We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$247
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$338
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$216
$190
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$823
$599
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$943
$749
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveler rating
604
491
184
100
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
491
184
100
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvue restaurantvalet parkingpublic parkdana point harborbreakfast buffetper nightvalet servicebeautiful locationocean viewself parkking bednice propertyadult poolroom ratesmall balconysan diegobusiness meeting
Filter
Updating list...
1,215 - 1,220 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Booked a Snique Away special for a long deserved getaway. Even though the place is upscale (as observed by the Lamborghini being valet parked when we arrived) there is no air of snobbery or snottiness at all. The room had a decent view of the harbor was decent sized, incredibly comfortable, and immaculate. The setting is wonderful up on top of a hill with a county park out in front. There are several choices of restaurants, pubs, coffee shops and other eateries a fairly short walk away down at the harbor. Beware if you eat too much that there are 118 steps up to the top of the hill! Thew concierge was helpful with our questions and reception always greeted us warmly when we came or went

The only negative as has been well documented here is the mandatory $29 a night valet parking. There is no way around it. At least we knew about it before hand and didn't let it spoil an otherwise wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhineusFlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Somehow similar to Hotel Coronado in San Diego this Dana Point City-owned property was recently renovated and now under Marriott management.

The rooms are gorgeous (most with sea view and balcony), 100% Marriott Standard (beds, bath, ammenities) and the 4 (!) pools will give you the full relaxation experience!

Problematic from my point of view (as others also reported) seems to be the valet parking and other charges (Spa, Sauna, Indoor-Jacuzzi): they nickel & dime whereever possible: valet parking only 30 bucks+tip - Good that Pool access is (still) without extra fees and you can use the crub-in to the hotel entrance to unload you luggage for free.

There is free street parking outside, you need to walk up the hill through the parking house - no problem for us.

No free Wifi (yet?) as in most Marriott properties...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Arrived at the Hotel after a long drive. Arrived late . Valet boy told us we did not park in the right place and not to do it again. He did not even say Welcome. Very elegant property. Nice pool and Hot tub.Valet parking extra cost . Internet extra cost. Star bucks in the lobby was nice. Did not sleep . Could hear the next room talking. They came in late and left early. The beds are comfortable but the noise level is no fun. Thin Walls. This was suppose to be a special treat.... but it was not. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malibu34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This was our second visit to Laguna Cliffs Marriott and we plan on returning as often as possible. The staff is always friendly - in fact, even just walking in the lobby or down the hallways, staff says hello with a smile. Bryan at the front desk was incredible. When we arrived, we asked for a room with a view - Bryan gave us our room and then called to follow-up that the room was to our liking. He also thanked us for our loyalty (my husband has a Marriotts rewards number), gave us a free breakfast voucher, and was just an amazing host. This is the sort of individual any hotel would want greeting their guests.

The spa is also wonderful. Marina gives an amazing hot stone massage, which left me almost limp with relaxation.

All in all, a lovely stay. We plan to return as often as possible. Thank you, Laguna Cliffs and your wonderful employees, Bryan and Marina.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceangirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Just spent the weekend at this resort and thought the grounds were very beautiful. We did not have any problems with the staff at all. They were all very friendly and attentive. We tipped the maid and she was so gracious. We had the deal that included breakfast and valet parking. The buffet was pretty good, especially the wide variety of fruits. I thought the room was nice but seemed a little small. If they got rid of the wallpaper it would make the room appear more updated. But the beds were very comfortable and they had all the extra pillows and towels in the room as we had requested.
The kids swam in the pool and had a great time.
At night the bar area was pretty lively. We were not able to go as we had the kids, but there was some live entertainment on Saturday night.
Thanks to the front desk giving us an upgraded room we were able to watch the sunset from our room. Very beautiful.
If I were to return to this area I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews