We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$247
$227
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$259
$150
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$178
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$338
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$943
$749
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$823
$599
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $705/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$257
$229
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveler rating
604
491
184
100
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
491
184
100
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvue restaurantvalet parkingpublic parkdana point harborbreakfast buffetper nightvalet servicebeautiful locationocean viewself parkking bednice propertyadult poolroom ratesmall balconysan diegobusiness meeting
Filter
Updating list...
1,197 - 1,202 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Nice property, close to the ocean. Room had a nice view of the ocean and harbor. I liked that I could open the sliding glass door and hang out on the little patio for some fresh air. Just be aware of the big bugs that are attracted to the room lights. Interesting little beetles, that don't die! There was some June Gloom, but, on the one clear day, I could see out to the ocean and harbor, below.

The room was nicely furnished and clean. Everything in the hotel was very conveniently located. You can do a short 10 minute walk down to the harbor, for a change of pace and some exercise.

Surprisingly, the food was just okay, not great, not bad. The service was quick. Wireless internet service was very spotty. The only thing that was really bothersome was the down bedding and having to (twice) request it to be changed. With all the allergy problems out there, can't understand why hotels still put down bedding on.

It is a pretty long ride up to LAX (1-1:15), so if you can, fly into John Wayne Airport.

Nice place to spend a weekend, or have a business meeting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank propredicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed here with my two teens in October of 2010. The property is in a great location on a bluff looking towards the Dana Point Harbor and Pacific Ocean. Our room had been recently refurbished with nice furnishings, decor and linens. The bathroom basically had a new light fixtures, granite counter tops and a new mirror, but the rest of it is probably original to the hotel's first build. Tiny balcony overlooking the adult pool with a peek a boo view to the ocean. They have younger kids pool on the other side of the hotel which would be great for families with the 3-10 year old crowd. The exterior of the hotel is "cape cod" style, the lobby and common areas are asian/zen and the guest rooms are "coastal chic"....it all looks good, but it does not flow, but most who are not design oriented would care less and wouldn't notice. Room service was timely and good. Only complaint would the be young immature, unprofessional attitudes of the high school/college age guys working the valet area. Other than that, a terrific property in a great location in a great southern california beach town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 949kbunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our daughter just got married here at the Laguna Cliffs, and I must say, it was flawless. The staff (thanks Rachel!) remained so enthused about "our" wedding, that you woudl think it was their daughter getting married. This hotel does do a lot of weddings, and I understand some of the comments from other TA folk, and I realize I am biased, but in our experience, even with a wedding after ours, it was hardly noticeable. The price was right, the setting spectacular, and the all the staff seemed so genuinely friendly that all of our guests felt warmly welcomed and well cared for. We have run out of daughters, but if we had another, we would certainly have the wedding here again (and we don't even live in CA)!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here in June for 2 nights for our niece's wedding which was held in the bay (not in the hotel). We were told that we were going to be fined $2500 for taking her picture as she got in the car or any photos in the hotel grounds as the hotel manager informed us 'they reserve the right'....we complained that there was nothing in the booking to suggest this and never had it been mentioned during checking. The hotel is very good at taking lots of money for drinks in the bar, but we found the staff really agressive and not very understanding that we had flown from London especially to attend the wedding and of course expected to take photo!!!!! Another problem is there is no car parking for the normal parking only valet parking which works out really expensive when you are in and out all day doing wedding stuff! Think twice before booking this very expensive and not so friendly hotel!

Room Tip: Expensive hotel with not a lot on offer!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muttrah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Laguna Cliffs for a night away from the kids. We had stayed there a few years ago and liked it. We loved it this time because they had completely renovated the whole hotel and updated the decor in the rooms. I think we paid $250 and that included parking and a really great breakfast. That was a bargain compared to the Ritz or the Monarch Beach resort just up the road. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had and included a great omelet bar. It is annoying that they charge for parking (part of the hotel upgrade was to go to "valet only" parking) and pay for internet, but that seems to be the way most high end hotels are going, unfortunately. Other than that we were very happy. The pools are great, the food is great, the rooms are great, and the location is wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skidog424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews