We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Une femme d'un age certain - mais tres formidable neanmoins!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sewickley, PA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Une femme d'un age certain - mais tres formidable neanmoins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've stayed here five or six times over the past 15 years and have always enjoyed myself. The location, as others have noted, is among the more beautiful spots in the USA, and I suspect it would be easy to enjoy while sleeping in a pup tent. This is clearly more than a tent, however, and there are expectations one has in staying at a R-C property; as with previous visits, my expectations were met. The staff are uniformly welcoming and friendly without being obsequious, and any request I made was responded to promptly. The rooms are well-furnished and comfortable, although as the title of the review implies some upgrades might be in order, notably the carpet. The hotel has noted that it is addressing this. I should mention that I arrived very early in the morning yet they were able to make a room available; they took it one step further when I followed the bellman in the opposite direction from where my meetings were being held and I commented that I'd like to be closer: he immediately called registration and they moved me to a room on the other side of the hotel. The catering and banquet service were excellent as to service and adequate as to food. Regarding eating in the hotel on my own, I would say that the view overwhelms the food and that the latter, while good, was of small portion and somewhat pricey, as were the wines by the glass. I solved the wine problem by drinking the truly excellent sangria which is featured in a video on the hotel's website and must be tried, although I can speak only to the red version. All in all, my stay was great, and the only nits to pick were the ones mentioned earlier. I might not have mentioned them at another hotel chain not of this calibre, but when you hold yourself out to be superlative that's the standard by which you're judged.

Room Tip: I usually stay in garden rooms which are perfectly adequate, especially on the ends of the wings Oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your detailed feedback...we greatly appreciate it! We are embarking on a room enhancement project and you will hopefull notice this the next time you stay that the carpet will be replaced, as well as many other small yet noticeable touches. We are very excited. We enjoyed having you and creating memories for you. Your wishes and needs will always be met and exceeded each time you visit us. We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    377
    185
    97
    50
See reviews for
477
634
44
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is the first hotel I have stayed in that actually has the spectacular views shown in the pictures on the website.
The walk down to the beach is pretty steep, but they have carts to run guests down and back. But this allows for stunning views from the ocean view rooms and the restaurant and bar. They also have a great outdoor terrace with a nice menu and good sushi in the evenings.
There's not much to walk to right by the hotel, but downtown Dana Point is only a few minutes away and Laguna Beach isn't far either.
The rooms are pretty typical for a Ritz property and the bathrooms are huge; plenty of room for 2 people to get ready at the same time without stepping all over each other.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms on the ocean side have a firepit on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It sounds like you enjoyed alot of what our property and area have to offer....we love to hear that! We agree; it is spectacular here and we hope you enjoyed our fine personal service. We look forward to welcoming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed at the Ritz in a club level room this weekend and although it is a nice hotel we have stayed in nicer and we just found it a bit pricey for the room we had - especially in October. The suite was well over $1,000 per night for a garden view which was more like the front entrance driveway view. It makes me wonder what they would charge in July and August. Meals at the hotel were also nothing great and in fact we ordered room service the first night because we came in late and we were tired and my pizza had a junk of plastic in it! I called to let them know and they graciously offered to take it off the bill, but still...this is the Ritz Carlton!

The good stuff: the view of the beach is amazing. It is in a perfect location. The club level - awesome!!!! Snacks and nibbles galore all day long, beverages, wine, wonderful staff truly added benefit and convenience. The Jean-Michel Cousteau Eco- adventure programs. My 10 year old son took part in the snorkeling program and saw all kinds of fish and even an eel. The instructors were excellent and he will remember that day for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience overall. Our Ambassadors of the Environment programs are truly one of a kind and very special. We hope to welcome you back in the future so we may share with you more exciting adventures! If there is anything we can do for you in the mean time, please reach out to us at any time. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at the property for one night in October as part of a conference. The Ritz may be expensive, but the service and views make it worth it. All food and beverage was delicious, well prepared, and served with a smile. The hotel set us up with a golf outing at a nearby course, which was a great experience coming from the east coast. Wish I could have stayed longer, or that my wife and family could have joined me.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northofthecape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our service and facility for your short one-night business stay. It is our hope that you will return in the future with your family to truly enjoy all that we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back and creating lifelong memories for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in a mid scale room which was just under $1000 a night and I couldnt believe what we got for it. A small room with a small balcony with a partial view of the ocean. As I stood on the balcony I could touch the person standing on the neigbouring balcony they were so close together. There was no mini bar and the price of renting a movie in the room was more expensive than going to the movies. The decor has changed in the main part of the hotel and it is gaudy and brightly lit. What happened to the elegance? There were children lying around the floor and making noise in the bar after 10.30, this is a time when I really don't want to listen to children running around as they run around the hotel all day. Terrible experience and had to leave early as we were not prepared to spend that much money for so little.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank californiablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We listen to our guests and take all comments to heart. We are sorry to have let you down and would welcome a personal conversation with you. Please feel free to reach out to us at (949) 240-2000. We look forward to hearing more about your experience, and hope you choose to visit us again. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you are looking for a luxury hotel in with a stunning view of the beach, cliffs, and ocean in orange county the Ritz has it. The only downside is that for what you I wish a few other amenities were included like a breakfast, or valet parking. With that said though if you can afford it, it would be a great location to have a get away weekend to lay back and relax. If you have AAA, they give discounts so don't forget to ask!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scheinric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are delighted to know you enjoyed the resort and the beautiful surroundings, and we look forward to welcoming back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was my second time to stay at this particular Ritz Carlton. Just mention the name Ritz Carlton and you know you will have a wonderful, quality experience. This RC, perched on a cliff overlooking the Pacific with surfers below and surrounded by beauty is unsurpassed in almost every way. If you can financially swing it or if you have a chance to stay here for a business trip, do so! The hotel was perfect in almost every way but two--the carpet in my room was slightly worse for wear, and the landscaping on the ocean side looked a bit tired and dirty (not sure whether due to bad weather or lack of attention). But all else was on target. Excellent service, smiles all around, beautiful decor, beautiful flowers in lobby, beautiful art in lobby and elsewhere, over-the-top food, and of course the wonderful view and scenery. Be prepared for hefty car parking/valet fees, but almost impossible to avoid as they do not have a complimentary shuttle to closest airport and there is no real access to parking your own car. But nice to have a car in order to explor Laguna area, shop, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view, but if not available or if too costly, a pool-side room is also w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenCA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed many of the wonderful attributes of our gorgeous beach front resort. Thank you for your visit. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are working on both the areas you have mentioned to ensure we are always providing the finest in facilities for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing