We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, views, location and property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Really, this resort provides exceptional value and location for your travel dollar. The only reason that I am not giving it a 5 star rating is that a property of this size and caliber should have immediate and consistent wi-if access in the rooms. The first night I arrived, I couldn't access the web, called the front desk and he eventually fixed my access, although it remained somewhat spotty during the duration of my stay. Wonderful views and wonderful balcony. Would recommend to couples, just ask for a quiet room away from the families because the hallways can get noisy and they do have an extensive marriott kids program, so be aware of the noise factor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxwellpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your review and great compliments. We appreciate your comments regarding our “excellent service, views, location and property.” We apologize for the spotty internet service you experienced during your stay and we can assure you that this problem has been resolved. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very nice located but hated the $32 parking fee and the internet not free does not work half of the time. Also ocean view is partial and they charge extra for it. Please read the small letters. My reservation read $129 and with parking and resort fees and taxes it was more than 200 ! First time I get disappointed of a Marriot property. Also beds were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking and resort fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. We clearly state these fees so that our guests are aware prior to their arrival. In regards to your comments addressing our uncomfortable beds, we apologize if they were not to your liking. As you will read from previous reviews, the majority of our guests give us wonderful compliments and feedback regarding the comfort of the beds. Your opinion matters greatly to us and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just a quick twenty four hour overnight trip for us as part of a meeting where J. and I were hosted so it may seem to be petty of me to complain about all the extras, as so many other reviewers have done, since I wasn't paying - more on that in a minute. First the good. The staff are friendly and eager to help - almost too much so. The hotel lobby and bar are modern and elegant and our room was entirely satisfactory, clean too, with a comfortable bed and superior linens. Unfortunately the chain hotel roots still show a bit so that the hotel somehow lacks character. Our dinner and reception were staffed and catered by the hotel and to my surprise, given how many of these events I've experienced over the years, were really, really good. The food was excellent and the service was competent and low key in the best sort of way.

I probably should have been generous and awarded five stars and would have except for the hotel's lack of character, and the additional fees for everything. I think it's because it makes the hotel seem a little like Las Vegas where one visits knowing that they will try hard to separate you from your money, it's not personal, just business. Here the ambiance and the staff's attitude doesn't reflect that so I suppose that the dichotomy between the two seems jarring. These little niggles aside, we enjoyed our visit and would willingly return.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room faces away from the Pacific Coast Highway as the noise carries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had a successful meeting and that you felt our catering staff was “really, really good.” We appreciate your compliments regarding the food and service levels and we will take it as a compliment that our staff was too friendly and eager to help. Your stay is extremely important to us and our staff provides exceptional service for all of our guests in order to ensure that you are comfortable and completely satisfied. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Great location for business meeting, weddings, or retreat. Ocean View, nice weather, clean, comfortable rooms. But to not have consistent wifi throughout the hotel, including the room is analogous to not having water. Pathetic. There's no excuse, esp when you are charged for it. Their technology is outdated. No business that needs wifi should be held here.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our beautiful ocean view property and comfortable beds. We couldn’t agree with you more the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa is perfect for any traveler, whether it be for business, leisure, family getaway or wedding destination, we meet every customer’s needs. We want to apologize for any inconvenience our inconsistent Wi-Fi may have had during your stay. We know how frustrating it is to have spotty service and we want you to know that we in the process of improving our Wi-Fi connection right now. Thank you for your feedback. Your opinion is extremely important to us and we assure you, we will resolve this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our entire family stayed here for a wedding at a nearby location. We had several rooms. The front desk was able to place all of us on the same floor, which was terrific while getting ready for the rehearsal and the actual wedding. Breakfast can get expensive, but there is a Starbucks in the lobby with nice seating. There is no self-parking, so beware of the fees! Wow, with several cars, these fees really added to our bill. We are Marriott members, so did not have to pay internet fees, but this would also jack up your bottom line. Staff was excellent. My husband dropped a check from his jacket pocket and management put out an "all points bulletin" until the check was found! We were so appreciative of their help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KzMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the resort. We are happy that we were able to accommodate the rooms for all of your family as you attended a nearby wedding. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff service. Our care and deliverance goes above and beyond and finding your check is a prime example. We are happy that we were able to locate your lost check and host your wedding party at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This resort is beautiful. It is very busy, but the check in was quick and painless, they accommodated our room request. The rooms are very nice, the bed quite comfortable. The atmosphere is relaxed and inviting. The food was hot, fresh, great flavor and priced competitively. The ocean is little walk but you can do it. The grounds can be walking friendly for the physically challenged. Parking fees are too high, especially for a paying overnight guest, however, it is a spectacular photographers dream and completely worth every penny spent.
Saturday entertainment in the upstairs bar was great, I would go back for that again.
If you want ocean experience and dining and shopping, leisure hanging at the heated pool, go for it. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and for all your wonderful compliments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We promise to continue to provide you with new, life-long memories. We can't wait for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Nice hotel and we have been there many times but this visit was so different. When we entered our room we noticed a loud humming noise coming from an exhaust fan outside. We Immediately called the front desk and ask to change our room since we were staying two nights. They said they were sold out and could maybe move us tomorrow. The noise kept us up all night and we were wearing ear plugs. Called to complain and they Comped us a free pot of coffee. Wow! We decided to go home. Poor customer service! I will go to the Ritz next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review. We regret that you were having noise issues with the exhaust fan and we truly apologize that we could not switch your room because of our sold out situation. Please know that your comfort and experience is extremely important to us and we are confident that our staff would have been more than happy to switch your room if we had the guest room availability. We feel horrible that you had to leave and we will definitely look into the noise issue coming from your room and correct this immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
908 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $243 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing