We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, ever, never disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am not sure how you can make it any clearer. This is the place to go and just unwind for an afternoon by yourself, or with a loved one. The service is impeccable, the ambiance is luxury at its best, the scenery and views are straight from the Divine, and the little touches in elegance will make you smile as you walk around the hotel. Grab lunch, take a stroll down to the beach, hang out on the cliff overlooking the ocean and then come in for a cheese and wine tasting. I wish I could live in the hotel.

Room Tip: If you need anything, just ask. I joked about taking the menu home and they said, "If you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Calvenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel as your home away from home even though you are located very close to us. You can live here anytime! Nothing makes us more delighted than to know our valuable guests have completely enjoyed their experience with us; whether it be an overnight stay or a day visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable, relaxed and refined experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is our 6th time there. It is consistently going downhill. Positives: The view is spectacular from the restaurant and outdoor bar. The sunsets are to die for. Laguna Nigel is a great artsy village and is a California must see. The Spanish themed restaurant is great. Negatives: Mildew/ mold in the show. Food crumbs (large) outside someone else's suite that stayed there for 2 days. Waits 8, 15, 14 minutes at the market to order a latte with 4 staff members buzzing around with no one else in line to wait on. Steak house is a disappointment. Food is average for a high end steak house. Vibe is flat. Service door needlessly left open (true for 4 other areas of the hotel- close the doors- we don't want to see stored junk in the middle of a supposedly luxurious hotel!). No treats with the check like every other such restaurant does. Room service pick up and main service come in without knocking (3 times). Sheets are old- I know they are not 200 count but they feel like it. There are the Montage, Pelican Hill and St Regis that all are truly 5 star in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 133DavidA133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We greatly appreciate it and have used it constructively with our team. The service failures you have mentioned are certainly not indicative of the exceptional experiences our ladies and gentlemen strive to provide. Again we thank you for making us aware. If you would like to share any further details with our management team, please contact our Executive Office at (949) 240-2000. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The valet staff was so friendly and attentive. We arrived early and our room was ready. Even received an upgrade for being a lifetime platinum Marriott member.

We had a partial ocean view with a nice size deck. Room was very quiet, only suggestion would be more lighting.

We spent time in the lobby bar, the market place, and 180blu. Staff was extremely knowledgable and courteous.

Also enjoyed walks on the trails outside the hotel. Breathtaking views.

We did spend a day by the pool and wished the pool bar would have been opened.

Overall great 5 day get away. A very relaxing atmosphere and exactly what we were looking for. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank cynte921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

It was a pleasure having you! Will you be returning soon? We are delighted you enjoyed the beauty of our magnificent surroundings, as well as the relaxed yet refined ambience of the resort. Thank you for posting a review about your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I just returned from 3 perfect nights at this fabulous resort. The beauty of this resort is breathtaking. My wife and I stayed in an ocean view Club level room. The service was outstanding and the room was very nice with an amazing view of the Pacific. We went for long walks along the ocean and golf course every day. The fitness center overlooks the Pacific and the spa is top notch in every way. The resort has absolutely everything you could possibly want for a perfect getaway.
I can't imagine anyone complaining about this property. It is just beautiful in every way. It is definitely a 5 star resort that has incredible beauty everywhere you look!
We are already looking forward to our return to the Ritz!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingnapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are delighted to know you enjoyed a perfect getaway! All of our ladies and gentlemen strive to provide memorable experiences to each of our valuable guests. We hope you choose to return soon so we may provide another personal, memorable and unique experience for you. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The biggest disappointment about this hotel was our depressing room. I get that it's small but we paid $800-plus for an oceanfront room with patio and firepit and for that kind of money i really expected a beautiful, luxurious and comfortable room but in actuality the room is muted, drab and depressing, the bedding wasn't soft at all, the furnishings are average and it was just nowhere up to par with a typical Ritz/Four Seasons/other five star resort. In order to maintain a constant temperature the air cond kept going on/off all night which was very annoying. Another big negative is our room included breakfast so Sunday morning we arrived at the restaurant, saw that it was about 3/4 full but were told the wait would be 30-40 min due to reservations for their $65 per person fixed price "brunch". That simple breakfast/brunch distinction meant that as paying hotel guests we were being penalized for asking for an amenity that was included in our stay. After waiting 10 minutes and noticing that tables weren't being filled we pointed this out to the hostesses and were finally seated but there should never be a reason why a paying hotel guest should be told to wait over a half hour while tables sit unoccupied (and then feel they have to negotiate for a table). One more thing - valet parking, which is the only option, is incredibly slow. We must have waited 20 minutes for our car Sunday afternoon. I suggest calling ahead. On the plus side the staff is very friendly, the restaurant servers could not have been nicer or more professional, housekeeping was prompt and the location was great. However, after a lunch and drinks 10 min up the coast at a hotel we've loved in the past, it only confirmed that if you're going to splurge on an oceanfront room at the Ritz, for the same $$ The Montage is the better way to go.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is beautiful and the firepit was a nice feature in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mintchip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your extremely valuable feedback. We have used it and shared it appropriately. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide a detailed summary of your recent stay with us. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further. Please contact our Executive Office directly at 949-240-2000 so we may ensure you we work through your concerns together. They are ours as well. We are grateful for your positive comments about our ladies and gentlemen and will recognize them accordingly. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Paid extra in hotels.com for ocean view room ended up with coast view room.. Room was dirty.. Someone food was left over in the room..noisy Ac unit.. Beds not comfortable at all.call in for the error about the room was told that it was error on the part of expedia or hotel.com websites.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rousseau2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for letting us know of the confusion with your reservation made through hotels.com. We greatly appreciate your feedback and have acted upon it promptly. If we can assist you in any way, please contact our Executive Office at (949) 240-2000. It is our highest mission to ensure your complete satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Exceptional rooms and service -- basically everything you could want on the resort grounds (such as tennis and basketball courts, ping pong, lounging areas, etc.) , and literally steps away from the beach. I could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furqan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. It was a pleasure having you with us. When will we have the opportunity to create another memorable experience for you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,559 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
801 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,594 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: One Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $574 - $982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury coastal living at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, a resort in Dana Point, California situated high on a seaside bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and offering a relaxed Southern California vibe near Laguna Beach, Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing