We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Really enjoyed my one night stay here - incredible location and beautiful sea views from the room. Such comfy beds - so high up felt like the princess and the pea! Lovely bathrooms. Such nice pool areas and the option of the beach too. Ate dinner and breakfast in Raya - both really excellent and just stunning views out of the huge windows. Only negative was the constant presence of the housekeeping trolleys - I think I met at least 5 one each trip down a corridor, I felt that could have been a little more discreet.

Room Tip: Sea facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed some of the many offerings of the resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding housekeeping service and we agree with you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    402
    196
    107
    53
See reviews for
528
684
47
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've been lucky to travel extensively and stay at a lot of amazing hotels around the world. One of the places that I have always wanted to stay was the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel at Dana Point. So, for a week getaway with my wife, I ventured out to Dana Point on Labor Day. The timing was perfect as the hotel was nearly empty. We had the beautiful pool to ourselves and the pick of the best table for dinner. We had such a wonderful time that the week flew by and we never left the hotel.

The facility is beautiful and in one of the most picturesque locations in the US. It sits high above the cliffs with awesome views of the Pacific and the coast. Splurge the extra $$$'s and go for an Ocean front room, you will not regret it. The Raya restaurant is not to be missed and if you want, eat there every night. 180Blue, an outside bar looking over the Pacific with great sunset watching is relaxing with great live music. Don't miss Taco Tuesday. $4 tacos that you'll talk about the whole trip.

The facilities, the pool, the beach, the food - all great. However, it's the service that sets this place apart. I know Ritz Carlton's are known for their service, but Laguna Niguel takes it to the next level. Our waiter, Richard, was awesome. He even got us Tacos on Wednesday as we wanted to watch the football game. Said he'd get them and bam, there they were. Andre next to the pool couldn't have been more attentive and great. I could on and on, but no matter what you wanted, the hotel staff was there and exceeded my expectations every time.

So, if you're looking for a vacation spot, go the Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel. While it was just my wife and me, it's a great place for families, or shoot, just go by yourself!

Room Tip: Upgrade and get an Ocean Front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so glad you had a chance to enjoy our resort to the fullest. We enjoyed having you! Come back again soon so we can surprise and delight you even more. Thank you for posting your honest review....it was heart warming to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My kids (20, 17 & 12) and I stayed here for 3 days in August. The entire experience was amazing - we had a spectacular view from our room, the concierge was very helpful (booking several outings including golf & whale watching for us before we even got there), the staff was very accommodating - an overall spectacular stay! We ate in the hotel several nights and had great food - especially the night with live music and sushi on the balcony. We happened to be there for Yappy Hour (a fund raiser on the first Thursday of the month for the local animal shelter) and loved the dogs & their owners! The hotel was busy with lots of families but we had a great experience in every way. Perfect weather, great room, spectacular view - a magical stay in every way!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We hope to see all of you again soon. Perhaps we can be your new home away from home. We enjoyed creating memories for your children as well...they are very important! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Thomas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The good.
Beautiful views. Clean rooms. Great (public) beach. Tasty food. Fabulous kids club. Excellent club level. Mostly excellent service.

The bad.
No warning the waves on the beach are killer! They hand you a boogie board to go die.
Mainly about the conferences, so some of the hotels best areas were reserved for the week. So why market them to the rest of us?

The ugly.
Marriott has made it almost impossible to extend your stay. This ritz has taken it to a high art of near impossibility. Really you have rooms available but I have to call the 1-800 to do so..I think not Fine....on to the next hotel. Most Ritz just try to charge extra if you do not call the 1-800.
Matresses....we had 4 beds, average to horrible...folks if you are trying to sell your bedding why not try impressing me with it first, or put the sales material away.
Pool service. Really I ask for my chair to be set up, but you only do it on the weekend?? Yet the time spent explaining it you could have had it done. Ok back to the Four Seasons they set your chair up all week and make an extension on your stay EASY!

Room Tip: Ocean view....it is the main reason to be here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaiiboundst_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We greatly appreciate hearing from you. Your comments have been well received. If we can be of further assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact our office at (949) 240-2000. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent a week here for a meeting; the property is an nice as ever. The only downside to the room was the "garden view" that turned out to be a view of the front driveway. We made sure to not spend alot of time in the room, and why would you with the beautiful grounds and beach just around the corner.
The staff are very friendly, all would greet you and smile; housekeeping was timely for the most part, and the rooms were serviced twice daily (which was nice with after beach showers, etc).
Included in the resort fee is the beach set up, which was very nice, including chairs, umbrellas, and boogie boards. The valet staff is prompt, friendly, and helpful.
You can get a good cup of dark coffee at the coffeeshop in the morning; Raya was lovely for lunch, the view is spectacular. Although the prices are high, it is to be expected at this location and in the Ritz.
All in all, this is beautiful property is easy to enjoy-we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ocean view if you can get it; even though our room overlooked the drive, it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allygirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is very helpful. We value your loyalty to our resort and we look forward to being your host for years to come. Our service will never let you down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I spend labor at The Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel and had a wonderful time. First te location is amazing. Situated in South Orange County, California the location has some of the best weather on the planet. No air-conditioning required in the summer and hardly a need for heat in the winter. Then the view is incredible. This is all on top of great appointments and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRICOSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your photos! We love them! We couldn't agree with you more....it is paradise here. We look forward to welcoming you back for another "staycation" soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The property was beautiful! The views are amazing! It was such a busy weekend that it took 3 hrs to get into our rooms. We stayed on the club level so at least we could enjoy the drinks and snacks they had to offer. As long as we stayed on the 4th floor we were treated wonderfully. At dinner we waited an hour and a half for our food to come. The food was great once we got it. We went down to the pool and not once were we ever asked if we wanted a drink. The servers looked upset to be working that day. They also misplaced our friends bags so that took a while to sort out as well. I know they must have been busy this weekend, but I expect a lot more from such a high class hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate your time in posting a review on TripAdvisor. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, it saddens us if one of our valuable guests departs the resort without the best possible experience and memories. We would welcome the opportinity to discuss your stay further. Please feel free to contact us at (949) 240-2000 so we can ensure your next Ritz-Carlton experience is a true Ritz-Carlton experience. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,512 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
692 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,364 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing