We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$214
$197
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$200
$150
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$599
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $680/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveler rating
591
487
184
97
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
487
184
97
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvue restaurantvalet parkingpublic parkdana point harborbreakfast buffetper nightvalet serviceocean viewbeautiful locationself parkking bednice propertyroom ratesmall balconysan diegobusiness meetingfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
823 - 828 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I got a room that I paid for with a living social deal. The picture they had showed a hotel on a cliff above the ocean, so I upgraded to the full ocean view with a king size bed. When I got to the room, I have to say I was disappointed. The room was pretty small, the bath was something you would see in a best western, and my view was decent, but not what was shown in the ad. The view is actually of Dana Point harbor and marina, and half of the view was cut off by the room next to us, so it was really only half a view. The balcony had barely enough room for my wife and I to stand on. I know it's standard to pay for parking, but $35 a night? Also, to order pay per view, it's $17. I can buy the dvd for that! On a positive note, the staff is really friendly, and as everyone else confirms, the bedding is freakishly comfortable. Don't get me wrong, it is a nice place, but not THAT nice and not for the price. if you go there, don't bother to upgrade for the view, just drive up to laguna beach and walk around at sunset. it doesn't get much better than that.

Room Tip: Like I said, don't waste your money upgrading to a room with a view. Its not worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisherdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our exceptional staff service. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views of Dana Point harbor and marina. We regret that your room was not to your liking. As you will read from previous reviews, we receive great compliments regarding our ocean view rooms. Your opinion matters greatly to us and our ultimate goal is to provide a completely satisfactory stay. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy the comfort of our beds. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited here the week of nov. 10. We had an aewsome time here just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful view. The elephant parade was happening here at the time which was a real treat. And we thoroughly enjoyed listening to the blue moonies in the lounge on saturday night. I would highly recommend this hotel....great room, 2 nice pools with jacuzzi, and a wonderful view.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 2011Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the beautiful views of Laguna Cliffs. The elephant parade auction was a treat for all of us to host and we are delighted to hear that you were able to experience this event during your stay. Thank you for sharing your stay with us, your opinion greatly matters to us and our goal is to create a relaxing, warm and hospitable environment for all of our guests. We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The property is beautiful. Staff is outstanding. We too were upgraded at arrival. Beds were very comfortable. Dining room and room service was outstanding. They serve a to die for Rueben. The best part was the spa. Had a deep tissue message by Angela Rafferty and had to be the best one yet. I normally prefer a male and initially was disappointed I had a female but she knew her technique and was outstanding. I would fly to Laguna again just to have a massage by Angela.If you have the time you will not be disappointed to schedule a massage with Angela. She is the best. Wish she were located in Arizona. I would be there once a week.

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We appreciate all of your wonderful compliments. We create WOW experiences for our guests every day and we are delighted that you were able to experience the high level of service the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa provides to its guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed your deep tissue massage. Angela is outstanding and we will be sure to share your review with her and the entire Spa team. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another WOW experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The room was great. I was upgraded to a room with a balcony and ocean view. The ocean is a bit of a distance away, but there are no building obstructing the view to the ocean. Just a park with trees.

The bar was great and had a great view and patio to enjoy your beverage and food of choice.

The bed was so comfortable and makes you not want to get up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSquar3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are happy to hear that you were upgraded to an ocean-view room. We hope that you were able to enjoy the live music in our OverVue Lounge Friday and Saturday nights. We’ve received many great compliments regarding the comfort of our beds and we are delighted to hear that you too had a good night’s rest. We hope that you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Laguna Cliffs Marriott is a great stay. There was a surfing contest just a couple of blocks away and a good golf course close by. I thought that the pricing was reasonable given the location and property. Mandatory parking and resort fees were too much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to watch the surfing contest during your visit. We hope you enjoyed your day of golfing. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking and resort fee and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rate and resort fee to be in line and are actually the most economical. We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews