We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband & I just had a mini-vacation, at the end of my husband's business trip in the area. The hotel is great! Absolutely the best value for the money. I can honestly say that the beds (and pillows) are some of the most comfortable I've ever slept on!!
I would not hesitate to stay there again, if I'm lucky enough to travel to the area again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDIP_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Isn't it wonderful when a business trip can turn into a vacation too? We're happy that we were able to be a part of your Southern California experience. I noticed you're from Canada. Don't wait for the next Artic Vortex to pay us a visit, eh? (smiling!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 655 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

If your 5 5ay work week seems like a 10 day work week, then this hotel has exactly what you need when you are looking for a place to "decompress" or you need an "Adult Timeout". The property lends itself to an florida type setting with palms lining the front wall and spiraling staircase that is a photoshot attraction by itself! and the views on the ther floor of the pacific ocean which are just 3 minutes driving distance and blend perfectly together when it comes to beautiful sunsets and gentle breezes that help us forget how long it took us to get to this hotel.

Absolutely the best suites i have been it so far! they had everything, i was trying to find a reason to extend my stay, and my timeout was over, but We will be back it is on our regular list of places to go throughout the year.

If working hard for your money is work something, it will surely pay off when you spend the night at this Best Western Property.

Room Tip: 3rd floors have higher views #332, #334, #336 are good rooms they have a perfect view of pacific oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Don! With all the reviews people see posted here, you brought out a point that is very often overlooked. Aside from the standard things people talk about - a comfortable bed, a hot breakfast, friendly staff, etc - there is a psychological comfort that you don't always find when traveling. I'm talking about that "home away from home" feel. When all the elements of a really good hotel experience come together and you find yourself thinking "I don't want to leave" ... well that's the highest compliment a guest could ever pay us.

Thank you for noticing and sharing the insight with your fellow travelers. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was the nicest best western I have ever been in. Great value for your money, extremely clean and nice. Located on a very busy street and not an easy walk to beach or harbor. We walked a few times but wound up having to get a taxi. Traffic was crazy and not easy to navigate. If you have a car this is an awesome place to be but if you are on foot or bicycle you might want to stay at a different location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi James and Happy New Year to you! Wow! "The nicest Best Western you've ever been in." That is quite an honor and we're very proud to have earned your recognition.

Walking distance to the harbor is a very subjective term. It's about 10 or 15 minutes depending on your pace and the traffic. It also depends on the time of year. It's alot more pleasant to take that walk during the summer. Even if our guests choose to take a taxi, you still get the convenience of being close to everything without paying an on-the-beach price.

Thanks for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went for New Years. The hotel was very conveniently located to Dana Point Harbor. It was an easy walk to the harbor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. The beds were very comfortable. Did hear some traffic from PCH but was not disturbing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Darcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

It was a pleasure to serve as your getaway for New Year's Eve and we're happy you found the accommodations and staff of the Marina Shores to your liking. The Pacific Coast Highway (PCH to the locals) is noted for it's "colorful" traffic - sometimes the noise of the nightlife and excitement gets a little loud, but to most people, that's all part of the charm.

Please accept our best wishes for a wonderful new year and we hope to see you back next New Year's Eve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My favorite California coast hotel - easy to get to Anaheim for Disney, San Diego for Sea World/Zoo/Museums. Nice interiors. great morning breakfasts, superior employees, comfortable rooms for families or cozy couples retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SAMomof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi Jill! Thank you so much for your great comments and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Marina Shores Hotel. You happened to mention one thing that I think is very important when people are traveling to south Orange County and that's our central location to Disney and San Diego. Vacationers have no idea how much money they can save by staying in Dana Point (at the Marina Shores of course!) and then making the short 45 minute drive to all the attractions. They would spend at least twice as much to stay in Anaheim and San Diego, plus all the hassle of checking out of one city and checking in at the other if they plan on seeing the sights at both.

Dana Point truly has it all when you look at our location in relation to the attractions in Orange County and then add in our beautiful beaches, the marina and all the great restaurants. Great call Jill and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Terrific place in Dana Point, close to everything. Staff gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants....where the locals go for good food, service and fun ...Check out Salt Creek Grille. Will definitely be back! A sharp Best Western Plus that is very well maintained.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mbroon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay - not only here but exploring all the jewels of Dana Point. Look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary with a four day stay in Dana Point . Received an upgraded room that included a living room, wet bar and whirlpool tub with a partial ocean view in a lovely hotel. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was very pleasant - always a smile on their face. Breakfast hot entree was different each day - a nice change from other hotels. Nicely located with excellent restaurants of all price ranges nearby. The Harbor Grill is one of our favorites. Thank you BW Plus Marina Shores for making our anniversary trip pleasant and problem free. We'll defintely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank two4theroad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

It was our pleasure to be a part of your landmark anniversary celebration. Whenever a hotel becomes part of someone's beautiful memories it reminds all of us on staff why we got into this business in the first place. Just don't wait another 45 years to pay us a visit! Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.2 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $108 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing