We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and inspiring location, great gym; sometimes slow service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful and inspiring location, great gym; sometimes slow service”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Spent a week at the Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel (@ Dana Point). Pulling up to the hotel late at night, I was greeted well by both the valet and front desk and could already feel the wave of relaxation overcome me. Nice job.

The room (third floor, ocean view) was spacious and well-decorated, with sleek but not modern white furniture. Balcony overlooked the ocean, but was not secure relative to the adjacent rooms (a miss). Refrigerator was tucked away inside a mirrored column which was quite clever. Bathroom had dual sinks, amenities by Asprey London. Bed was comfortable enough for many great nights' sleep (you have to call if you want linens changed every day) and the lighting was well designed with controls throughout the room.

Besides the obvious incredible pool and beach scenes, with a magnificent view of the cliffs and surfers below, the other huge benefit of this hotel is gym. 24-hour access, and plenty of machines overlooking the ocean--it's majestic. Cardio machines plus a nice selection of weights. Gym gets busy in the morning and was not always well-outfitted (cold towels, headphones unavailable)--but it was inspiring enough to want to work out in the gym twice a day.

The downside of this hotel was some surprisingly slow servicing, whether it was reaching the front desk for questions, getting a coffee maker in-room delivered (no, there isn't one already in the room, strangely; and no, despite two requests, it never was delivered). Calls to the bell desk were sometimes not picked up for a half-hour. Worst of all, there is no minibar available in the room. Luckily, a couple of the bar and lounge areas are nice, thought the outdoor terrace (1800) closes really early (11pm) which is a miss.

Overall, I'd probably come back with the family--it's beautiful and picturesque--but hopefully the staff will be more attentive to the service speed in the future.

Room Tip: Spend for the ocean view, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladodgerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your feedback. We greatly appreciate the opportunity to serve you. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience and you will be back with your family one day soon. We look forward to your next arrival and will be sure to create more wonderful memories for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    402
    196
    105
    53
See reviews for
527
682
47
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton on Memorial Day weekend (like we did last year). Below is our take on the resort.

1. Sunday Champagne brunch . Our server, Matthew Donoghue provided 5star service. He was very attentive and personable. I highly recommend you request him to be your server. We couldn't have asked for better service.

2. Room - we took our 2 Labs & the room was nice but the patio - well we were on the corner right by the public beach access, so people would look in room and/or while we were drinking our Wine some people would make a comment like I'll take a glass as they walked or rode their bicycle by. We are social but would like a little bit more privacy.

3. 180blu - Great view - but when they are busy, plan on waiting about 5-10mins for someone to help you. We went to the inside bar after waiting & we couldn't find anywhere to sit.

Overall its a beautiful resort, a little pricey, and all the staff was very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty! The resort is a great place to be on holiday weekends. How did your two labs enjoy their stay with us? We enjoy making our furry friends as happy as they can be while they are visiting. Will everyone return soon? We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at the club level. Wonderful staff and great food. The spa is beautiful and the gym overlooks the ocean......just a wonderful view. You can relax on the foyer and enjoy the waves and watch the surfers all day long. Great trail for walking or biking. We had the best time. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjalaeikhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
And we can't wait to have you back! Thank you for staying with us. Did you take a few fond memories home with you?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had our son's wedding and rehearsal dinner at the Ritz-Carlton Dana Point, CA and many family and guests stayed at the property over 5/31-6/3, 2013. This hotel is located on a bluff with magnificient views perfect for weddings and other events but what impressed all of us was the incredible staff. From the moment we were greeted, they could not have done more. With engaging smiles and accommodating willingness to see to our every need it was the people there who made the stay exceptional. The rooms were comfortable, clean and fresh with nice terraces and quality soft goods. Grounds were beautifully groomed. Food and drinks were exceptionally good whether for our events or a quick meal in the bar, cafe or dining room. But, again may I say it is well run with a great staff who have been trained to think about how to satisfy the guests and that was more than accomplished with our group.

Room Tip: Group had all levels of rooms in several locations. They were all good with the obvious differences...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Congratulations once again! It was an honor and a privilege to be the host for your son's wedding. Our ladies and gentlemen take great pride in providing memorable experiences for each of our valuable guests, and we are delighted your stay with us was flawless. We hope to see you again very soon whether it be for a future celebration or simply R&R. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This stay was a surprise for my girlfriend's birthday. From the first moment I walked into the lobby and was greeted by name I knew this hotel would provide the right touch. I advised the front staff of the occasion and was upgraded to an ocean view room. I went back to the beach where the birthday celebration was going on, and afterwards walked up the long road to the front of the hotel taking in the spectacular view - with the pretense of going to the bar for a drink. I ran into the same customer service manager who I had spoken to earlier on, and he had asked how we were enjoying our stay at the hotel. To be honest this was the best way I could have thought to break the surprise to my gf that we were spending the night! We opened the door to our room and were thrilled with the birthday card/gift and the truly magnificent view of the sunset over the Pacific. The pool was great, the roses in the lobby were truly amazing, and the service was top notch. The facilities were quite nice as well, big pool big hot tub, nice area. The spa was very nice as well, but to be honest it was a bit strange that there was no receptacle for towels so there was nothing to do but leave them on the ground...a bit strange. The sauna was not in good shape either and seemed like it was in desperate need of a renovation. Overall though a truly amazing stay. I would come back for sure.

Room Tip: It's worth spending the money for an ocean view room, trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for such a momentous occasion! We enjoyed creating a memorable experience for you. Could this be the start of a yearly tradition? We hope so! You will pleased to know our sauna is now in tip top shape and we hope you have the opportunity to enjoy it again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we stayed at the hotel over the memorial day weekend which might have made things worse, nevertheless, this was the poorest of the ritz carltons we experienced to date- and we've done a few. Key points:
- average room, tight balcony, nice view over bay and neighbour -at same time
- best western style pool: too small compared to the size of the hotel, completely full of kids jumping in the water, impossible to find a chair, annoying music in the background, completely average and overpriced food (fake crab sushi anyone?); the "other" pool was too small and too crowded. jazuzzi-full of sand and with a handicaped chair making it completely unattractive; completely unstylish, geared to the masses
- car valet service a nightmare; 30 min wait (after calling for the car from the room); totally missed the sunset and the dinner reservation
- beach chairs- unavailable at the time
- hotel grounds- might be pretty- but how many weddings can one stand in a supposingly "gateway" weekend
overall, nice location (but NOT Laguna), overpriced and overrated. if you want luxury and quiet, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate it and take it seriously and constructively. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We hope we have the opportunity to provide you with a more memorable experience in the future. Please contact the Executive Office directly for your next reservation. We are delighted to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has a major wow factor. Set high, right on the edge of a bluff overlooking an active ocean and beach scene, it is hard not to be impressed with the location of this property. The public spaces of the hotel are also very impressive. These areas are glamorous and elegant and make you feel like you are staying at a top hotel with a stunning location. Then you get to your room and that feeling fades away.

We stayed in an ocean front room on the club level. Although the room was a little small for a deluxe hotel, good design could have compensated for this, but that is not the case here. There is nothing truly wrong with the room. It is just that given the look of the rest of the hotel and the price paid, the rooms are disappointing. The soft blue and grey colors made the room look dull. The art work was uninspiring. The limited furniture was basic dark wood, nothing special about it. The empty space below the flat screen TV on the wall was for your bags. The closet has some small drawers available, but no real room for bags. It all just looked very bland and boring. The lounge chair at the end of the bed was the only cool looking feature in the room. The bathroom was no better. It was all white Carrera marble and mirrors with thin chrome framing. White Carrera is timeless, but the mirrored walls and vanity areas were dated the moment they were installed. To make matters worse, many of the rooms in this hotel have connecting doors. The connecting doors pretty much line up with the bathroom doors. Our neighbors were relatively quiet, but if someone is inclined, a guest could zero in on a neighbors conversation. On the plus side, we had a larger and more private balcony than other rooms and the view was outstanding.

As for the club level, the service was very good and friendly, but the club room is also a little disappointing. It consists of one cut up room with three tables and a small balcony on the ocean side, and about four or five tables, a sitting area, and fireplace on the garden side. A service/presentation area divides the room. It is a fine space, but like the rooms, lacks the glossy look of the public spaces. The club level is the entire fourth floor of the north wing. Unless you plan on being around a lot and having a fair amount of food and drinks, it may not be worth the extra money.

As stated, overall the rest of the hotel is very impressive. The gym is small, but a full workout can be achieved and it truly is a very stylish space with one of the best gym views to be found. The main pool does not have an ocean view, but it is set in an attractive courtyard with nice landscaping. The quiet pool is in a separate courtyard, but it is small and does not look as inviting as the main pool. The spa is small but very nice, and use of the steam and sauna areas is included in the resort fee, as is wi-fi in your room.

This is a great looking hotel and the location is amazing with outstanding views. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We really enjoy travelling and a good hotel stay. For us the room is an extremely important part of the stay. We want to look forward to getting back to a beautiful room that we can enjoy staying in. It was disappointing to us to have to return to such a bland room, especially since the rest of the hotel is so stunning.

We have stayed at the nearby St. Regis before, and while that hotel has bigger and more attractive rooms, the views, while very nice are no match for the Ritz. So what to do? The Montage? We have not stayed there yet, but it could be a good compromise.

Room Tip: Ocean front view rooms have amazing views - but not to worry if you don't go for one because mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed feedback. We greatly appreciate it. We always enjoy seeing our guests' photos as well. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience with us, and especially
all that our beautiful surrounding have to offer. We couldn't agree with you more that the Pacific Ocean is the most magnificent decor of all! If we may be of assistance to you at any time, please contact the Executive Offices directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
734 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
689 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,354 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing