We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay - Did not exceed my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Average Stay - Did not exceed my expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

Just spent 3 nights at property. The hotel is situated on a cliff, with a nice view of the water. Checked in with no problems, front desk staff were very friendly.

I checked into my room, 2065. The room was very large with a king size bed, and balcony overlooking the tennis court. The bathroom was average, there was not bathtub, but a very large walk-in shower. I had
read several reviews about the walls being paper thin. This is an accurate assessment. I could hear noise at all hours of the night.
Another big negative for me is the thermostat. It was locked down so to speak. The only option was to have the fan on auto. The fan never came on. Had I been able to turn the fan on, it would have blocked out
some of the noise. I was finally able to remove the panel infront of the thermostat off, to turn the fan on. It was making a loud banging noise. I ended up calling the front desk to send maintance up at 6am to fix the problem.

The hotel has a nice bar with outdoor seating and heaters. Drinks were
very pricey. There is also a cafe, but it closes at 1pm. The outdoor pool looked very nice with ample seating. The pool is heated. I would rate my stay as average. It was nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CARose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    444
    165
    85
    83
See reviews for
378
413
48
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

I stayed two nights at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort this past weekend and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. They lent us tennis rackets and balls to use on their clay court, the food was excellent (I was there for a rehearsal dinner and had the breakfast buffet on Sunday), the gym was decent and everyone was friendly. The bed was also extremely comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotless.

Two inconveniences- parking (valet and self park are the same price) was expensive- $22/night and they wouldn't let us extend our check out after 11am on Sunday. It's is definitely worth the price if you want to stay in a nice hotel in Dana Point- the St. Regis and Ritz up the street are easily double or triple the price.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

I have stayed at Laquna Cliffs twice and I was not impressed either visit. All in all the hotel is ok, but not great. For a similar prcie, I think I will stay at the Ritz my next visit. The only thing extraordinary about the resturants are their prices, given the quality of the food. The rooms are fine, nothing impressive. And during my most recent visit, I found trash in one of the dresser drawers from the previous guest.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Baxter-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

I booked our room via Expedia, so I wasn't sure what we were going to get. We ended up with a very nice ocean view from our room which overlooked one of the pool areas.

The room was fairly large and very comfortable. We had a small balcony with two chairs.

The grounds were beautiful and there is a nice public park overlooking the sea just outside the hotel grounds. A short walk takes you to the marina which is filled with shops and restaurants.

We ate breakfast at the Vue several times and absolutely loved sitting at their outdoor patio. The buffet was very good (lots of fresh berries!), as were the items we ordered off the menu. Service was excellent.

We found the valet parking to be quite convenient, as you have full in-out priviledges and even though we stayed for 4 nights, we only paid for one or two days of parking since we arrived late the first night and didn't use the car one of the days.

There were a few weddings during our stay, but we actually enjoyed watching some of the festivities associated with a Hindu wedding that was being held outside. We ordered some wine at the patio bar off the lobby and enjoyed watching the groom ride around on a horse, all overlooking the Pacific.

The fitness center was adequate, but most of the cardio machines were a bit dated. There was a fairly good variety of weight machines and those seemed to be newer.

I had a spa treatment -- if you plan to get one allow extra time to enjoy the facilities there -- whirlpool, sauna, "relaxation room" with wonderful comfy chairs, tea, lemonade, books, etc.

As another reviewer mentioned, we also had some issues with noise (the nearby elevator, a door slamming frequently, loud people returning to their rooms during the early hours of the morning), and we also used the somewhat noisy A/C unit to drown some of that out.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Liked — location and the views
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank okigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

We had a great time! We were headed to L.A. from San Diego. We were stopping in for 1 night. We ended up not going to L.A. We stayed for 4 nights. Two of the nights we had a greay view of the ocean and city. We wanted to go to the hot tub a couple of times but, weddings were the trend that weekend. I couldn't bring my self to take a dip in the middle of the reception. All in all very nice.

  • Liked — The staff was great!
  • Disliked — Lots of weddings couldnt use pool or hot tub
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CottonMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

Very nice hotel with friendly hotel staff and beautiful views of the Dana Point Harbor and Pacific coast. We stayed in room 2038, which was on the second floor and faced the pool, but we also had a partial view of the Pacific Ocean as a bonus (see pictures). We requested and recieved a room with a balcony. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spotless, with a large tub and lots of counter space. Beds were very comfortable. Still, we didn't get much sleep due to noisy people in the hallway and the large heavy doors slamming closed. Another problem was the air conditioning unit, which had no "Fan Only" setting, which I like to use to drown out the outside noise (we're light sleepers). The grounds of the hotel are simply gorgeous and the views are spectacular. We ate breakfast one morning at the Vue and the buffet was very good. All the hotel staff were very polite and friendly (I've found this to be the case with most Marriott properties). With our AAA discount, we paid $207 a night (plus $22 for parking), a good value for a Southern California beach town hotel.

  • Liked — Location, views, clean rooms
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachBumChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

After 2 weeks touring California and Nevada, we had booked this hotel to chill out for 4 days before the long flight home. What a disaster. We arrived at 2.45pm thinking this to be a reasonable time to check-in (OK, the official line is 4pm but having stayed at 6 hotels in the previous days and all the rooms having been ready early afternoon we thought this reasonable). No chance, our room wasn't ready and the stuck-up receptionist didn't offer us anywhere to go or leave our bags. I had to ask if we could use the pool or if there was a courtesy room available. We left our bags with concierge and went to the pool.

There are 2 pools at this hotel. The first one we went to was absolutely packed with not one sun lounger available. Onto the second pool which was much the same. Some people were even lying on their towels on the ground. We eventually found a couple of loungers and off we went to the toilets to get changed into our swim gear. There are two toilets for a pool with over 100 people in and around it. The next 20 mins was spent in the queue. I wish I hadn't bothered as the toilet was filthy with balls of wet toilet paper all over the floor, half drunk cocktails round the sink and on the floor, dirty sink, no toilet roll - horrible. Eventually we got back out to the pool which was so busy we couldn't get in -seriously, there were so many people hanging out round the edges, we had to say 'excuse me' to get someone to move enough to let us in. OK, fair enough, it was Labor Day weekend, however, given that the reason we could check-in was the hotel was full predominantly with a wedding party and the wedding was just starting, it is apparent that the hotel facilities are not adequate for the number of guests/ rooms.

At 4.30pm, our room became available - could this get any worse? Yes, we had booked a king size bed room, but our allocated room had 2 double beds. The room was far too small for the 2 beds and there was virtually no floorspace. The location of the room was also awful, ground floor right next to the pool with people sunbathing and yelling right outside the window. This was the icing on the cake and we went straight back to reception to ask to be moved, even offering to pay for an upgrade. I spoke with a manager and this was not possible as the hotel was full. By this time the wedding party had taken over the entire reception and it was chaos. Oh, and despite our booking confirmation stating 'King Room', apparently that's only a request so should have been expected!

We couldn't imagine spending the nest 4 days in this disaster of a hotel so had no choice but to ask for a refund or transfer to another hotel. This was about the only good thing the hotel did and they called hotels.com for us agreeing to refund our room rate. Hotels.com found us a suitable alternative - the Newport Beach Marriott and we had to stump up £222 extra. Thanks goodness we moved. The Newport Marriott was a different class of hotel altogether - an oasis of calm, clean, fab room, professional down to earth staff....

Think carefully before booking Dana Point/ Laguna Cliffs Resort - we have never been so disappointed with a hotel that we have needed to move. To put it in perspective, on our touring we stayed at several best Western's with only 2 star ratings - they were far better hotels than Dana Point and half the cost.

  • Disliked — Where do I start?
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank PigsEar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing