We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Girl's Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Girl's Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We reserved a room with a balcony view of the garden. We also requested a room with 2 double beds and a sofabed. When we arrived to check in, we were told we had been upgraded to an ocean view for free and since there was no sofabed in the room, they would bring us a complimentary roll away bed. We were on the top floor of the San Clemente wing.

The room was very nice. Clean and decorated in a modern beach them. We had an adjoining room and the door between our rooms seemed to be paper thin. We could clearly hear the women in the other room talking. Awkward. The view was slightly disappointing because the driveway was right below us and the ocean view was pretty distant and what we can mostly see was the harbor. There was no balcony in this room either. But, I didn't want to seem ungrateful for the free upgrade, so I didn't say anything.

We were also notified that there was going to be an OC Chapter Porsche Club gathering on Sunday morning. So we expected more cars parked around the resort and more people. But, we didn't expect to hear revving car engines at 5:45am. They started arriving early to set up for their event and since our room was right above the driveway, we heard it all : /

Overall, the property is amazing and the service is very good.

Room Tip: -Del Mar & San Clemente wings are next to the kids pool. If you're in this building and wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you spent your “Girl’s Weekend Getaway” at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be pleasant. We apologize for the disturbance of the Porsche Club event that was held in the park. Unfortunately, this was a city event and the resort did not have any control over the noise. We hope that this did not cause a great inconvenience to you and your friends. We always try and provide a comfortable environment for our guests and one with little or no disturbance. We apologize that your sleep was interrupted by the Porsche event. We look forward in welcoming you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    419
    153
    75
    73
See reviews for
357
381
44
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I've never encountered worse service than I did at the Vue (or whatever it's called) bar inside this hotel.. Place was empty, asked for the check, got it about 30 minutes later, and the price for their horrible tasting cocktails cost as much as the filet mignon at the Ritz down the street. Don't waste your money at this wanna be upscale hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We regret that the service you encountered at OverVue Lounge was unsatisfactory. We want to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests about our outstanding service and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. We want you to know that we take every review seriously and we will be addressing your concerns with our food and beverage staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

While attending a conference in Anaheim in the Fall of 2011, I decided to extend my West Coast visit by adding a vacation to the back of the conference for a few days. I found this property on the web and it was all that I expected, and much more!. My friend and I were treated like the divas that we are...the ocean view room was clean and beautiful. The staff was extraordinarily kind to us and the food and drinks were excellent. I cannot say that I have anything negative at all to say about our stay. I shopped in the gift shops...had a full body massage...walked on the beach...attended the Woodie car show out back and had the best time ever! I travel for my job a couple of times a year and I am so glad that I found the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel. As a matter of fact, I will be going there again (this time for vacay only) in the Spring of next year. Can't wait...Absolutely loved it!! V

Room Tip: Ocean view, which overlooks the property as well as the ocean. Very beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are so delighted that you found us on the web and stayed with us for the very first time. Your experience is very important to us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the resorts amenities during your stay. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the Spring. We look forward in creating another memorable experience for you. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I live in the area but needed a little getaway, it happened to be in the middle of the week after a holiday weekend so the rates were amazing for this hotel. They gave us a great room with ocean views, however, at 11pm a loud noise in wall started rattling and didn't quit, they couldn't figure out what is was and ultimately put us in another great room and gave us a breakfast voucher for the next morning. All in all it was great place to stay, the staff was great and very accommodating. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your husband decided to stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa for a staycation. We apologize for the noise that was coming from your room and we are happy to hear that our staff was able to quickly resolve this issue for you and place you in another room. We look forward in welcoming you back for another staycation! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a wedding in Dana Point, so decided to make a mini vacation out of it. We stayed at the marriott 3 nights. The hotel is wonderful. You can walk down to the beach, it has a pool, they were showing a movie on the park, and only a short drive to Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson-Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you stayed at our resort for a wedding in the area. We must agree with you that the location is quite perfect; walking distance to the marina and beach. We hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary movie in the park. We know that it is a very popular activity during the summer. We hope you found our resort to be a new destination spot for you to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful Resort! Great Hospitality! Breathtaking Views! 9/9/2013

From the moment Valet opened our car doors and greeted us to the time they packed us up 2 days later I must say it was the very best stay we ever had at a Marriott property. If your looking to stay in this area of California, look no further! Its all right here at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa!
We travel a lot and always use Marriott. Love, Love , Love this resort! The staff was the best! Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. They knew exactly what we were looking for in a room / Resort / Spa. We did get a upgraded room overlooking the Marina / Ocean and all the shops and dining area’s down by the Marina. Breathtaking views!!!!! We sat out on our balcony every evening. Walked down to the Marina for dinner, lounged around out at the pool and hot tub. The area was very clean. The hot tub was nice and warm.
The room was very cozy. Loved the bed and pillows. Very clean. Nice big flat screen TV. There was a sofa and chairs in our room along with the outdoor balcony patio furniture. The furniture was also in great shape too. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. We LOVED everything about this stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. My husband and I cannot wait to come back here! A BIG THANKS to everyone at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. Especially the front desk Manager Tiffany! She was wonderful is assisting us with our stay making sure our visit was perfect~ She really went the extra mile. Thanks we sure appreciated everything you did for us and we will return next year for sure 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
WOW! Thank you for the detailed review of your stay. We are so honored to have you as part of our family. We are grateful for your loyalty and we are delighted that you were able to experience the warm and hospitable staff that we have here at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable guestrooms, the ocean views and our helpful staff. We promise to continue to provide you with new, life-long memories. We can't wait for your next visit! Take good care in the meantime and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago with my husband, who was attending a conference. Thank heavens his company picked up the tab or else I would have felt seriously ripped off. It's not horrible but several issues make it feel much less than the four star resort it claims to be. I arrived on a busy Friday afternoon. The valet was very pleasant but I kept waiting for him to put his cell phone away and get my bag out of the trunk. He finally put the phone away but then started chatting with another valet. Ok, I'm a strong capable woman....I can get my own bag....I've just never had to at an upscale resort. The lobby was swarming with people and there were only two desk clerks available so the wait to check in was long. They were both pleasant. Our room was on the first floor, which is reached by a small gloomy elevator. The hallway was dark with a funky, musty smell. Thankfully the room didn't smell but it had other issues. It was good sized but the decor was very dated and tired looking. The carpeting looked like it could use a good shampooing and the couch was positively grimy looking. Baseboards were cracked, with peeling paint. The bed was comfortable but I was disgusted that there were stains on the sheets and there was also a large stain on the bed skirt. Ick! The sloppy housekeeping continued. The coffee maker still had the used grounds from the previous guest and our used wine glasses were not removed. If a place is going to claim to be upscale then they need to get all those details right

The positives: the grounds and view are lovely. Room service was prompt and pool service was very pleasant and attentive. All the staff members we spoke with were also very nice. The facilities, however, are so mediocre that I would advise other travelers to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirlSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and compliments regarding the resort grounds and our friendly and attentive staff. We apologize for the poor service you received from our valet and for your wait time during your check-in. Our valet staff do carry radios (that look like cell phones) to communicate with others on our property to make sure that our guests are well taken care of. They do not use their cell phones during working hours. Fortunately, the resort is busy during summer months and sometimes the wait time to check-in is longer than usual. We appreciate your understanding and hope that this did not cause a great inconvenience to you and your husband.
In regards to the cleanliness of the rooms, we are going to address this with our Housekeeping Managers immediately to be sure that the issues you addressed are taken care of in a timely manner and to avoid anything like this in the future. Our staff is extremely detail oriented and this is clearly below the standards of the resort and unacceptable. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly hope you'll reconsider giving Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing