We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay in Dana Point!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay in Dana Point!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband & I love the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa! We always stay at this hotel whenever we need to go to this area for business. Everyone at this hotel is very nice, friendly, and eager to please! As with any upscale Marriott property, this hotel has those fantastic and comfy king size beds!! Their breakfast buffet is really good. Also, if the weather permits, it is so nice to have your breakfast at their patio overlooking Dana Point Harbor. A great way to start your day. This hotel has a wonderful park (Doheney Park) right in front of the hotel overlooking the ocean. By the harbor, there are several nice restaurants where you can dine. Also, you can take a boat ride at the harbor to take you to Catalina Island. We can't wait for our next trip to OC so we can stay at this wonderful hotel again.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room facing the ocean so when you open your window, you can feet the ocean bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasPinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your compliments about our resort. Our staff is truly amazing and we are delighted that you experienced their genuine care first hand. We are happy to hear that your business meetings are held at our resort when you are in the Dana Point area. We have the most attentive staff that will go miles to make sure that your meeting is a success.

The resort is situated in a perfect location, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the Dana Point Marina. We hope that you stay with us again when you are visiting Dana Point for both business and pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    460
    170
    86
    88
See reviews for
387
426
49
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Relaxing views of the Pacific coast. Great place to decompress. This is by no means the cheapest place to stay, but it is worth it. The location is great in that it is very accessible to both Orange County and northern San Diego points of interest. If you would like to go to places like Legoland, Disneyland and all the other points of interest in between, this is a great choice of place to stay. And if you just want to decompress, this is the place to be. The views are enough to soothe the most frayed of nerves. If you want activities, there is enough of it nearby. If you want to jet ski, kayak, boogie board, surf, it is all within walking distance. If you want a low key picnic, there is a park in front of the hotel that has amazing views. Lots of options for food from Denny's, McDs, Subway to 5-star restaurants.
The breakfast buffet is pricey, but if you eat a late breakfast, you can count it as a brunch that is not to disappoint. Even the wait staff is much better than he average waiter. They seemed very well trained. The spa is amazing, not cheap, but you really feel really pampered. Very professional.
In May there is a blue's festival at the Doheny Beach that is walking distance. If you are into that, this is the place to stay because it is a short walking distance. But if you are not into blues, check in advance when this festival is scheduled, and stay away. It is not the best time to go here during that time if you're not into blues. You will hear the sounds in your room. But other than that, this place is really a gem. Less price than the Ritz down the street, but has a lot more rooms with a great view. I have gone there every year for the last 6 years, and I have always come away feeling refreshed and pampered.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean, always check the room first. Try to pick the rooms of the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camellia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you feel refreshed and pampered after every stay with us. Thank you for making our home yours every year. We are so honored that you stay with us once a year and enjoy it each time you visit. It is our job to make you feel right at home and provide you with great service, dining options and comfort. We agree with you in that we are truly a “gem” located on the bluffs of Dana Point. We are looking forward in seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Laguna Cliffs knocked it out of the park! Fantastic beds, view, buffet breakfast and courteous staff! Better than I expected. The only drawback is that it is a bit of a drive to Laguna Beach. But since there is little traffic and you're driving along the pch it's not bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Wow. We are just delighted that everything was fantastic and that we knocked it out of the ballpark for you! That is our goal each and every time. We strive for perfection and we are happy to hear that we did just that. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for a business conference held on site ! Rooms , restaurant , pool service and spa ate all fabulous , staff friendly .. Business facilities and service a little disorganised , more geared for leisure .. But would definitely recommend for vacation .. Great restaurants and the harbour within walking distance

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EiboNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your compliments regarding our staff, wonderful service, rooms, restaurant and spa. We truly are the perfect resort for leisure and business guests. I’m sorry to hear that you felt that the facilities and service were a bit unorganized for your meeting. We hope that you addressed your concerns with our staff and we were able to remedy the situation. We find that our resort is compatible for couples, leisure guests, families and business/corporate meetings. We hope that the next time you return for business you experience this as well. Thank you again for your review and we hope that you visit us again for both leisure and business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

As many others have stated, this property is very VERY nice. It is spacious and gives you a feeling of being beach side even though its a bit of a walk away. The views of the ocean are wonderful and the staff did a great job of making my wife and I feel important and welcome.

Our room was large by Marriott standards and included a balcony facing the ocean. The only issue we had during our stay is that the drain in the bath tub was very slow and you ended your shower standing in a few inches of water. Maintenance came and "fixed it" but unfortunately the water still didn't drain fast enough to elim the issue. Didn't ruin our stay thought..

Oh and the restaurants and bars are great! Who doesn't love Starbucks in the morning!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSPtoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and how they made you and your wife feel important and welcomed. Our job is to make your stay a memorable one and we are delighted that we made this happen for you and your wife. I must agree with you in that there is nothing like drinking Starbucks in the morning and to enjoy it while looking outside to ocean views, is priceless. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Vue Restaurant and OverVue Lounge. We hope you and your wife will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My family enjoyed the beautiful outdoor pool and play area while I was at a conference in the resort. The views are lovely. It is a quick walk to the beach and a short drive to San Juan de Capistrano Mission.
Conference facilities were nice, but the sound system could have been better (I assume this was provided by the hotel).
Although I had specified that there were two adults and two children staying in our room, one two occasions I had to request that we be provided with four bath towels rather than three in our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexaninLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed a mini vacation while you attended a conference at the resort. It truly is the perfect resort for families enjoying a leisure vacation or a destination to hold a conference. The location is quite perfect, close proximity to the beach, shops and harbor and views that will leave you breathless.

We regret that you were not satisfied with the sound system. Please note that we do have an AV staff on property and if there’s ever an issue, they are here to help. Our job is to provide you with all of the tools you need to make your meeting successful.

We hope to have you all back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at this property last weekend and I was very surprised to find that this moderately-priced resort is not only beautiful, but it's staffed with great people who really care about their guests. I strongly recommend this place if you are going to travel to the Dana Point area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our “beautiful” resort and our attentive staff. Our staff takes great pride in making each guest experience unique to their needs. Our job is to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. We thank you for recommending our resort to travelers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
401 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing