We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Wowed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Be Wowed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

A first class resort in an area known for it's laid back vibe. Fron the minute you step into the gorgeous lobby you know your not in your typical SO Cal resort. Although it looks from the ads that it's ON the beach it's actually above the beach on a cliff..

The grounds are exquisite. Start with cocktails at sunset on the outdoor terrace. Dinner at the hotel is very pricy but do it if you have the $$. Nothing much happening in the way of nightlife. You may want to splurge on an oceanfront room on the ground floor with its own private fire pits and enjoy it for the evening.

The snack bar has great lite food for breakfast, get it to go and enjoy it on one of the many outdoor chairs. Try yoga at the outdoor pavilion overlooking the ocean. The exercise room is well equipped and you feel like you are at the bow of an ocean liner looking out over the ocean. There are two pools with plenty of available seating.

Room Tip: Pool front rooms on ground floor have sliding doors with direct access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Good2Go2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Aren't our poolside rooms wonderful? We are delighted you experienced many of the fabulous offerings we provide at the resort. Thank you for exploring our resort grounds and surroundings. Our playful approach to luxury awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    371
    184
    89
    49
See reviews for
457
620
42
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend and overall, had a great experience. The hotel itself is beautiful with gorgeous views and reminds me a lot of the Ritz HMB property. The room was clean and adequately sized with its greatest asset being the views from the balcony, however it is definitely not the most extravagant or luxurious room I've stayed in. We especially loved working out in the gym which had, unexpectedly, one of the best views in the hotel. One negative part of our stay was at check-in...the girl at the front desk was not friendly at all and seemed to lack the class and politeness I expect from the Ritz brand. We were shown a club level room that was dark and dingy, so I asked if there were any rooms that got better light. The girl was kind of curt and just said "well, I can't really tell you what rooms get more light, it's hard to say." Wait, isn't that your job to know that info?? We were there celebrating a special occasion, having recently gotten married at the Ritz HMB, and this interaction put somewhat of a damper on my mood. This experience will not deter us from staying at Ritz properties in the future, but I think this property can do better training their employees on customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueliu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your very valuable feedback. We have taken it seriously and have shared it with the appropriate leadership. We welcome the opportunity to speak more in depth with you if you can spare the time out of your busy schedule (949) 240-2000. Thank you for staying with us. We look froward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

When visiting California, I usually don't stay in resort style hotels.

Ritz has a good operation in Laguna Niguel, about halfway between San Diego and Los Angeles.

The good:

- location,
- grounds,
- common areas,
- rooms,
- food.

The bad:
- noise level,
- stuffy atmosphere. The clientele is too "blue blood" for me, and the staff re-inforces that behavior. Once they realize you are not one of the old-money blue bloods, they show their human side.

Won't return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delta_Neutral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. We love hearing it and we share it accordingly with our leadership team. Thank you for visiting and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My family and I love this hotel. The views from the gym and restaurant are incredible. We've stayed here twice and will be back. Definitely worth the extra investment for a room with a view. Love the early morning beach walks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmaatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We couldn't agree with you more that our views and surroundings are magnificent. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had the experience of our lifetime at the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel! It was our daughters wedding couple of weeks ago and there is not one single negative thing I can think of writing about this resort. Stunning views Fabulous customer service outstanding rooms, and the service we received from the coordinators at the Ritz......Susan N, Hailey E, Maie, it was simply outstanding, I will surely treasure the memories forever! we requested and it was taken care of promptly and efficiently
The guests attending the wedding party were blown away with the service, it was a wonderful weekend and memorable experience for everyone.. we could not have had a better venue for our daughters wedding. Best experience ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roopa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Congratulations! Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for such a momentous event!
We look forward to creating many more special memories for you and your family in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but have been here twice walking through the property with my daughter who lives nearby. The views are breathtaking and the lobby is understated elegance. The floral arrangements change and they are all artistically created but not in a gaudy manner. Clearly money is no object here so they could have done anything but I appreciate the simplicity and elegance of the place.
The restaurant overlooks the ocean and the cliffs, and is a real distraction to anyone lucky enough to dine there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for stopping by! We hope to have you as our overnight guest soon. We are delighted you enjoy our warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdybirdcars
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early September. They automatically upgraded us when we told them that we had just been engaged. Our room had an ocean view, a fire pit, and they threw in a complimentary s'mores kit. We were very happy. All of the staff were excellent and friendly, everyone smiling and genuinely seeming to enjoy their job. The room wasn't huge, but it was adequate. The bathroom however, WAS huge!! The view was gorgeous, as was the room. Being so close to the gorgeous beach was excellent, as were the shopping and restaurants nearby. You need to bring nothing to the beach, the hotel provides chairs, towels, boogie boards, water, and some more. I would return in a heartbeat, had I the expendable income ;-)

Room Tip: Splurge for the patio fireplace ocean view room, very nice. Also ask about low tide and viewing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdybirdcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for such a momentous occasion! We are delighted that memories were created for you. Your photos are stunning, thank you! Isn't Mother Nature wonderful? We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing