We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well maintained beach front property with fabulous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well maintained beach front property with fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Service was impeccible. All the staff went out of their way to help you. That was the highlight of this place. Rooms were well appointed, nicely decorated and clean.

For breakfast I loved the Huevos Rancheros. The crabs benedict (not on the menu in the weekend) was good too. At 180Blu, the nachos to share and salmon entree was great. Service at both Raya and 180Blu was great. They remembered our preference for juice/coffee etc at Raya on the 2nd day. My only grouse is with room service - it was exceedingly slow. They always said 30 minutes but took longer, even for a soup or a pot of hot chocolate.

Spa was beyond fabulous. My masseuse, Jenn Ryan (I think), was very good and customised my one hour massage to include a mini face and scalp massage. The massages are very expensive though. Double or more than the rate at most good spas. It is the Ritz Carlton though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for visiting us! We are delighted you enjoyed our location and service. We will be sure to share your thoughtful comments with our ladies and gentlemen; especially Jenn. Thank you for your constructive concerns about our In Room Dining response time as well. Your comments are taken seriously. We look forward to welcoming you back soon....we have many more unique experiences to share with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    318
    146
    72
    39
See reviews for
368
495
37
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have always loved this resort. They have done a fantastic job renovating the hotel and the room was beautiful. So big and the bathroom was stunning, all marble! While the hotel is really nice it still feels comfortable. Their new patio/bar is stunning and we had a great night sitting out to watch the sunset and enjoy cocktails! Great music entertainment as well. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: It would be worth the extra money for Ocean View Rooms. Not all of the rooms at the hotel offer oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are so fortunate to be able to enjoy the simply breathtaking sunsets that we do nearly each and every day. They are truly amazing! Thank you for your wonderful comments. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, we look forward to serving you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Bring your wallet and credits cards for you will need them, but the price is worth it! Fabulous food, wonderful rooms, beautiful views, private beach, quiet areas with a relaxing feel to the entire hotel. We took a stash of $2.00 bills for tipping and we did use them up as the staff is there to help you and you want to tip them. Felt like a true vacation were you sleep, relax, eat, and enjoy the sun and sand!

Room Tip: The rooms all have views of the pool area, beach, or golf course. Actually all rooms have very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our rooms, service, and facilities. We hoped you enjoyed every moment of our warm, relaxed, yet refined ambience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and creating more memorable experiences for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is perched above the beach with wonderful ocean views. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (without being special) - the beds are particularly good. The hotel is well mantained with attractive public areas. The staff levels are high and service is exceptionally pro-active, consistent and attentive - perhaps too much for some tastes! Our conference was extremely well supported by the hotel and participants gave consistently positive feedback on their stay. Food was delicious both in the main restaurant and throughout the conference. Leisure facilities are good but the beach and trails also provide a perfect place for exercise and fresh air.

Room Tip: Ask if you want an oceon view but pool view rooms are also pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about our resort. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I joined my husband on a business trip here for three nights. Our room was on the first floor and we had a balcony with a fire place and a view of the ocean. A perfect place to sit and read a book have lunch or dinner and especially to watch the sunset. We ordered room service one night and sat outside beside the fire place everything was so good. The staff were excellent and gave me good advice as to how to spend my days. I had breakfast and dinner at Raya and the food was outstanding and again the great view of the ocean. It was suggested that I go to Laguna Beach one day and I had a great day, you could easily spend hours going into all the little shops and art galleries. From check in to check out the staff/service were amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbados94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our resort and the historic areas of Laguna Beach and Dana Point. We couldn't agree more, our surroundngs are phenomenal! We look forward to providing you with excellent service each and every time you visit. We have many memories to create for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
339 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The Ritz Carlton was a very nice hotel. We didn't stay here but we did stop by the bar for a few drinks. The total price of the bill for one beer and one mid priced glass of glass of wine came to $33.40 but that's probably to be expected coming from the Ritz.

If you're going to stay here be prepared to shell out the money, but it's top-notch, very nice surroundings very nice interior unbeatable views from the deck highly recommended if you can afford it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for stopping by! We enjoyed having you and we hope you were able to take home a small memory from your quick visit. We look forward to your next visit and we hope you choose to stay overnight. Our sleep experience ranks amongst the best in the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here three nights for a business conference. Provides a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and beach below. I found the service to be very friendly and engaged, but a bit too clingy as mentioned by another reviewer. The hotel is not large, but navigating to my room took some time with many twists and turns down a narrow hallway. I counted 150 paces from the elevator on my floor to my room. I arrived three days after daylight savings time ended, but found that my clock radio had not yet been adjusted. That is not the type of overlooked detail that I would expect at a Ritz Carlton, but thankfully I relied on my cell phone for wake up. During the day, the sound of room renovations above my room was very loud. While one might expect renovations to be occurring at an older hotel, I would have expected to have been informed at the time of check-in, which I was not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuO639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will use this information to ensure our processes are effective and appropriately in tact. We couldn't agree with you more that particular situations should have been avoided. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future so that
we may share with you our finished room enhancements, and provide you with the exceptional level of service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Monarch Beach Resort
Monarch Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Dana Point
4.5 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing