We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiest customer ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Happiest customer ever!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We recently stayed at this property. Upon arriving, we were exhausted and just wanted to relax and hear the ocean from our room. We took showers, got in comfy clothes, opened the balcony doors and what did we hear? A yip yip dog barking! Ugh! It was a nightmare! Once I realized that yip yip was going to continue to yip yip and it wasn't a solo yip, I called the front desk and spoke to Casey, the front desk manager. The net net to this review is that Casey was exceptional and he turned a very tired, unhappy customer into a very HAPPY one. His reaction was fast and we were moved to a cozy room that satisfied our every desire. The property was exceptional - we dined at Raya - amazing food and lunched at Bar Raya overlooking the fabulous beach, again delicious. Can't say enough good things about this property - it is obviously being run well at the top as all the i's are dotted and t's are crossed. We don't see enough customer service these days and this place exemplifies it! Cheers to a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your visit! We are delighted to know that Kasey helped turn your negative experience into a most memorable one. Our ladies and gentlemen strive to provide service excellence every day for each of our valuable guests. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    403
    196
    107
    54
See reviews for
532
688
48
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The title really says it all. Our family planned a very special trip to California for my Dad's 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived, staff at the Ritz did everything in their power to make the experience unbelievably special for all of us, but especially my Dad. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and really provided the best service I have ever received. Every time you passed by a member of staff, they said hello and always had a really genuine smile - it seemed like they really enjoyed working there.

The rooms were beautiful, so clean and there was even a bottle of wine waiting for all of us on our arrival. The setting of the hotel is incredible - right above the beach with gorgeous views. My parents' room even had a fire pit out on their balcony which was a really nice touch.

We ate and drank at all of the bars and restaurants and they were really top notch. The breakfast was really great - especially with the great service we had from Joel and Miguel who were just the best ever.

After our trip, my Dad told me that it was the best trip he had ever had. I am just so grateful for everyone at the Ritz who made that possible.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view room - so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Page M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for such a momentous occasion. It was our pleasure creating memories for you and your family. We hope to welcome you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
1,026 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent several days at the Ritz Carlton to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we loved it. A couples massage at the spa was wonderful. We were treated by everyone like royalty and even the restaurants were spectacular. We enjoy long walks on the beach.

All in all it was a typical Ritz Carlton experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RiceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Happy 25th Anniversary! Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for such a momentous occasion! We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us as much as we enjoyed creating it for you. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am prefacing this review with the fact that I am comparing this hotel to the Ritz Carlton in Naples that I previously reviewed and said was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. So knowing that hotel is the paradigm...We stayed on the Club Level and one thing that seemed odd is that the elevator drops you off...right in the Club lounge. No foyer you are just bang! in the Club lounge. And you have to pass through there any time you want to come and go. The layout of the Club lounge seemed a bit odd-- kind of L shaped-- and it also seemed cramped. The food selection seemed sparse compared to the Naples Club lounge. But the staff there was very friendly and helpful. Speaking of staff, overall great service as usual at a Ritz. We did have a bartender in the main lounge who was lacking personality. But our awesome wait and host staff in Raya and Eno made up for that! I took advantage of the complimentary yoga class and I'd definitely recommend. Yoga outside with a great view...for sure! And the workout room has an amazing view as well. The lobby and public areas seem to be kept up well. Yet the halls on the Club level were rather nicked up and could use a paint job. Our room seemed really dark. There was only one lamp and the rest was recessed lighting. I also felt the bathroom lighting wasn't very bright. I did like the two sinks though! In summary, nice (pricey) hotel (hello $18 martinis!) but nothing so spectacular that would draw me back. I might try the St. Regis or Pelican Hill Resort next time I'm back in that area.

Room Tip: We saw some rooms on the ground level had fire pits with an ocean view. Might be worth checking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review about your Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel experience. We enjoyed your photos as well! We are delighted that we were able to anticipate your needs overall. Our ladies and gentlemen's highest mission is to provide an excellent level of personalized service. It is our desire that you will return again and again so that we have the opportunity to create many more memories for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am not sure how you can make it any clearer. This is the place to go and just unwind for an afternoon by yourself, or with a loved one. The service is impeccable, the ambiance is luxury at its best, the scenery and views are straight from the Divine, and the little touches in elegance will make you smile as you walk around the hotel. Grab lunch, take a stroll down to the beach, hang out on the cliff overlooking the ocean and then come in for a cheese and wine tasting. I wish I could live in the hotel.

Room Tip: If you need anything, just ask. I joked about taking the menu home and they said, "If you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel as your home away from home even though you are located very close to us. You can live here anytime! Nothing makes us more delighted than to know our valuable guests have completely enjoyed their experience with us; whether it be an overnight stay or a day visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable, relaxed and refined experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is our 6th time there. It is consistently going downhill. Positives: The view is spectacular from the restaurant and outdoor bar. The sunsets are to die for. Laguna Nigel is a great artsy village and is a California must see. The Spanish themed restaurant is great. Negatives: Mildew/ mold in the show. Food crumbs (large) outside someone else's suite that stayed there for 2 days. Waits 8, 15, 14 minutes at the market to order a latte with 4 staff members buzzing around with no one else in line to wait on. Steak house is a disappointment. Food is average for a high end steak house. Vibe is flat. Service door needlessly left open (true for 4 other areas of the hotel- close the doors- we don't want to see stored junk in the middle of a supposedly luxurious hotel!). No treats with the check like every other such restaurant does. Room service pick up and main service come in without knocking (3 times). Sheets are old- I know they are not 200 count but they feel like it. There are the Montage, Pelican Hill and St Regis that all are truly 5 star in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 133DavidA133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We greatly appreciate it and have used it constructively with our team. The service failures you have mentioned are certainly not indicative of the exceptional experiences our ladies and gentlemen strive to provide. Again we thank you for making us aware. If you would like to share any further details with our management team, please contact our Executive Office at (949) 240-2000. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The valet staff was so friendly and attentive. We arrived early and our room was ready. Even received an upgrade for being a lifetime platinum Marriott member.

We had a partial ocean view with a nice size deck. Room was very quiet, only suggestion would be more lighting.

We spent time in the lobby bar, the market place, and 180blu. Staff was extremely knowledgable and courteous.

Also enjoyed walks on the trails outside the hotel. Breathtaking views.

We did spend a day by the pool and wished the pool bar would have been opened.

Overall great 5 day get away. A very relaxing atmosphere and exactly what we were looking for. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cynte921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
It was a pleasure having you! Will you be returning soon? We are delighted you enjoyed the beauty of our magnificent surroundings, as well as the relaxed yet refined ambience of the resort. Thank you for posting a review about your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,515 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
697 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,369 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing