We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 10, 2012

All in all a good value. We were very picky about our rooms, and the checkin girl was very accomodating and allowed us to walk through our candidates. The location is great, the views are terrific, you have to walk a bit to get to the harbor, but that's probably a good thing. Parking is vallet only AND they charge $29 a day, so add that to the cost of the stay. But they treat you like a million bucks. Nice experience.

Room Tip: THe top floors don't have balconies, so if you want a balcony don't pick the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerE2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to hear that you were pampered during your stay. Our staff service is top notch and we strive to exceed our guests expectations with each encounter. We are so happy to hear that you experienced the accommodating and friendly service we provide to all of our guests. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

My bf and I stayed here right after the Labor Day rush for one night on his free Marriott Points and we were both blown away! Despite the fact that this was free for us, we were treated like regular guests. Everyone from the valet service to the concierge to the pool attendants to the front desk staff were awesome. The pool was great, we were served snacks while lounging and waiting to be checked into our room early! The room was beautiful with a view of the ocean and were accommodated with a fridge that was promptly brought to us within 5 mn of the first phone call. The food at the pool is a bit pricey (19 bucks for an omelette!), but was good since we were starving. A Ralph's was in walking distance to stock up if you're on a budget;) We had free use of bikes, surf boards and boogie boards ( are you kidding me?!) And free use of the spa facility. By the way, this was like a mini Burke Williams (I'm not kidding)- super clean, saunas, relaxation rooms with tea and snacks...for free! A cute shopping area is within walking distance on the harbor where we ate at an amazing French place called Gemmel's (spelling?) The waiter (I'm sorry I forgot his name) was so nice and helpful- he totally hooked us up with their $29 Pre-Fixe yum! Beautiful park in front of the hotel overlooking the ocean where you can run, or do Yoga (they actually have classes in the mornings). It's also kid friendly, but if you are a couple- they made sure we were separate from screaming tots:) A romantic little get away from the grind of LA!! You won't regret it....

Room Tip: Get a King Room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Wow! We are so delighted that we made your stay so “amazing” and memorable. Thank you for being such a loyal Marriott Rewards member. Everyone is our guest and we appreciate that you are loyal to the Marriott brand. We are grateful that as a couple, you were both able to enjoy all the amenities the resort has to offer. We can’t agree with your more, our staff is superb and they are here to make your stay not just enjoyable but comfortable and memorable. We are pleased that we accomplished that. We hope that you were able to try one of our spa facials or massages while you stayed with us. The experience will surely bring you back for more. We now have fitness classes for our guests, which include Yoga, Meditation, Boot camp and much more. We are so happy that you and your boyfriend were able to get away from the hustle and bustle of LA and experience the tranquility that awaits you and the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a good, but not great, stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott.

The property itself is in good shape and sits on a bluff. It's about a 5-10 minute walk straight down a hill to get to the beach or harbor. You can also walk to restaurants and shops along PCH.
The rooms are average size and most look out over one of the 2 pools with views of the ocean in the distance. The beds were very comfortable.
The front desk staff was especially helpful as was the staff at the adult pool.

Now the negatives: My bill was incorrect at check out and it took almost 30 minutes and having to speak to 3 differently people to get the problem resolved.

The biggest negative was the valet only parking at $29 a day. I mentioned how ridiculously high this was, somewhat jokingly, to one of the staff members. Their response was, "It's crazy, but they (hotel management) know that you don't have any other options." It's true, there aren't really any other places to park so if you have a car make sure you aware that you will have to pay an extra $29 / day. I'm sure the management will respond as they have to previous posts that their parking rates are "competitive". In my opinion it's blatantly ripping off your customers when you know they have no other options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. We agree that our resort is in an amazing location, sitting on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are walking distance from the beach and marina and just high enough where you get a cool ocean breeze and a sense of tranquility. We are happy that the comfort of the beds were to your liking.

We regret that you had to wait 30 minutes to have your bill corrected but we are pleased that everything was taken care of. As you mentioned, our front desk staff is very helpful and they are there to accommodate your needs.

In regards to your comments about our parking fees, the parking rates are in fact “competitive” to the other resorts along the coast. We are very fortunate to have our resort situated on the bluffs and near Doheny State Beach and harbor but unfortunately it does not give our guests many options to park their vehicles. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We would return to this resort, great location, everyone was really nice and the pool was perfect! dont waste your money at the St Regis or Ritz, this hotel is just as good for a fraction of the cost!

Room Tip: no need to get a room by the pool. views are great from all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrokerSaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your compliments about our resort and staff. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your family. We hope are looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Rooms were great - very nautical, clean. we were on the first floor (room 1012) facing ocean with patio. It was very serene.

Food was great until the pool side waiter brought us turkey burgers instead of veggie burgers. I kept telling him it was turkey and he insisted it was veggie. Bit into it and needless to say almost passed out. Spit it out cause it was indeed turkey. As strict vegans this was VERY disheartening but Liza, the Pool Supervisor handled it great and before i knew it the turkey dead animal flesh burger was gone and we had vegan replacements.

Pool Cabana was great. so inexpensive. VALERIA & GRANT went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and that our drinks/ food arrived pool side in a timely manner. Service was SOO good in fact that we stayed pool side from 10 am - sunset instead of hanging out/eating/drinking at the wharf.

VUE restaurant is great. Again, the chef was able to accomodate us with vegan dishes.

GORGEOUS GROUNDS AND VIEWS.

Check in was super quick and friendly. Considering it was Labor day weekend, it was a breeze.

Valet service was great - we would call them to pull our car out before departing to dinner and the car was always ready for us in a timely manner. (Check out Ritz for dinner during sunset - gorgeous)

We will DEF be going back mainly thanks to the fabulous staff but all in all, i give this place an A.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are so delighted that you enjoyed our cabana’s and poolside service until sunset. We deeply apologize for the mix up in your food order and we are happy to hear that this was promptly corrected. We definitely understand how important it is when you have a dietary preference and we do accommodate all guests needs as best we can. We are glad that you also enjoyed the vegan dishes our culinary team provided for you at the Vue Restaurant. We can’t disagree with you, we too are amazed at how lovely the views and grounds are at this resort. The panoramic ocean views are just breathtaking. We thank you for your compliments in regards to the great service we provide in all of our outlets. Our staff is very well trained and each interaction is very special to each one of us. We ALL want our guests to feel special and leave with memories that they will last a lifetime. We hope we made this trip special for you. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location is excellent. The views are gorgeous. The room product is a bit tired and needs a facelift. The public areas are great. The valet service is exceptional....the guys are on their game. Front desk staff could use more training on suggesting local areas and describing their own property. We weren't even told there was a pool, let alone 2 pools on property.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for ocean view. The rooms looking over the pools will be loud with families particip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTK1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We will have to agree with you on the resorts location and “gorgeous” views. The panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean are just breathtaking. Thank you for your compliments regarding our valet service. Our team works very efficiently in providing our guests with quick and superb service. In regards to our front desk staff, we will be sure to address your concerns with our team. We regret that no one informed you about our pools. We hope the map on the key packet helped you locate some of the great amenities the resort has to offer. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott. As a family, we were so impressed by the beautiful and clean grounds, tentative and courteous staff and not to mention the gorgeous views! The pool staff, especially Taylor, were beyond attentive and accommodating. They were consistently available to make sure we were as comfortable as we can be by providing complimentary cold water,mixed nuts and unbelievably free massages poolside!!!! Alicia and Brandy at the front desk were so professional and made us feel like we were welcomed and cared for. As an added bonus, the beds were heavenly comfortable! We absolutely loved this hotel and can't wait to go back again. My 8 year old didn't want to leave. I would highly recommned it for families and or an adult getaway.

Room Tip: We had a pool and partial ocean view. We still got a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Artmom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We are just delighted that we could make your weekend a memorable vacation. Our mission is to make your vacation as comfortable and pleasant as we can. We are so happy that you had a chance to experience the wonderful amenties and the great service that our pool staff provides. We're glad you enjoyed the poolside massage. We hope your son/daughter was able to watch one of the two movies that was showing this weekend at the resort. Children just love the popcorn, snacks and theater style seating in this room. You are welcome and cared for and we are at your service at all times. We’re looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
900 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $243 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing