We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I live in the area but needed a little getaway, it happened to be in the middle of the week after a holiday weekend so the rates were amazing for this hotel. They gave us a great room with ocean views, however, at 11pm a loud noise in wall started rattling and didn't quit, they couldn't figure out what is was and ultimately put us in another great room and gave us a breakfast voucher for the next morning. All in all it was great place to stay, the staff was great and very accommodating. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your husband decided to stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa for a staycation. We apologize for the noise that was coming from your room and we are happy to hear that our staff was able to quickly resolve this issue for you and place you in another room. We look forward in welcoming you back for another staycation! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a wedding in Dana Point, so decided to make a mini vacation out of it. We stayed at the marriott 3 nights. The hotel is wonderful. You can walk down to the beach, it has a pool, they were showing a movie on the park, and only a short drive to Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilson-Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you stayed at our resort for a wedding in the area. We must agree with you that the location is quite perfect; walking distance to the marina and beach. We hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary movie in the park. We know that it is a very popular activity during the summer. We hope you found our resort to be a new destination spot for you to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful Resort! Great Hospitality! Breathtaking Views! 9/9/2013

From the moment Valet opened our car doors and greeted us to the time they packed us up 2 days later I must say it was the very best stay we ever had at a Marriott property. If your looking to stay in this area of California, look no further! Its all right here at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa!
We travel a lot and always use Marriott. Love, Love , Love this resort! The staff was the best! Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. They knew exactly what we were looking for in a room / Resort / Spa. We did get a upgraded room overlooking the Marina / Ocean and all the shops and dining area’s down by the Marina. Breathtaking views!!!!! We sat out on our balcony every evening. Walked down to the Marina for dinner, lounged around out at the pool and hot tub. The area was very clean. The hot tub was nice and warm.
The room was very cozy. Loved the bed and pillows. Very clean. Nice big flat screen TV. There was a sofa and chairs in our room along with the outdoor balcony patio furniture. The furniture was also in great shape too. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. We LOVED everything about this stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. My husband and I cannot wait to come back here! A BIG THANKS to everyone at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. Especially the front desk Manager Tiffany! She was wonderful is assisting us with our stay making sure our visit was perfect~ She really went the extra mile. Thanks we sure appreciated everything you did for us and we will return next year for sure 

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

WOW! Thank you for the detailed review of your stay. We are so honored to have you as part of our family. We are grateful for your loyalty and we are delighted that you were able to experience the warm and hospitable staff that we have here at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable guestrooms, the ocean views and our helpful staff. We promise to continue to provide you with new, life-long memories. We can't wait for your next visit! Take good care in the meantime and we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago with my husband, who was attending a conference. Thank heavens his company picked up the tab or else I would have felt seriously ripped off. It's not horrible but several issues make it feel much less than the four star resort it claims to be. I arrived on a busy Friday afternoon. The valet was very pleasant but I kept waiting for him to put his cell phone away and get my bag out of the trunk. He finally put the phone away but then started chatting with another valet. Ok, I'm a strong capable woman....I can get my own bag....I've just never had to at an upscale resort. The lobby was swarming with people and there were only two desk clerks available so the wait to check in was long. They were both pleasant. Our room was on the first floor, which is reached by a small gloomy elevator. The hallway was dark with a funky, musty smell. Thankfully the room didn't smell but it had other issues. It was good sized but the decor was very dated and tired looking. The carpeting looked like it could use a good shampooing and the couch was positively grimy looking. Baseboards were cracked, with peeling paint. The bed was comfortable but I was disgusted that there were stains on the sheets and there was also a large stain on the bed skirt. Ick! The sloppy housekeeping continued. The coffee maker still had the used grounds from the previous guest and our used wine glasses were not removed. If a place is going to claim to be upscale then they need to get all those details right

The positives: the grounds and view are lovely. Room service was prompt and pool service was very pleasant and attentive. All the staff members we spoke with were also very nice. The facilities, however, are so mediocre that I would advise other travelers to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygirlSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and compliments regarding the resort grounds and our friendly and attentive staff. We apologize for the poor service you received from our valet and for your wait time during your check-in. Our valet staff do carry radios (that look like cell phones) to communicate with others on our property to make sure that our guests are well taken care of. They do not use their cell phones during working hours. Fortunately, the resort is busy during summer months and sometimes the wait time to check-in is longer than usual. We appreciate your understanding and hope that this did not cause a great inconvenience to you and your husband.
In regards to the cleanliness of the rooms, we are going to address this with our Housekeeping Managers immediately to be sure that the issues you addressed are taken care of in a timely manner and to avoid anything like this in the future. Our staff is extremely detail oriented and this is clearly below the standards of the resort and unacceptable. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly hope you'll reconsider giving Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love staying at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott at least once a year. It is so convenient to walk to local restaurants (as long as you can take the steep set of stairs!) and the view along the park is beautiful. It's best to wait for a deal - sometimes they'll include the buffet breakfast, and we love their omelet bar. The beds are comfy. The pool is nice. The workout room is my husband's favorite part!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you are loyal visitors of the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you visit us once a year. We must agree, our fitness center is one of a kind and the equipment is state of the art. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward in welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our vacation stay at the Cliffs. The room was nice and the service was outstanding. From the moment they opened our car door until we departed again it was first class. We used the bar, pool, dinning, and guess services. The food was great and again the staff was very pleasing.

Room Tip: Lower floors BBQ areas are nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank st1dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage or the resort’s amenities. Our goal is to provide you with first class service from arrival to departure and we are happy that you experienced the high level of service our staff provides. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for a conference, it was the most amazing view and location for a hotel. I felt like I had been to a vacation and not a conference for work! The conference was really well organized by the hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Partial views are nice and the ones that look out onto the pool are great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clanca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that your conference was a great success and that you felt you were on a vacation during your business trip. Our goal is to provide the comfort and luxury to make you feel at home while away on business. We hope you visit us again in the near future for pleasure or business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $249 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing