We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is pure Ritz quality. Excellent service - we reached early (at 11am) and most hotels have a policy of not checking people in till 3pm - that staff was super nice - did not for a moment say anything about us being too early etc. Simply checked to see if rooms were available, upgraded us to junior suites at no incremental cost. Rooms are Ritz quality as well - large, tastefully furnished with a large bathroom area. Surprisingly, the lobby bar is a happening scene. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted you chose The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel as your luxury destination. Will this be a new trend for you? Welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    396
    192
    102
    52
See reviews for
503
661
44
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Sometimes you read reviews on TripAdvisor and worry that the hotel you have chosen is not going to live up to the reputation of the brand or the naturally beautiful location. In the case of this hotel, everything (and I mean everything) about this hotel was fantastic. The location is obviously outstanding, but that is natures work. Everything else is a testament to the skill of Bruce Brainerd the General Manager and his team. From the moment we checked in we were treated magnificently and in particular by Clarita in Guest Services. The rooms were wonderfully appointed (only slight criticism is that the airconditioning units were sometimes a little noisy) and the views exceptional. Meals at Raya (breakfast and dinner) were of the highest quality and the service discrete and attentive. The beach service is amazing - the attendants brought chairs, umbrellas and water to make a day sitting by the beach truly relaxing. The pool was busy but it didnt feel overly crowded - no early morning dash required to get a decent position. The menu at the pool was sufficient but perhaps a little unimaginative for non-meat eaters. The hotel is expensive but for me.... completely worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Our team strives for perfection every day and we are delighted to know your experience was a memorable one. We look forward to our relationship with you in the future. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a good place to relax on the southern CA coast and found just what we needed at the Ritz. It's majestic location, comfortable surroundings, friendly service and delicious food made for a great few days. The pool had a fair number of children so it was not a quiet place on a Sunday, but during the week it was less hectic. We loved catching the sunset over outdoor cocktails and over dinner at Raya and found no need to leave the property once we arrived. We would recommend the Ritz as a great place to go to get away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMonster19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
You have found your great escape! Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to creating more memories for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After reading several of the recent negative reviews about this property, I was a bit apprehensive. No worries, this property is goregous, the service is First Class, all the way. Comfort abounds in the plush rooms, food at the restaurants is top notch, and the service staff, from maid service to valets, to front desk, to servers, to bell staff, all were top notch and had real class. I felt special. Enjoy your stay! I plan to return one day, it is paradise on earth.

Room Tip: If you can afford the ocean view rooms, they are outstanding. Same rooms as the others, but the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your paradise. We will never let you down! Our ladies and gentlemen pride themselves on offering stellar service and creating life long memories. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
341 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A spectacular setting and first class service make this a very special place. I had heard from a number of friends that this place is very special, and now I can confirm that it is. My only regret is that my say was so short. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJoelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It was a pleasure having you with us and we are delighted you decided to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit and we promise to provide you with another special experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for a second time this summer. Beautiful property and great location, but customer service, security, and food quality should be improved. Especially consider the brand image and prestige associated with the Ritz, I would expect stellar everything. My friend traveling with me had issues with poorly cleaned bathroom. My room had a security issue - the patio door (on ground floor) was left opened post housekeeping. Luckily nothing was stolen. The manager promised to send a certificate for stay as an apology...I've been waiting over 6 weeks for the certificate and doubt it will materialize. Also dined an Raya where our party sent back 3 items for being either over or under salted. For the comparable cost, I would consider St Regis (great customer service, beautiful rooms) or the Montage (each room has an ocean view, beautiful pool) over the Ritz for future stays in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We thank you for your very valuable feedback. We have listened and will use it immediately and constructively. We hope to speak with you in person if you can contact our Executive Office. Thank you again and we certainly hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Ritz with their Pageant of the Master's package last week. The hotel is beautiful, service outstanding and scenery breathtaking. Check in isn't until 4pm so they took our cell phone number and called us when it was ready. We walked around and had a drink and snack at the 180 outdoor restaurant. Beautiful view of the ocean and they even brought us blankets to keep warm.....August at the beach in California can be COLD. Food was fair at best. Our room was beautiful with a great coastal view. Love the separate vanities in the bathroom. Shower power was great but was surprised to find a shower curtain instead of a door. Shortly before we left for the Pageant they brought us two fleece blankets and a program for the show. What a great surprise and the blankets were needed at is was cold at night. Had breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the restaurant with spectacular views and the food was great too. There is a nice walking path nearby and they will even give you beach toys (buckets for the kids, boogie boards etc) to use. For us, the water is too cold but lots of people were enjoying the water. Would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It sounds like you truly enjoyed our resort and surroundings. We enjoyed creating a memorable experience for you. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
728 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
646 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
386 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing