We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$150
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capistrano Surfside Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$238
$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$244
$213
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$1,137
$549
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $894/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$603
$549
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveler rating
604
491
184
100
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
491
184
100
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvue restaurantvalet parkingpublic parkdana point harborbreakfast buffetper nightvalet servicebeautiful locationocean viewself parkking bednice propertyadult poolroom ratesmall balconysan diegobusiness meeting
Filter
Updating list...
1,050 - 1,055 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is absolutely gorgeous!! Our 2 year old had so much fun the first time we had to come back for a 2nd time! There are 2 pools which is perfect to separate the adults with kids from the adults that want to just relax and not have splashing and a lot of noise. Andrea checked us in and was as pleasant as can be. She offered my son a toy from a basket which he took a good 20 minutes to choose. She thanked us for coming back and asked if we were celebrating anything special. We told her it was our anniversary that month but since we have a 2 year old and work full time we decided to celebrate as a family. We enjoyed the day relaxing by the pool watching our son enjoy the water play area. It was also nice that they had a pool that was only 2 feet deep so we didn't have to worry about him not being able to swim. The staff made sure we always had a cold beverage at hand and had dry towels. After enjoying the day by the pool we walked into our room to find chocolate covered strawberries and a card from Andrea saying Happy Anniversary!! We enjoyed dinner and a band later that evening. The band was wonderful and played some great songs which the guests all seemed to love. The next morning we enjoyed breakfast in the outdoor seating with a beautiful view. I absolutely love this place. Everyone from management to the housekeeping is so wonderful and helpful. This is our new vacation spot! So glad we found it and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. We want to start off by wishing you a belated happy anniversary. We are delighted that we have become your new vacation spot. We are happy to hear that your son has enjoyed our resort as much as you and your husband. What a joy to welcome you all back.

Our staff is all about service and we are happy to hear that you experienced the high level of service and our attention to detail. We hope you enjoyed the chocolate covered strawberries in your room and we hope we made your anniversary a memorable one.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed sitting out on our Vue Patio to enjoy your morning breakfast. I cannot agree with you more about the great live bands that perform in our OverVue Lounge every Friday and Saturday nights. The ambiance is so pleasant and listening to live music while enjoying the views of the coast isn't too bad either.

We are looking forward in welcoming you all back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Although the vista is beautiful, this hotel is missing all the real amenities necessary for a hotel. The walls are paper thin--easy to hear all conversations in the hall. My room was two down from the elevator and I could hear the elevator ding every time it arrived. The air conditioning compressor cycles on (loudly) and off. Currently, listening to a band outside my window doing Beach Boy renditions and all I want to do is get some sleep after getting no sleep last night. Also had GI issues after eating the banquet last night as did one other member of my group. WOULD NEVER COME HERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Stay away from restaurant and outside area with set up for dining and parties.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. You are a valued costumer and we sincerely apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. It deeply saddens us to hear that you did not get a good night’s rest because of the elevator, the air conditioning and the guest conversations. We do have a city curfew policy and all bands outside the property must cease all noise by 10:00 pm . Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. We will address this with our staff and make the appropriate changes as necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I paid for a "pool view" and as a Marriott Gold member asked for an upgrade.
The first room #4008 - to even see the pool you had to walk to the windows, move 2 chairs, table and floor lamp and strain your neck to even see the "kids" pool - but you could sure hear them! They moved me the next day to an Pool/Ocean view - which was even worse - it was a corner room - again you had to walk to the balacony, move the 2 chairs and table around to sit - also the "kids pool" and no view of the ocean - what a "rip off" for $450.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pablo2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. As a Marriott Gold Member you are one of our most valued guests and we regret we were not able to offer you an upgrade. We were fully committed due to our resort’s sold out position; however, we did place you in the best room type available and we regret that its location did not meet your expectations. As I’m sure you are aware, we take great pride in providing a high level of service and quality to our guests and we were truly sorry to hear that this guestroom's location put a damper on your stay with us. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a nice hotel, well located, set back but still overlooking the ocean. Excellent for families as they have a kid's pool and a children's activites room and, I assume, they have some children's programs. Rooms are comfortable. Room rates are fair, but costs begin to add-up with valet parking (only), breakfast, (high especially for families), resort fee (even at $15 per day it still adds up and its taxed) and internet package of $12.95. Close to other activites as well. Service is mixed. Some staff offer information voluntarily, but often you have to ask. At check-in it would have been nice if they had enquired if I wanted a newspaper, did I have a rewards number, reminder there is a safe in the room and do I need the mini-bar key, there is turn down service,etc. The bellman was very pleasant, but again I had to ask about certain things instead of being his automatically reviewing information about the room. At this level hotel, a client shouldn't have to ask about basics. (Yes, I'm nitpicking but this isn't a Motel 6) The breakfast was excellent and staff was friendly and courteous. And certainly it is far more reasonably priced than the Ritz, St. Regis and Monarch. Overall, an enjoyable stay and I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vignettehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family. We do have a Kahuna Laguna Kid’s Club that is open during the summer months. It’s filled with hands on activities. Each day is a different theme (ie., Magic Monday, Chef for a day, etc.) and we find that children never want to leave. We also provide a movie night for all of our guests who have children between the ages of 5-12. Children enjoy turning in their ticket stubs at a mini box office and as they walk into the amphitheater style meeting room they are treated to popcorn, snacks and drinks.

We regret that you had to ask for more information about amenities that we provide. We will address this with our front office staff. We hope that all your questions were answered and that we provided everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We thank you again for you review and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort was absolutely beautiful. The room was spacious and had a great view of the ocean. The pool area was gorgeous. It was nice to be able to sit outside and not be surrounded by loud, rambunctious people. The hotel staff was phenomenal, they were very attentive and would bring anything that you wanted.

**My one complaint would be about the valet parking. This hotel does not have its own parking lot, as it is up on a hill. There is a daily fee of $29 to have the valet service. I did not have a problem paying for the valet, the issue was that I was unaware that the hotel did not have parking. It would have been nice when I made my reservation over the phone six months prior to have been informed about the parking situation and the fee for the valet up front. I felt blindsided by the charge because at no point in making the reservation did anyone mention that there was not a parking lot or the fee for valet. My advice to the resort would be to be up front with your guests and tell them about the parking situation and the fee.

Room Tip: It does cost extra to have a room with an ocean view. We did not pay for a room with an ocean view, but I did not miss it because we could still see a little bit of the ocean and the water is close by. I would say an ocean view is not worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for your compliments in regards to our ocean views, “phenomenal staff” and gorgeous pools. We agree that our property is very beautiful. We are happy that you had a chance to experience the wonderful staff that we have at this property. They enjoy providing each guest with an exceptional level of service.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical.

We are sorry to hear you were not aware of our parking fees as we inform guests in a few different areas regarding these fees. On the confirmation you received for your guestroom our parking fee is noted under your room rate. In addition, the parking fee is noted on our website under Guest Services.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope that we may have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews