We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Laguna Cliffs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Laguna Cliffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Were there for a 4 night stay at the beginning of August and had a fantastic time. Room was large extremely comfortable and clean with wonderful ocean views. The hotel is in a fantastic position looking over the ocean with easy access to the beach and marina for restaurants etc. The resort fee includes bikes for 2 hours and this was great fun. Pools were lovely with great poolside service, comfortable loungers and table tennis. Outside bar/restaurant is lovely again with great views and heaters for the sometimes chilly breeze! Service throughout was friendly and professional - all in all a great hotel, a fantastic stay and hopefully a return visit soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliotj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and 5 star rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort’s ocean views and comfortable rooms. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of the bike rental that is included in your resort fee. We enjoy hearing about guest’s experience and we thank you for sharing. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    442
    161
    84
    82
See reviews for
374
411
47
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to the Laguna Cliffs Marriott for the 4th of July and reserved full oceanview with romance package and breakfast for three nights. We arrived mid-day on the 4th, and the area was already quite busy. The hotel valets indeed had their hands full with many simultaneous arrivals. When I asked the valet whether we should take our luggage or leave it in the car (because check in isnt' technically supposed to occur until 4pm), he was flustered and said he didn't know. When we went into the lobby, there was a bit of a wait, many people checking in, but that's to be expected. Our room wasn't ready, so we went to have lunch at the OverVue. When we went into the restaurant, we asked for a table outside, and we were led to a nice table and left with *one* menu, for two people. That was very odd. I then had to search for a second menu. When our entrees arrived, we didn't have utensils or napkins. The restaurant was *not* busy, and the service was sub-par. Also, we asked about the availability of gluten free products, namely, gluten free bread, and we were told that the hotel didn't have any. We then received room 243 at the end of the north-most wing. We immediately noticed that the ocean view was blocked by a tall privacy wall on our terrace. To see the ocean, you had to walk out on the terrace. This odd arrangement was something that we wanted to correct, but the front desk was unable to offer us any other type of room (we looked at another room, but it was smaller). Back at 243, we noted that the room stank from a bathroom sink odor. A strong sewer smell was coming up from the sink drain and it was very strong. We definitely needed to correct this. We couldn't get an alternate room, and the maintenance folks came up and tried to fix the sink, but it still stank at night, and we had to call a second time the next day before it was finally corrected. Near dinner-time on night one, we spoke to the manager, and he explained that we unfortunately couldn't get a room with an open "picket style" fence (there were some, for sure), so that we could see the ocean, and he apologized for the stinky sink. We also asked what happened to the welcome champagne, and he said that it wasn't brought to us because there was initially some confusion about what room we were going to be in--but by now it was late afternoon... I told him that he could buy our $65 lunch, but instead, he offered a $50 credit, which we took (actually, he should have done both, in retrospect). As mentioned, when you book "ocean view" in this hotel, you should be aware of the "privacy wall" that blocks the view from the room (completely!) and this is in rooms on the second floor at the end of this north wing (and other wings). All you can see from this room is the sky. To "view ocean," you must get up and stand at the privacy wall. I would not call this "ocean view." I do concede that the nighttime view for fireworks from this room was excellent, but I would never book this room again. For $500+ a night, I would expect better. If you don't want a privacy wall, then book the third floor rooms above 243. We asked if during our three day stay whether we could move upstairs, but this was not possible. Also, the first day we had the room, we had Fiji waters, the second day, none were provided, the third day, we had Fiji waters. Yes, it was a busy weekend, and yes, "these things happen," but I would say better planning, having more staff available, and being more on top of room maintenance would be key goals. Overall, I would have to say that the staff at the hotel was top notch: almost every person seemed happy that we were there, very interested in our business, and most of them had a great attitude all around. The French lady at concierge (I regret that I can't remember her name), and Linda Duffy at the front desk/concierge, are the sort of people who make one inclined to return to a hotel. We had lovely assistance from these ladies all the way around. The breakfast buffet was good, especially the fruit selection and the omelette station. However, the cooks (and servers) know absolutely **nothing** about gluten free cooking (the cooks use the same utensils to handle waffles as they do to turn an omelette that is being made for a gluten free diner). It is disappointing that the food and beverage team at this hotel was not in tune with common food allergies and special dietary issues like gluten free dining. Then, to end the whole dining experience on a very dour note, on the very last day, we were informed that the hotel does in fact offer gluten free bread. This was a great disappointment to the one of the two of us who could not eat products that contain or touch wheat-based foods or foods that contain wheat flour. In any hotel of this caliber, when customers ask servers about gluten free options, a customer should get an intelligent response, not a blank look (as was the case many times at this hotel). For comparison's sake, at the St. Regis, a Starwood property nearby, the chef and his crew were all well versed in gluten free dining, and they knew about the gluten free offerings that were available at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The St. Regis even offered limited gluten free baked goods. In the end, I would have to tip my head slightly in favor of the St. Regis over the Laguna Cliffs Marriott, just for this reason alone. Nonetheless, I wouldn't rule out a return to the Laguna Cliffs Marriott in my future.

Room Tip: As mentioned, when reserving oceanview, insist on a picket fence railing, not a privacy wall, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your wonderful compliments regarding our staff’s attentiveness and friendliness. We are delighted to heat that our Concierge team left a lasting impression on you and your girlfriend. We do want to apologize for any inconvenience the odor in your room caused you during your stay. We appreciate your bringing this to our attention and we will get this issue resolved immediately. We also want you to know that as you mentioned in your review, we do offer gluten-free bread as well as many gluten-free menu items. We take our guests dietary restrictions very seriously and do not mix our cooking utensils in any way. We have many guests that have allergies or have other dietary restrictions and it is our responsibility to provide the appropriate dishes that accommodate their requests. We apologize that our staff was not informative and we will address this issue immediately. We hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having a lovely Labor Day weekend at Laguna Cliffs. Exceptional staff, views, and accomodations throughout resort. Pool staff exceeds expectations.. Particularly Tyler, Lauren, and Alex! Thanks for making this stay memorable! Oh yes, and cannot forget Spencer at breakfast. What a pleasure he was as he greeted us each morning.

Room Tip: We have an full ocean view, but the partial views looknicetoo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGirl33_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you spent your Labor Day weekend with us. We appreciate your 5 star rating and we take great pride in our exceptional staff service. We cannot agree with you more, our staff service levels exceed our guests expectations and we are at your service 24 hours a day. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and we will be sure to let our staff know the wonderful compliments they received. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed one night to attend a nearby wedding. The staff -- the valets, front desk, and room service - were courteous and efficient. But we were disappointed by our dark and musty smelling fourth-floor coastal view room -- no balcony with a slider or french door, just a small bay window set too much high to see the water unless standing up directly in front of the window. Sitting in the cozy chairs underneath the windows provided no opportunity for any view at all. The personable front desk staff listened to our concerns and quickly switched us to the only other room available, a 2nd floor poolside room. Not particularly private or romantic, but at least brighter and no musty smell. At 10am the next morning, loud music began playing poolside and that ended our quiet morning. Like other reviewers, the silly $25 resort fee and mandatory $32 valet parking (no self parking, extremely frustrating since the garage is on site) detracted from our so-so experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank All_Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended. We appreciate your fine compliments regarding our staff’s courteousness and efficiency. We are delighted that we had another room available that was to your liking. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort fees to be in line and are actually the most economical. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope your travels will bring you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I are currently travelling up PCH from San Diego to San Francisco and have just spent 3 days at this Marriott resort and could not rate it too highly. The staff are excellent, very friendly and attentive without being in your space. The beds are the most comfortable I have had in a long time. The room we had was excellent, very big with a lovely view of the pool. We were there on a California Dreaming deal which we got through the Marriott website direct and it was extremely good value. Included in this deal was free valet parking and breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style but there was everything you could ask for. Waffles and omelettes could be made to order with all other breakfast requirement there. The waiting staff at breakfast were lovely and made you very welcome. The views from this hotel are outstanding as are the grounds and surrounding area. The harbour and beach are walking distance although its not the best beach in the area. Although all the staff were exceptional, in particular the desk girls I would like to give a special mention to the valet attendant whose name escapes me but he studying history at college, he was very helpful and such a well mannered nice boy.

Room Tip: There are 2 pools, if travelling with kids stay on the San Clemente or Del Mar wings as this is wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heldo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We appreciate all of your compliments and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience at the resort and that you enjoyed the customer service our staff provided. We will be sure to share your compliments with our team. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another WOW experience! We are happy to hear that we were able to create such fond memories for you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for years. The view is amazing and the customer service excellent. The mandatory valet charge (they used to allow self parking which I liked) at $32.00 is too high, and a high $25.00 Resort Fee is not good. I have always found marriott business friendly but unfortunately there is no real business area except a small space that is shared with another business. If you want to use the computer it will cost you too much. The travel zoo promotion used to include free parking and a breakfast-not anymore. It's such a beautiful place but the charges are too much for those things that should be less.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your being a loyal guest of the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We appreciate your compliments regarding our amazing ocean views and excellent customer service. We regret that you found the valet and resort fees to be high. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort fees to be in line and are actually the most economical. Our resort fee includes complimentary Wi-Fi access in the guest room and we have many packages that we offer that include breakfast and parking. We hope you take advantage of these packages the next time you visit us. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights (Thursday and Friday) at the Marriot for a wedding we were attending in San Clemente. Two things stood out: the comfort of the bed and the outstanding customer service. My husband commented that the bed was even more comfortable than our bed at home. The staff were friendly and professional. Before we arrived at the hotel, I had ordered two extra feather pillows that were delivered only five minutes after we arrived. Before we ran off to the wedding, I went to the lobby to get some muffins, and as I pulled out some cash to pay, the cashier smiled and said, "Don't worry about it."

One caveat: Valet parking is $32 a day in addition to the room charge, and it's billed each night. Yes, it's expensive for parking, but it is close to the beach. There are, however, handicap parking spaces that are conveniently located near the lobby entrance. My sister-in-law who was also staying at the same hotel had a handicap plate, and she said she was not charged for parking.

As for extra charges, we were not surprised by any hidden costs. When I made the reservation I asked for the total charges, and I said I didn't like surprises. I received an email with a detailed list of all the costs including the additional charges for the parking.

To our surprise, we got an ocean view room even though I reserved a courtyard room. The view was absolutely lovely.

Overall, the Marriot in Dana Point was everything and more than we expected. Yes, it's a little pricey, but well worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 152
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherold598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We appreciate your lovely compliments and we are delighted that you found our beds to be so comfortable. We have many guests that have shared with us how impressed they are with our staff and the high level of service we provide to our guests. We hope you enjoyed your upgraded ocean view guest room. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. The next time you visit, I would like to suggest you try our Spa. We know you will not be disappointed. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing