We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A hop, skip and jump from Doheny beach. Great fast food restaurants close for three hungry teenagers. Great lounge areas on each floor to go and read or just sit and reflect. Delicious hot breakfasts free with room. Wonderful staff! Value, value, value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Judith G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

You said it all. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 651 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stay at Best Western hotels all the time and this hotel was to the standard of others that I have resided in for business. They went out of their way to make my family comfortable. Although, we had key card difficulties a couple of times, they immediately took care of the problem. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Patti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the key card issues but it sounds like everything else went great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed here for a friend's wedding which also happened to be our anniversary. My parents surprised us with champagne, food, and dessert. The manager Peter went above and beyond to arrange this special gift and made our stay very memorable. The rooms are really nice and couldn't be a better location. We had an amazing time and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

It was our pleasure to work with your mom to make your stay extra memorable. Please accept our congratulations on your wedding anniversary and we wish you both many happy years ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel which is a few blocks away from Dana Point harbor. It is one of the nicer Best Western properties we've stayed at. The rooms seem newly decorated, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our only complaint about the room is the spa tub in the bathroom is so high, it is dangerous to climb in to take a shower. Designers need to look at function rather than appearance. The complimentary breakfast had more than just the usual pastries, juice and coffee. But the extras were very mixed in quality. They had scrambled eggs, (quite good) potatoes (gray and unedible) and a pancake making machine that made very chewy pancakes. All in all while not perfect, it offered a clean comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for the comments and suggestions about the spa tubs and we will see if there is anything we can do make the tub access a little easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It's always so hard to choose a hotel based on these reviews! Most people seem to only write reviews when they have complaints. We just stayed at this hotel for a quick getaway for my birthday. We have two small sons, 4 & almost 6. It's a nice place, clean and well kept up. Staff was nice. No cleanliness issues at all that we saw. It's just what you would expect from a Best Western if not a step above, nice but not fancy and clean. Pool was on the smaller side but was well heated. View was fine, mostly of fast food places but you could see the ocean in the distance. Breakfast was the typical highly processed stuff but they had hard boiled eggs and some bananas/apples. Coffee was above average! Staff was very nice at check in and in the eating area. Room was large and there was a jetted tub although it was so noisy that we didn't use it so we didn't disturb anyone around us. It is right on PCH but we just slept with the A/C and fan on so traffic noise wasn't an issue. We would stay here again with no hesitation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank dagasteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for the review and for recognizing the value the Marina Shores Hotel offers. We may not be perfect, but as you said, "a step above."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is in excellent condition and very clean. Staff is terrible/ lack of customer service. Loud hotel guests. Breakfast is barely edible. You decide if you want to stay in a clean hotel and just not get any sleep and eat a horrible breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

I'm sincerely sorry to hear how unpleasant your stay was. I cannot apologize enough for the staff issues although you didn't specify which department you had problems with. Our goal is always to provide friendly and efficient service. The breakfast selections will always be somewhat limited because we don't have a full service restaurant, but what we offer is prepared fresh every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay there. The people all were extremely nice and accommodating.We were there for the Laguna Arts Festival which we go to every year. Dana Point is a great location and the Best Western Hotel there couldn't have been a greater place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tina705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

"Tina"

Thank you so much for the kind words and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Marina Shores Hotel. Hope to see you back next year for the Arts Festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.2 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $109 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing