stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are honored that you chose the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa as a family vacation destination during this difficult time. Your compliments are very appreciated and our goal is to your entire stay as comfortable and pleasurable as we can. We are delighted to hear that your experience was exceptional from start to finish. We are happy to know that our staff was able to accommodate your needs and that the service level you experienced went far beyond what was expected. Wishing you and your family all the best. We are looking forward to your next family vacation to Dana Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I loved this place so much from a vacation in 2011 that I booked another vacation there from May 15 thru May 24, 2014. The time there was phenominal! The staff, amenities, food, drinks, cleanliness, decor and overall experience was unforgettable.

My friend and I attended the Doheny Blues Festival, spent a day at the beach, had full body massages on our Spa Day, dined at the View and Overview Restaurants, utilized the concierge service more than once, shopped in the unique gift shop as well as the Spa giftshop and relaxed at the pool. Loved the food (all the time!)...Room service was timely, the meals were plentiful and hot and they also have wonderful buffets at breakfast and at times, during dinner hours.

This hotel is located in such a unique spot...While there we took the Amtrak Pacific Surfliner from San Juan Capistrano into San Diego to tour the USS Midway; took the Catalina Express (chartered boat) into Catalina Island for the day; had Tommie (hired driver, arranged via hotel concierge) take us to San Juan Capistrano (again) as well as to the Dana Point Harbor and Laguna Beach to dine and shop. We had the best time ever.

I would highly recommend this hotel. Our vacation there was one that will truly be remembered (forever!). I will likely vacation there every couple of years. I absolutely love this place! Venicia

Room Tip: I perfer the ocean view...overlooking the park and the Overview Restauran...3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and for visiting us again for the 2nd time. We are thrilled that your stay was “phenomenal.” It sounds like you enjoyed all the amenities the resort has to offer and more! We love hearing about our guests adventures and it sounds like you were able to experience quite a bit during your stay. We are so grateful that we were able to create such beautiful memories for you and we cannot wait to welcome you back for more. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

WE stayed 1 week from June 15-22, 2014. We were attending a wedding and I wanted to stay somewhere that the kids would enjoy (7 & 5 Year olds). Kids loved the pool and the hot tub as well as the sprinklers. We only saw 2 kids in the kids camp one afternoon out of the entire week and my 7 year old thought it would be too kiddish!
We arrived late on sunday after flying in, and unfortunately the only room available at that time was facing a tennis court and parking lot. Aldo who was really nice at front desk told us to come by tomorrow and they would move us to a room with a better view no charge. We went the next day and sadly the manager told us that if he moved us there would be a $30 a night surcharge. So we decided to stay!
The hotel was very nice the staff was friendly, and amenities including the gym were great!
The $30 valet parking sucks but there is no choice.
The only complaints we truly have is that the beds were super uncomfortable and very squeaky. It makes you feel like you are staying at a cheap motel to hear a bed creak every time you move. I would have expected better from a Marriott. And the cleaning staff would leave dirty glasses to collect in our room, and would not pick up what was clearly garbage from the patio table.
Overall, we had a great time, the pool was tons of fun for us and the kids and we would return...if they got new beds! :)

Room Tip: ground floor & second floor have nice outdoor patios
See more room tips
Green Features: None...don't even ask to keep your towels. I even hung up mine and cleaning staff took it.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sns774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed our kid-friendly resort. Our Kahuna Laguna Kid’s Club is a huge hit with all of the children and we know your 7 year old would have loved it too! We hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary movie nights at the resort. Families enjoy this time together as kids do too! The next time you are here, be sure to take advantage of our complimentary boogie board rentals and bike rentals. We know how important family activities are when traveling in the summer and we have beautiful beaches and trails within walking distance of the resort. Thank you for your feedback regarding our beds, we will definitely share your suggestion with our team. We would love to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. The location is simply breath taking! Rooms are clean and well kept. Enjoyed delicious crunchy French toast on our private balcony while enjoying the beautiful ocean view. I mentioned to my husband my craving for iced lemon water prior to our arrival and within minutes of our getting to the room, room service had delivered a pitcher of iced lemon water! Service was exceptional. They brought an outside furniture love seat up to the fireplace so we were able to sit together and enjoy the fire while also enjoying delicious creme brûlée and tea from room service-all while snuggling under the stars by the fire! Hotel is just a short walk to the beach where we were able to jet ski and get close to sea lions. Truly an unforgettable beautiful place to stay! Only regret was not having stayed more than 2 nights! Great place to stay- kind of place dreams are made of! Thank you for making our time together so special! We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovePeace4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for our 5 star review and congratulations on your 10th anniversary. We are delighted to hear that you celebrated this special occasion at Laguna Cliffs and we are even more delighted to hear that we truly made our experience a memorable one. We couldn’t agree with your more, our staff takes exceptional care of all of our guests and we love hearing about the instances that stand out to our guests. We will definitely share your wonderful experience with our team and we look forward to providing another “WOW” vacation, the next time you visit Dana Point, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Loved this Hotel the rooms are spacious and clean upgraded for $90.00 to a Ocean view well worth the money. From our arrival to our departure the service was exceptional. The food was very good we had dinner in the Vue very nice outside under the stars with a lovely fire beside the table . Full room service and SPA nice pool area again the service at the pool was very good.

There is a $30.00 daily Valet fee and a resort fee of $25.00 which we were aware of, flowers and gardens are well kept the ocean breeze fantastic. Super convenient location close to the Marina and Beach we enjoyed whale watching and were able to view Blue whales,Dolphins and sea lions .WOW !

The Hotel has complimentary Bicycles and other unexpected amenities. The Gym facilities are top notch with modern equipment . Did not get a chance to try the SPA services hopefully next time .

On our last evening we had dinner on the patio it was amazing there were two soups made available and I could not decide on which one without hesitation the server offered a tasting of each when the waiter picked up the unused soup he accidently spilled into one of the ladies soup . She had just purchased the bag and was upset he apologized and offered a complimentary desert we accepted and were satisfied.. It was not until we returned to the room in proper light that she realized the soup had spilled all over the inside of the purse causing permanent staining .

The next morning I went to the front desk because of the situation I asked for the Manager I was quickly greeted by Felix ,after explaining the events he examined the purse and recent receipt unable send it out for cleaning as we were checking out,he without hesitation deducted the entire amount from the bill.

We loved this resort exceptional experience great value we will definitely be recommending to friends and family

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Wow! Thank you for your detailed stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were extremely pleases by the service you received from our staff. We are happy to hear that you had an exceptional experience and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort. Please visit us again soon. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband wrote the prior review " shocked" . Laguna cliffs responded by saying they are addressing our concerns. In fact they are not . Not Marriott corporate office which are just liaisons ( you can't get past them) or the hotel are addressing our issues. The hotel apologized but then once we contacted corporate the hotel did a 180 saying we basically were in another reality.
Like my husband said stay at The Ritz it's worth every extra penny to be treated like a human being and you are guaranteed a great experience.
Even when my children got hurt due to their negligence they did not care enough to give us insurance information to get them help. Even though we called daily . We only received the information after we got home. The insurance company won't even call us back.
It seems when things go wrong it's a common thread at this hotel to do nothing .

We are still in disbelief and my husband has received so many emails of similar things happening in response to his review.

Being loyal to a brand means nothing to Marriott.. Their motto is they are right you are wrong and they are going to tell you why.

They ruined our vacation and our anniversary.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TFACINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing