We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor experience - Won't stay there again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Decatur,GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Poor experience - Won't stay there again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

I rated the stay overall as Terrible...not what I would expect for an expensive weekend at a Ritz property in Southern CA. Also note that I wrote a letter to the Manager of the hotel, George Munz, and I never received a response.

Check-In: issues when the front desk employee told me that there was a problem with my credit card (Platinum Amex) and I asked was she sure. She appeared to have a negative attitude towards me at that point stating there is a problem and asked for another credit card. When the 2nd card "didn't work" I asked if there was an issue with their system and she said no and didn't not appear very polite. After another 5 minutes of waiting she abruptly said that there must be an issue with the hotel system and "one of your credit cards will get charged". I found this front desk service level to be poor especially after reading a case study in business school about Ritz-Carlton being the gold standard for customer service.

Once we approached the room, housekeeping was still in our room (it was approx 10:45pm). The housekeeper left and approx an hour later, we discovered a pair of women's underwear on the floor behind the bathroom door. Again, not what we would expect for a $350 a night room. When we called the front desk, they simply stated "that's disgusting" and didn't even offer to change our room or at minimum have housekeeping come back to inspect the room and remove the underwear. I found this level of service to be sub-standard.

The physical property location is prime and is situated on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. A nice aspect was the grassy area where they have chairs where you can sit overlooking the water and write in Ritz-Carlton journals.

Housekeeping during our stay was inconsistent. Some days we got a bathmat, some days they didn't leave us one. One day we had morning breakfast order forms, the rest of the weekend we had to call and request them.

I can report that the Concierge service was excellent...they arranged a car service to LAX and charged everything to the room which is convenient.

Overall, I was turned off by the problems we had and had higher hopes for a Ritz experience which seemed to overshadow the good points. We will choose other properties along PCH that we have stayed at before such as the suite rooms at the Holiday Inn next to the Ralph's on PCH in Laguna.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDavisDecatur_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    371
    184
    89
    49
See reviews for
457
620
42
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

I vacationed here last week and was very, very impressed. The grounds are impeccable and our room (3rd floor ocean view) was perfect. The view was absolutely breathtaking.

Service was superb, as well. They offered a car service to take us to dinner and back (parking was tough to come by in the area of Laguna Beach with the restaurants and shops), that was very nice. The beach service was great. Within 10 minutes of asking, we had 2 chairs and an umbrella set up for us near the water.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank txtraveler000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
978 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, every staff member at this hotel makes you feel awesome!!!
My wife and two children stayed 7 consecutive nights at this hotel. Our first choice was to stay at the Four Seasons Aviria however they were booked and their rates were higher than the Ritz Carlton's. In the end we are happy we stayed here.

Pros: exceptional and efficient service by ALL staff members; modern rooms with great plasma TV, excellent pool and beach services, great room service.

Cons: add their daily resort fee and daily valet fee to the already substantial daily room rate and you have a very expensive hotel however I always say you pay for what you get and you get it all here! The room elevators were located in a very awkward place- you had to walk through the dining room as people ate to access the elevators...strange and inappropriate in my point of view. Room walls are very thin and therefore you can hear everything...a bit annoying.

I really cannot say any thing seriously negative about this hotel. We loved our stay.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — room elevators
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

Our honeymoon at The Ritz Carlton was perfect. We spent 11 nights at the hotel and it was incredible. We had not even stepped through the entrance on the first day when we got greeted by the bell boy taking our luggage and a lady greeting us by name without us introducing ourselves first. We then get to the front desk and are told that we have been upgraded to a better room over looking the ocean- impressive. The room was spotless when we got to it, we were welcomed with chocolates and a hand written card congratulating us on our wedding and the view was second to none. We ate in the hotel most evenings and found the food to be superb, I can especially recommend the sea-food buffet on Friday and Saturday night, the view from the restaraunt is over the ocean, try and sit next to the window if possible! The service in the hotel over-all is top class, the youngsters that work in the hotel are clearly well trained in manners and attentiveness. The weather was wonderful as was the pool. The surrounding restaurants are lovely and the hotel provides a free chauffeur to take you. The concierge was happy to book everything for us and once we got to dinner we were 'vip's' from the Ritz and got perks like better tables and actually once got a free dessert! Go to 'The Chart house' for an amazing evening with a view over the harbour. I would give this 5 out of 5 and even though a little pricey I would say that it was worth every penny. I would go back to The Ritz Carlton and I look forward to my eventual return,Enjoy!

  • Liked — The style and luxury
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosensoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

We just returned from our Memorial Day Weekend stay at the Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel! The resort is amazing! The staff and service was truly Ritz-Carlton. I was able to experience the restaurants and spa and was completely blown away. Best hotel in the area. It is where style meets service in this part of Southern California.

  • Liked — the rooms were very nicely appointed
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1117Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

I recently held my wedding at the RC, and I couldn't have asked for a better experience! The hotel is beautiful and peaceful, the staff is friendly and polite - never stuck up, and always appear at just the right moment to offer help ... all in all, it was, well, perfect.
I've stayed there on a seperate occasion, and the experience was the same! Among the best hotels I've stayed at...

Now, that isn't to say that there were some comments from other reviewers that don't apply... the hotel does have some repairs that need to be made (paint chipping on floorboards, etc), but they are so minor to the entire experience that it can easily be overlooked.

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds, the food, the staff, THE BEDS(absolutely the most comfortable ever!!)
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrvlGalTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

I am a South Orange County native and stay here as often as I can. Sometimes I wonder if people make up issues. All hotels have air conditioning units you can hear. I cant imagine EVER finding a totally quiet hotel. Really that was odd to me. Heck I cant even sleep without noise.

Anyway the service has always been perfect, never overcharged, valet perfect, staff does anything and everything. I personally like that the cheapest rooms are small. They are intimate and I dont know I sleep at a hotel, not do kartwheels, so I cannot imagine needing much more room.

However, we usually stay in the suites which are perfect size. Never settle for anything less than an ocean view.

The most beautiful thing about this hotel to me is waking to the ocean breeze and looking out my window to see the surfers bobbing up and down early in the morning. This is a spot only a few locals use and is so quiet and peaceful.

Montage up the street is also great, newer too, but not The Ritz if you know what I mean. And the building is old, but the interior is not, it is perfect. I love this hotel.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank OCtravelgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing