We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a property! Every member of the staff was helpful, warm and welcoming. Especially the team at check in/check out. McClinton Heil stood out as he made sure our stay was awesome. The room was perfect and the views fantastic. The location provided for a wonderful morning stroll along the the walking path that edges up against the pacific ocean and a beautiful golf course. Breathtaking views. The resturant and bar were superb. A gent named Harold Payne did wonderful improve music numbers for the guests in the bar...it was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvmfa212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

It sounds like you had wonderful time! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a memorable experience. We agree with you that McClinton is an exceptional leader....and so are all our ladies and gentlemen. We hope to see you again soon for another stay-cation...perhaps your new home away from home?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,760 - 1,766 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Perhaps the most consistently excellent service I have experienced in a high-end property. Give the GM a medal. Well designed, tastefully elegant interior and a beautiful location overlooking the beach from a high. Food was excellent. Bar prices steep but you can't expect them not to be.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A lovely location, but the hotel was not as luxurious as the St. Regis nearby and service was not up to Ritz standards.
A very nice courtesy pick up in a Lincoln Navigator a great and friendly driver.
The check in was lengthy and rushed. I suspect under staffed. The agents did their best with a smile. Many guests were complaining as I was in line about delays and poor rooms locations, etc.
We were given a nice courtesy upgrade but the rooms were a bit underwhelming and bathroom was a bit dated. The bellman was great with the room details.
Service was lacking in many ways and lengthy delays for requests and items never delivered.
The lobby lounge and terrace bar were the redeeming aspects. Good service in both. There was good service in the Breakfast dining room. Delicious cuisine. A lovely fireplace and view respectively.
Mistakes in urgent letter delivery, I suspect due to the holiday. Overall pleasant but nothing exceptional.

Room Tip: Try for ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELARBITER14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for posting the pictures of the resort; we love seeing them! We hope you enjoyed a memorable experience overall and we apologize for any service inconsistencies you may have encountered. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. We know your next Ritz-Carlton experience will be a true Ritz-Carlton experience. We look forward to welcoming you back
soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I visited the Ritz Carlton during the holidays. I have never had such a quality resort experience from the moment we pulled up to the hotel. We were greeted by valet who was very friendly and personable. From that moment until we arrived in our gorgeous room, we were accompanied by a Ritz Carlton employee the entire way. Each employee we interacted with was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I can say that even before we arrived in the room this was already the most luxurious resort experience we had ever had. After arriving to the room, we were even brought ice by the employee who showed us to our room because he noticed we had champagne we may want to chill. Talk about attention to detail!! We then open the blinds and admired the outside and inside of the room. Given the extreme attention to detail and flawless experience leading up to this, I must say I was quite surprised when I entered the bathroom. It was a great bathroom with a his and her sick, a nice magnetic mirror, and a large amount of space. My surprise came when I went into the toilet area and noticed that the resort does not offer Freshends, or any moist towelette for that matter. I was shocked to see such a high end resort that appears to strive for perfection lacking such a simple and important amenity.

That said, outside of my unpleasant surprise, our stay truly was flawless. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and everyone and I would highly recommend to the Ritz Carlton that they consider adding this pertinent amenity.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. That is our highest mission! We look
forward to welcoming you back soon and to creating new memories for you. Thank you for your recommendation...please be assured we have heard your feedback and will bring it to our leadership team. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed 1 week after xmas through New Years. great hotel, great service! 3rd stay in last 16 months, all have been excellant. if possible stay on the Club Level. the staff and service is unsurpassed! worthy of 6 six stars!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTCParkCity_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

It was a pleasure having you back! Thank you for your loyalty. It sounds like you fully enjoyed our exclusive Club Level. We agree....it is amazing. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlmen, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Ritz Laguna Niguel and had a great time. We arrived at around 2pm from the East Coast and the hotel was buzzing with activity. As soon as we entered the grand lobby we were in awe. The Christmas decorations were still up and they were magnificent. Our room was not ready despite the fact that we reserved through AMEX's Platinum Fine Hotels program which is supposed to give you an early check in. But no worries we decided to eat lunch at Raya, the main restaurant which has panoramic views of the Pacific. We checked back at 3:30 and room was still not ready, minus 1 star, finally at around 4 the room was ready. When we got to the room we were a bit dissapointed. the room had no view and overlooked a wall next to the pool, also the room was very small and very dark. We are a loyal Ritz Carlton family and stay with them 3-4x a year and were a little dissapointed with the room assigned to us. My wife expressed our displeasure with the room and we were moved the next day to a room with a partial view of the Pacific. The new room was on the 2nd floor, had a balcony and was nice and bright. The staff at the hotel is very nice and always smiling and address you by name. We ate at Raya everyday for breakfast and loved it. One night we ate at Eno which is the upscale Steak restaurant. The steak was perfect and the atmosphere was amazing. Since the hotel is located on a hill above the beach we walked down to the ocean and saw dolphins and several surfers. This resort is a great place to stay and explore Orange Co. Other than the glitch with the check in and issue with the room we had an awesome time and plan to return this summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view room, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSGGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your review, and most of all thank you for your loyalty to The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company. We care very much about your happiness and well-being. We will never willingly put your satisfaction in jeopardy. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay...aren't the dolphins and sunsets
amazing? We look forward to your next visit. We have many more memories in store for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Ritz in Laguna is magnificently set on a majestic cliff with a beautiful view of the ocean. We were at the hotel over Christmas and it was packed! Hundreds of people in the lobby, at the bar, in the restaurants...this is a busy place with a lot going on. We were greeted warmly at check in, and given a complimentary upgrade to an oceanfront room with a private fire pit. 180blue is a great terrace bar with good food and a nice crowd. The Ritz is in a great location, close to shopping and the beach. The gym is beautiful and well equipped.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for the holidays. It was a pleasure having you with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and property. Our staff takes great pride in the service they provide to each of our valuable guests. They are extremely dedicated and motivated. We look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you in the future. Thank you for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,604 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
949 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
507 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,718 reviews
6.3 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $533 - $1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury coastal living at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, a resort in Dana Point, California situated high on a seaside bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and offering a relaxed Southern California vibe near Laguna Beach, Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing