We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Marriott Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Large property with beautiful views.
Children's pool is really fun. Lots of options for kids to run around and play.
Walking distance from the harbor, with plenty of restaurant options. The resort itself has dining options as well, though the food isn't great and is overpriced.
Clean hotel and room, although we had to get housekeeping to unclog the bathtub - my pet peeve!
The hotel only has valet parking, and sometimes we had to wait around ten minutes for our car.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NehaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding the beautiful ocean views that surround the resort. We are delighted that your children enjoyed the Splash Zone and activities the resort has to offer for children. During summer months, the resort also provides a Kid’s Club and complimentary movie nights that are both huge hits with the children. Children will receive a red carpet entrance to our amphitheater style seating, Pacific Learning Center, where they will be pampered with popcorn, drinks, candy and snacks. The children will also receive a movie night ticket where the next morning they can enjoy a complimentary breakfast, which includes chocolate chip pancakes. Children and adults both have a great time.

We apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom clog may have brought to you during your stay but we are happy that we were able to fix the issue quickly and efficiently. We know that these disturbances can cause a damper during your stay but we hope that this wasn’t the case. Thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Gorgeous lobby, very friendly and helpful staff, immaculate grounds for strolling and soaking up the sunshine, amazing pool, incredible outdoor dining, clean and beautiful rooms with killer views of the ocean... Really, what more could you ask for?

This hotel is incredible. We booked a standard room / standard rate, and the room we stayed in was well above our expectations. After a professional and very friendly check (front desk staff was amazing!), we got to our room and discovered a stunning view of the ocean (see photos) and a sliding glass door that opened to a cute little patio with two chairs for watching the sunset. Wow. We knew this hotel was on the beach, gorgeous location, etc., but never thought we'd get such an incredible view room!

The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable: very comfortable bed, wet bar, office desk, couch, etc.

Worth noting:
--The mini-fridge is stocked with alcohol and has a plastic key that you remove if you want access, so there is no fridge space for personal items.
--The coffee is standard hotel coffee (already in a filter with a little plastic 'pod' -- see photos), so if you want good coffee you'll need to make a run to Starbucks in the morning (or run hot water through the coffee pot and use it with your Starbucks Via like we did!)
--Two bags of tea were provided (one Green Tea, one Chamomile -- see photos)
--Bathrobes provided (see photos)
--Fiji water and snacks available for a charge
--Bathroom amenities were "Aromatherapy" products which were quite nice
--Plug ins for overnight phone charging are built into the nightstand lamps (love this detail and drives me crazy when it's missed!)
--The pool area is GORGEOUS and has a view of the ocean. The large square-shaped hot tub was heaven. Perfect temperature and very large so you don't feel like you're interrupting others if you get in
--The restaurant and bar were modern and gorgeous with beautiful ocean views, and service in the bar was outstanding (very friendly and professional)

We'll definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank napa_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted that you rated the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa with 5 stars. We are extremely happy that your stay was pleasurable and amazing and above your expectations. Our staff is truly exceptional and we are delighted that you were able to experience the high level of service we provide to all of our guests during your stay. We take great pride in the level of service we bring in ever outlet of the resort. Your stay is very important to us and we make sure that we do not fall short on any scale. We are looking forward to your return. Thank you for your review and wonderful compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice now and the service and Staff are teriffic. The both restaurants are very good. Pools are fantastic and the grounds and views from the property are spectacular. Short walk (steep hills) to the waterfront and plenty of places to eat. Am looking forward to my next stay in Dana Point

Room Tip: If a rewards member ask for a complimentary upgrade. Try to get an ocean view if available.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USNAVYCGN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your wonderful compliments regarding your stay. We are delighted to hear that this was your second time visiting our property. The greatest compliment for our resort and staff is to know that a guest has returned for another visit. Our job is to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as we can and we are grateful that we have provided this type of atmosphere for you during your visits. We are looking forward to your next visit and we will guarantee nothing short of excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa a few times. Love the atmosphere, staff, food, views, and beds. I sleep better when I stay here than any other place away from home. Great size fitness center with just the right type and amount of equipment. The only hotel I look forward to when traveling on business. Next time I'll try the spa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for rating the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa with 5 Stars. We are delighted that our resort is your home away from home. That is one of the best compliments we could have received. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable, enjoyable and pleasurable as we can while you are away from your own home. Our staff is at your service 24 hours a day to be sure that you are well taken care of. We hope you do try our spa the next time you visit, we know you will not be disappointed. We are looking forward to your next visit and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was here for a work conference for a week and found the hotel itself to be very nice. The room and bed was very comfortable and the food was good too. It is a great location to take off for a walk along the water but if you want to shop or go to restaurants, you really need a car. There are plenty of wonderful restaurants only 5-10 min drive.

Room Tip: Pay attention to which room you request. Not all of them have balconies and not all have a good view...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwchilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope your meeting was a great success. We are delighted to hear that we made your conference week comfortable and pleasant. There is nothing more important to us than to make your stay as pleasurable as we can. We must agree that the walk along the harbor and beach are both serene and breathtaking. We hope that you were able to enjoy the Vue and OverVue Restaurant at the resort during your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit, whether it be for business or leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this location (2/9/2013) and was extremely letdown of the overall value. Mind you, I typically spend about 15k in travel each year so I've seen a number of quality hotels and this one did not make the grade. First, I paid for an ocean view but found it was more a partial as the trees in the park took up 75% of that view. Additionally, I reserved a room with a king size bed only to be told they were out of them and had to settle for two full beds. One thing I found extremely odd was that I had to be issued a key to open the mini bar. I found that a slap in the face in regards to the clientele that frequent the resort. The rooms seemed due for an upgrade and bathroom tiny. It may be better for other rooms but room 214 was a complete letdown.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cmc3bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. During high occupancy, we do our very best to accommodate each and every guest’s request, however, there are times when we are not able to provide the preferred type of bed due to occupancy levels. Our priority is to fulfill and meet all of your needs but unfortunately, there are times where we cannot grand every request. We appreciate your understanding and patience. In regards to the mini bar key, we provide a key to every guest upon check-in, in order to protect the usage of underage drinking. We apologize if you found this offensive. We take every review seriously and we will share your feedback with our management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went to this spa with a family of 5 ladies for a birthday celebration facials experience. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and escorted to the changing area. We were all escorted by very friendly staff into the rooms for our facials. The facial was great, she addressed concerns and did an excellent job in making me feel relaxed and rejuvinated. After the facial we all met in the lounge area and relaxed with some lemon water and then changed to our bathing suits to enjoy the sauna and hot tub. It was a great day for all of us as we don't always have the opportunity to get together all in one place often. Highly recommend the services. The staff was very friendly and kind.

Room Tip: 3 of the birthday girls did stay overnight and the room was spacious, had a lovely balcony, we got r...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Happy belated birthday! We are delighted to hear that you and your family celebrated your birthday with us. It sounds like you all had a fabulous time spending the day together and rejuvenating. Our staff is truly exceptional and we are happy that you were able to experience the warmth and friendliness first hand. Your experience is very important to us and we appreciate your rating of 5 stars. A day of pampering with the ladies is priceless and we are happy that we were able to help create these wonderful memories for you and your family. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $250 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing