We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little escape”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a perfect escape for a weekend getaway. Driving up the road and onto the hotel grounds creates a feeling of shedding away the hectic day to day and brings you into an oasis of ocean breezes and laid back attitude. The rooms feel spacious and private with bright beach decor. The check in staff are great and accommodated my special requests to make my stay that much better. The views are great and the proximity to the park is great and makes the place feel bigger than it is. I would go back for a weekend away for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickz5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We couldn’t agree with you more. The resort is situated in a perfect location. Peacefully placed on the cliffs, yet close enough to walk to the beach and harbor. We are delighted to hear that your staff was able to accommodate your requests and make your stay even better. We are looking forward in having you back for another weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    460
    170
    86
    88
See reviews for
387
426
49
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, CA
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We only spent one night here and it was very enjoyable. We had a ground floor room with a nice courtyard view and patio. Room price included valet parking (which is normally a whopping $32 a day, and there are no self-parking alternatives), and breakfast for two.

One thing I noticed about my stay is the staff. Everyone seemed to be very friendly and helpful. Not that I am a major cynic, but it seems that finding friendly and helpful hotel staff is more challenging than it used to be.

Room and bathroom were nicely furnished, comfortable,and very clean. Bed and linens were exceptionally plush and comfortable.

Breakfast on Friday morning was very good. We had a choice of the buffet or an "up to" price from the menu. We opted for the buffet. Lots of selections, including a made-to-order omelet bar, provided enough food and selections to keep us happy.

After dinner drinks at the hotel bar were good and service attentive.

Exceptional hotel with exceptional people. If you are heading to south Orange County, reserve a room at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you rating of 5 stars. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and the buffet in our Vue Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you were blown away by the service and attention to detail that our staff provided you during your stay. Our gratification comes from providing our guests with exceptional service and making their stay memorable and enjoyable. We are pleased to hear that we did just that. We appreciate your time in writing this review and we hope that you come back to visit us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our family had a delightful weekend at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to celebrate my birthday. We rented 5 rooms, all of which were excellent. We had a private room for our dinner Saturday night. The room, service and food were perfect. Sunday morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the patio. Our son compared it to staying at the Hotel Del Coronado but with better rooms and a magnificent view. We live in San Diego and Orange County so this location was good for alll of us. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emacv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Happy belated birthday. It brings us such joy to know that you chose the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa to celebrate your birthday with your family. We thank you for the compliments you gave to our staff. We have an exceptional staff that raises the bar for guest service and our goal is to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as we can. We hope we created memories that will last you a lifetime. We are looking forward in making your visits a home away from home. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

On a cliff above the Harbor. Fantastic view over harbor and ocean. Rooms a bit small but clean and nice. Breakfast has amazing choices. Patios equipped with comfortable lounge furniture. Service excellent, very helpful and quick.

Room Tip: Avoid the upper floors that have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast options of the Vue Restaurant. We hope you were able to enjoy the panoramic ocean views of the OverVue Lounge. Our staff’s attention to detail is impeccable and they are at your service 24 hours. We hope your stay was memorable and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel in an upscale part of California. Wonderful views from the restaurant and lounge, as well as from our ocean view room. And the service was above and beyond. The restaurants were expensive but delicious, especially the breakfast buffet. The only reason I gave this beautiful resort a 4 star, is because it's not quite as close to a beach as we would have liked (a 5 minute walk to the harbor, which has plenty of restaurant choices). But it was central to everything that we were there to see (Camp Pendleton, Disneyland, and Laguna), so actually the central location was fine, as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and wonderful compliments regarding our resort. We are grateful that you enjoyed the panoramic ocean views of the Pacific Ocean while visiting our resort. The ocean views from the guest rooms are quite amazing and we are delighted that you were able to experience the beauty of Laguna Cliffs. Our location is just perfect, halfway between San Diego and Los Angeles and walking distance to the beach and harbor. We hope you enjoyed your time exploring the Dana Point area. Your compliments regarding our staff service is very much appreciated. The staff here at Laguna Cliffs takes great pride in their job and for creating a memorable vacation for all of our guests. We go above and beyond to make your stay a special one. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel was awesome, staff was great and the views were incredible. Close to the harbor with a lot of good restaurants and shops to visit. Don't miss the sunsets, on site restuarant is a bit pricey but overall the property is definite must see.

Room Tip: love the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptloma160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and for rating the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa with 5 stars. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful panoramic ocean views of the resort. Our sunsets are truly breathtaking and if you follow us on Facebook, you will see how many beautiful sunsets we capture on a daily basis. Thank you for recognizing our excellent staff and their impeccable service. We take great pride in serving our guests and your stay is the most important thing for us. We hope you come back soon and see a few more sunsets along the Pacific Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Large property with beautiful views.
Children's pool is really fun. Lots of options for kids to run around and play.
Walking distance from the harbor, with plenty of restaurant options. The resort itself has dining options as well, though the food isn't great and is overpriced.
Clean hotel and room, although we had to get housekeeping to unclog the bathtub - my pet peeve!
The hotel only has valet parking, and sometimes we had to wait around ten minutes for our car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NehaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding the beautiful ocean views that surround the resort. We are delighted that your children enjoyed the Splash Zone and activities the resort has to offer for children. During summer months, the resort also provides a Kid’s Club and complimentary movie nights that are both huge hits with the children. Children will receive a red carpet entrance to our amphitheater style seating, Pacific Learning Center, where they will be pampered with popcorn, drinks, candy and snacks. The children will also receive a movie night ticket where the next morning they can enjoy a complimentary breakfast, which includes chocolate chip pancakes. Children and adults both have a great time.

We apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom clog may have brought to you during your stay but we are happy that we were able to fix the issue quickly and efficiently. We know that these disturbances can cause a damper during your stay but we hope that this wasn’t the case. Thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing