We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your average Marriott!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
san antonio
Level Contributor
273 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not your average Marriott!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a real hidden gem. It's a step down from the neighbors up the road ( Ritz/St. Regis) but you can stay for 1/3 the price. The grounds are very nice with 2 salt water pools ( one in each building) have plenty of seating and are close to all the rooms. The rooms are modern and decorated very well. Bathrooms are Marble and provide top notch bath products. In addition to a small bar/coffee area above the minibar all the rooms have a small fridge as well. But if you get you need some fresh air just step out on the patio. That said the patios do vary dramatically, on this visit i had a room with the standard patio ( small but great view). Your best bet is to ask for one of the end of hall units with direct ocean views. on a previous visit i had a end unit with a large patio that included a table with barstools and room for 5 or 6 guest. just outside the hotel is a great park and you can walk down the 118 stairs to the marina to eat and drink. In Dana Point this is a great value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuggetshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and wonderful compliments regarding our resort. Ironically, we too describe our resort as a “hidden gem.” We are happy to hear that you also feel that our property stands out from other hotels you’ve visited. The panoramic ocean views are quite spectacular and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy your balcony as you took in the ocean breeze and views of the harbor. Our recently renovated resort has impressed many guests like yourself and we appreciate your compliments. Thank you for recommending the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    442
    161
    84
    82
See reviews for
374
411
47
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very nice property, clean, friendly! Valet parking ONLY - $32/night! A tiny dinner in the bar- restaurant was closed during the week - almost $60 with tip for a mini salad, a small piece of chicken, and glass of wine (lower end of menu). Wifi - $13/day. Beautiful location, though; just prepare to feel robbed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 136Linda136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding out clean property and friendly staff. We regret that you felt the price point was too high in our restaurant, we hope that this did not in any way negatively impact your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. Our wifi charges are included in the resort fee. There is no additional charge for using wifi at the resort. We thank you for your comments and we hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a perfect escape for a weekend getaway. Driving up the road and onto the hotel grounds creates a feeling of shedding away the hectic day to day and brings you into an oasis of ocean breezes and laid back attitude. The rooms feel spacious and private with bright beach decor. The check in staff are great and accommodated my special requests to make my stay that much better. The views are great and the proximity to the park is great and makes the place feel bigger than it is. I would go back for a weekend away for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickz5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We couldn’t agree with you more. The resort is situated in a perfect location. Peacefully placed on the cliffs, yet close enough to walk to the beach and harbor. We are delighted to hear that your staff was able to accommodate your requests and make your stay even better. We are looking forward in having you back for another weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, CA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We only spent one night here and it was very enjoyable. We had a ground floor room with a nice courtyard view and patio. Room price included valet parking (which is normally a whopping $32 a day, and there are no self-parking alternatives), and breakfast for two.

One thing I noticed about my stay is the staff. Everyone seemed to be very friendly and helpful. Not that I am a major cynic, but it seems that finding friendly and helpful hotel staff is more challenging than it used to be.

Room and bathroom were nicely furnished, comfortable,and very clean. Bed and linens were exceptionally plush and comfortable.

Breakfast on Friday morning was very good. We had a choice of the buffet or an "up to" price from the menu. We opted for the buffet. Lots of selections, including a made-to-order omelet bar, provided enough food and selections to keep us happy.

After dinner drinks at the hotel bar were good and service attentive.

Exceptional hotel with exceptional people. If you are heading to south Orange County, reserve a room at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you rating of 5 stars. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and the buffet in our Vue Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you were blown away by the service and attention to detail that our staff provided you during your stay. Our gratification comes from providing our guests with exceptional service and making their stay memorable and enjoyable. We are pleased to hear that we did just that. We appreciate your time in writing this review and we hope that you come back to visit us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our family had a delightful weekend at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to celebrate my birthday. We rented 5 rooms, all of which were excellent. We had a private room for our dinner Saturday night. The room, service and food were perfect. Sunday morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the patio. Our son compared it to staying at the Hotel Del Coronado but with better rooms and a magnificent view. We live in San Diego and Orange County so this location was good for alll of us. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emacv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Happy belated birthday. It brings us such joy to know that you chose the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa to celebrate your birthday with your family. We thank you for the compliments you gave to our staff. We have an exceptional staff that raises the bar for guest service and our goal is to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as we can. We hope we created memories that will last you a lifetime. We are looking forward in making your visits a home away from home. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
355 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

On a cliff above the Harbor. Fantastic view over harbor and ocean. Rooms a bit small but clean and nice. Breakfast has amazing choices. Patios equipped with comfortable lounge furniture. Service excellent, very helpful and quick.

Room Tip: Avoid the upper floors that have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast options of the Vue Restaurant. We hope you were able to enjoy the panoramic ocean views of the OverVue Lounge. Our staff’s attention to detail is impeccable and they are at your service 24 hours. We hope your stay was memorable and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel in an upscale part of California. Wonderful views from the restaurant and lounge, as well as from our ocean view room. And the service was above and beyond. The restaurants were expensive but delicious, especially the breakfast buffet. The only reason I gave this beautiful resort a 4 star, is because it's not quite as close to a beach as we would have liked (a 5 minute walk to the harbor, which has plenty of restaurant choices). But it was central to everything that we were there to see (Camp Pendleton, Disneyland, and Laguna), so actually the central location was fine, as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and wonderful compliments regarding our resort. We are grateful that you enjoyed the panoramic ocean views of the Pacific Ocean while visiting our resort. The ocean views from the guest rooms are quite amazing and we are delighted that you were able to experience the beauty of Laguna Cliffs. Our location is just perfect, halfway between San Diego and Los Angeles and walking distance to the beach and harbor. We hope you enjoyed your time exploring the Dana Point area. Your compliments regarding our staff service is very much appreciated. The staff here at Laguna Cliffs takes great pride in their job and for creating a memorable vacation for all of our guests. We go above and beyond to make your stay a special one. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing