We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is very modern and beautiful. You are always greeted by smiling faces. Yes, the balconies might be a little small, but the view makes up for it. The club level's food was amazing. The bathroom was awesome, it was all marble. They have a really cool walking trail that takes you all the way to downtown Laguna Niguel. The beach was nice. Didn't try the restaurants, way too expensive!

Room Tip: Oceanview is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We greatly appreciate it! We are delighted you enjoyed our exclusive Club Level experience. It truly ranks amongst the best in thel world. When you have a chance to return, please call us directly at (949) 240-2000 and we can provide you with our current room and dining packages that will add value to your stay (based upon availability). We are excited to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,756 - 1,762 of 2,310 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

For the price, you get your money's worth of location and views. Unfortunately, there were too many issues to make this a positive review. First was the missing extra bed we were promised that we had to call for, then there was the drain pipe one floor up that was dripping water onto our outdoor fireplace making a foul smelling odor, and finally the food which consisted of extremely salty sushi (even without soy sauce) and Velveeta cheese on the nachos (not a kids menu item). The staff were very friendly but they were all very young and clearly not at the level of some of the Four Seasons we've visited.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saxkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. Please rest assured that we listen and take it to heart. We thank you for your business and hope you enjoyed your stay overall and you will return to the resort in the future. We would welcome the chance to speak with you. Kindly call our Executive Office at (949) 240-2000 so we may discuss your feedback personally. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Not so quiet luxury, unless you stay on a week night. We enjoyed relative silence until the weekend rolled around. You are paying primarily for location, location, location since they skimped on sound insulation. Expect to be able to hear your neighbors' music and conversation, even if they are down the hall. Ask for a room near the Monarch wing's quiet pool if your room overlooks the pool, as the Dana pool can get spirited on the weekend evenings due to wedding parties, etc.

Service was ok- not exceeding or over the top. Unless you count the lollipop bouquets that they offer kiddos, it was industry standard service.

The food from Raya was fine but pricey. An app of shrimp & mushroom quesadillas ($14) consisted of 10 bites. They were two potsticker sized "quesadillas"- really two small dough circles closed in a half-moon. Did I mention the 10 bites? Tasty but not exceptional. Breakfast is a better bet- got the American that came with coffee, fresh squeezed oj, eggs, ham, potatoes, grilled veg & toast. Given that oj and tea was $5- $7 the previous evening, the American was the way to go. Plus at breakfast you get more of a chance of a window seat. The view alone is 5 stars, as several have mentioned.

If you go in the low season, the pool and beach service is sporadic. Better to call ahead for amenities like chairs or umbrellas. You'll get a complimentary lift to the beach, necessary if you are toting a toddler. They'll tack on a 21% tip if you do poolside dining. A burger and iced tea came up to $31. It was a great burger, but at the Marketplace the same burger was $12 the next day. Ouch.

Come for the sheer proximity to the beach but eat off site as often as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean (of course!) or near the quiet pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

We appreciate your candid feedback....thank you! We hope you took home some life long memories after leaving our resort. It is our highest mission to ensure you are comfortable and relaxed at all times. We welcome the opportunity for you to reach out to us so we can make note of all your preferences and expectations in our database so that when you do return we are able to meet and exceed all of your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Reception: There was a long queue, as many people arrived for a business meeting. We were, however, immediately asked whether we belonged to this group and could then check-in separately.

The hotel is situated on a hill at the sea and offers a beautiful view. We had a reservation for an Ocean View room, Club level. The room was nice but very small. They tried to enlarge it optically by having mirror-finished even the smallest surfaces.The room has two small chambers right and left from the balcony door, approx 1,20 x 1,20 m. One serves as wardrobe the other one contains the fridge and the safe. Small bathroom with two basins, bathtub with shower curtain, separate toilet. The bathtub has a circumferential edge so be careful when you rest your head. The rooms are poorly soundproofed.

What we really have to praise is the service in the lounge, the ready assistance, the kindness of the staff and everything they offer in the lounge. We often use club or executive lounges in hotels but never found it as perfect as here.

The hotel has several restaurants. We had dinner several times in the “Raya” and were always happy with the quality of the meals as well as with the service.

Unfortunately our stay of several days was clearly affected by the business meeting of probably 150 people

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your detailed review. We greatly appreciate your efforts. We hope to welcome you back again very soon, and we will do our best to always have a room for you in a quiet area. Please feel free to reach out to us directly at (949) 240-2000 to review occupancy and group activities prior to placing your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have never stayed at a hotel with more amazing views and quality of service, even other Ritz Carlton properties. Even the workout room overlooking the ocean, which was a great way to start the day. There is a walking path down to a gorgeous beach and amazing sunsets every night.

I highly recommend getting an ocean front room on the ground floor so you can walk right out to the beach. It is also nice to enjoy a drink or snack on your patio listening to the waves.

We stayed April 2009 but it wouldn't let me go back that far.

Room Tip: Ground floor, ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

We hope you have had the opportunity to return to our resort since 2009. If not, please come soon! We look forward to welcoming you back and will do our best to always have a first floor ocean view room available for you. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Well worth a visit, great location, very good service, conceirge lounge good but range of food a bit limited. we would go back.

Room Tip: If you can get an Ocean view without paying too much go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

We couldn't agree with you more....our sunsets are out of this world! Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to creating more memories for you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Beautiful location. Lovely interiors and a staff that aims to please. We had some little mix ups (room service forgot coffee cups, restaurant wasn't ready for us at time of reservation), but these things happen, it's how a hotel chooses to resolve them that counts. The staff was eager to remedy and make up for the little things that went wrong and so much went right. Loved it. The main restaurant was fantastic too.

Room Tip: Ocean is fantastic, 1st floor has access to green with chairs to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We enjoyed having you. Thank you for your nice remarks about our restaurant Raya. We have a new restaurant that we are excited to share with you during your next visit called enoSTEAK. We look for to the opportunity to serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
808 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
461 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,604 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: One Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $574 - $1,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury coastal living at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, a resort in Dana Point, California situated high on a seaside bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and offering a relaxed Southern California vibe near Laguna Beach, Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing