We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$200
$150
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$197
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$193
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$271
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$829
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveler rating
592
487
184
97
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
487
184
97
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvue restaurantvalet parkingpublic parkdana point harborbreakfast buffetper nightvalet serviceocean viewbeautiful locationself parkking bednice propertyroom ratesmall balconysan diegobusiness meetingfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
894 - 899 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed this location twice. It is the perfect escape from the craziness of our lives in Los Angeles.

The property is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms and bathrooms are typical Marriott sized but the views from the balconies, if you get a balcony, are exceptional. Views of the ocean allow for romantic sunsets.

We especially like this property because it is very family friendly. One might expect a resort to be less for families but the staff goes out of its way to make families feel welcome. There are two pools. One is more for kids and families. The other pool is more geared toward adults and is quieter.

Both pools have food and drink service. One tip – I suggest asking for a menu from the Overvue Lounge for food instead of the food that is served at the pool. For no additional charge the servers will bring higher quality and seemingly healthier/fresher food from the Overvue Lounge. The lounge has food beyond burgers and quesadillas. It’s veggies also taste much, much fresher. We got a veggie plate from pool service and the veggies tasted like they had been soaked in some sort of lime juice for hours to keep them fresh. They were like rubber and tasted like lime. The food from the lounge is much fresher.

The cost is what you might expect from a resort location. Drinks and food are not cheap but prices are not extreme.

One of our two nights on the most recent trip there were several weddings and receptions being held on the property. At night, there was a dance floor right outside of our room. It was fine with us and actually added some life to our evening but it would be understandable that not everybody would be okay with thumping music and crowd noise until ten o’clock at night right off their balcony. If you’re staying during a weekend be warned there may be loud weddings and you might want a room away from the area if that will be a problem for you. We thought it was fun. I’m sure the front desk can put you in a room away from the weddings but it might mean not having an ocean view room.

We are huge fans of this hotel. You will be very comfortable and happy. We love it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexs949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. We want to thank you for recognizing our resort as your favorite weekend getaway spot. We must admit, it is a hidden gem that is very peaceful and beautiful. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pools and the “Family Friendliness” that we provide. In regards to the noise from the wedding music, we do have a noise curfew so that we do not disturb our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed the music and found pleasure in listening to it. We are excited that you have become fans of the resort. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Room-

Do not get the Executive suites! You can save a lot by getting two connecting rooms. The hotel has no floor plans or pics of this room online and now we understand why. Its a awkward setup. We wanted to invite friends back to the room and this room makes it impossible.

I wish I could upload pictures on here.

The Pool-

The hotel has two pools but you can't find a chair at either of them. We had to wait 4 hours to get a chair. Then when we requested to move the chair near our friends.... They said "Sorry, waiters have their sections and can't be moved".

We also waited over an hour for a hotdog and fish tacos at the pool. No one seemed to want to help us. Pool was run by collage kids who just wanted to blame it on someone else.

The Hotel-

The hotel is ok, at best.... But expect no cell service while your here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and regret that you were unsatisfied with the Executive Suite you stayed in during your stay. In regards to the pool service wait time, during busy summer months there may be times when guests have to wait longer for a chair because occupancy is high. However, we try our best to provide poolside chairs as quickly as it is requested. We do apologize if this caused any inconvenience to you during your stay. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. Thank you again for your review, your opinion is very important to us and we will discuss your concerns with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a great experience at Laguna Cliffs. The only surprise (dah) was that it wasn't actually in Laguna Beach which I thought I was booking but at Dana Point. Turned out fine. From a medium sized city in Ohio to Cali, with all the people in Cali, I was actually pleased to away from the crowds of Laguna Beach, which is kinda like Pacific's Coast Myrtle Beach. Besides, there are no Mariott's in LB, unless you can afford the Ritz. Ok back to LCMRS. Check in was fine and I love the "at your service" tag line. All staff was friendly. I am sorry the last reviewer had a bad experience, but I know the valet staff was crazy busy, there always seem to be 5-10 cars being processed at Valet, and I always had a good and helpful experience. The Valet Manager even likes the Browns! Just goes to show you that they converse in a friendly way. The kids and I had room 2030 just above the Del Mar Pool. Clean, comfy beds, clean tub, etc. I was worried about noise being poolside but once we closed doors, we heard nothing. We ended up booking an additional night. TEenage boys loved the pool, the hot tub, the pool side ping pong, the tennis courts, the water fountains, and our most favorite, the big circular lounge chairs. Landen (forgive misspelling) took great care of us for three days pool side and I wish this fine young man the best in all future endeavors. Pool side service was great, the towels set up is a great touch, and the food off the kids menu is standard fare, but prepared well. Getting your drink took a long time, and I think they need more bartenders or something. Couple of more points - try RJ cafe for a great local breakfast, we had 3 meals there. There is a CVS and Rite Aid on PC coast highway 1 heading north if you need something. We skipped walking down to Doheny state beach, because we enjoyed the pool set up so much. ONe night, we had hot chocolate and tea at the Upper Vue and played scrabble by a heating lantern. Upon checkout we basically didn't want to leave, but they allowed us to store our bags and we sat at the pool till about 2:30 and hung out. Overall, LCMRS is not Desert Ridge in PHoenix or Cancun Mariott, but overall a good experience if you are loyal to the Mariott brand!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and for being loyal to the Marriott brand. We appreciate your compliments regarding our resort and the services we provided to you and your family during your stay. It brings us great joy to hear that you did not want to leave and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you extended it for one additional night. We are “at your service” 24 hours a day and it is our pleasure to provide you with an experience that leaves you completely satisfied. We appreciate all of your pointers you’ve addressed for future guests and we hope you visit us again when you are in California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a great girls weekend at Laguna Cliff Resort. We called the day before with our arrival time and were able to check in early. The room was fine, but the beds were too soft. There are two pools one with a kids splash zone, both had full service. These were not party pools at all. The staff was great with towels and and checking in on us. At night we went to the bar that had live music and fire pits. There weren't a lot of people there for a Saturday night, but we had plenty of good service. We ate at the breakfast Buffett the following morning and it was the best deal if you want coffee and juice with your breakfast. Call ahead for parking and resort fee. We paid $25 for parking and $25 for resort fee. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to hear that you spent your girls weekend with us. We are happy that we could accommodate your early check-in and that you enjoyed the pool service. Every Friday and Saturday night we have a band that performs in our OverVue Lounge and it brings us great joy to hear that you were able to sit outside near the firepit and take in the ocean views as you listen to music. We hope that the next time you have another girls night out, you keep us in mind. We’d love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This property was pretty nice. I wasn't "wowed" but it was nice. I think the resort fee and mandatory valet parking fees are a little steep but it is what it is. The restaurants on site are over priced and very under valued. The food is not great. The rooms were very clean and up to date. The pool area and poolside service were very good. I would recommend this for families, but would say it is a bit overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is very valuable to us. We appreciate your compliments regarding our pools and poolside service. We regret that our restaurant was not to your liking. We aim to please every guest during their stay and we hope that your experience at our restaurant did not have a negative impact on your overall experience. We hope you do visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews