We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
372
103
21
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
103
21
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesedana point harborafternoon winecarpe diemtower roomb and bhappy hour with winechart housegas fireplacegreat view of the harborjacuzzi tubhard boiled eggscliff overlookinglaguna beachsitting areaboutique hotelfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 519 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Based on the mixed reviews on this website, we kept an open mind when we booked a Pacific Edge level room for one night, checking in on New Year's Eve. We could not have been more pleased. Christine checked us in and was very informative, helpful and cheery. Our room was described as "partial ocean view: but it turned out to have a very nice view of the ocean and part of the marina; we could watch the paddle boarders and sail boats wandering about the bay. The room was very comfortable, the gas fireplace provided much needed warmth on a chilly evening and our "Happy Hour" was great with wine and light appetizers. Breakfast was fine with homemade quiche, potatoes and fresh fruit and juice. Any questions we had were promptly responded by Peggy. All in all a very positive experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swages01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Beautiful location. The service here was ok. The late afternoon wine and cheese time was nice; breakfast so-so. The room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor with a view of the harbor. Price was a little high. Dana Point is beautiful and at this time of year we had fabulous weather. Fireplace was very nice. Bathroom very large. However the Jacuzzi tub had mold all around the inside perimeter. A newspaper was promised to be delivered in the morning - but that morning was a holiday and we were told they do not deliver newspapers on holidays. The TV did not have sound on many of the channels and when we call the front desk and asked about this; they replied that the cable company was responsible and they had no control over this. Checkout time was 12 noon however our key locked us out by 11 am. Had to have it reset. We will not stay here again. Unfortunate.......

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ouqtinvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My husband and I got married at Cannons next door 5 years ago, and stayed at the Blue Lantern on our wedding night. Almost every year we go back to the same room for our anniversary (this time with our newborn). The service is great (especially Peggy), the location is stunning, and it is a wonderful place to stay.

I do have to echo what some of the other reviewers have said: the breakfasts are bad--really bad. Supermarket quality bagels, undercooked scrambled eggs, burnt pancakes, rubber frittata with no taste, and one day it was sliced bread (from the cocktail reception the night before) dumped face down in a globby cinnamon mush--so it was just a soggy glob.

I also have to agree with other reviewers that say why do you display a cookbook boasting the breakfast recipes of the Four Sisters Inns if you don't make them here? It's like you're taunting your guests!

In stark contrast, the food at the afternoon wine reception is wonderful.

People who complain about the weddings at Cannons next door need to lighten up. The Inn has no control over that (plus they get a lot of business from couples and their families who get married there) and it is usually on Saturdays (also their website clearly states that such weddings can be loud, but music has to stop by 10 p.m. by dana point law). A couple did get married when we were staying there, and the Inn guests enjoyed watching from their patios and balconies. We certainly did not mind as it brought up great memories.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
Thank caocgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and i stayed at the Blue Lantern for our 20th anniversary and it was a fantastic, relaxing, romantic weekend. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was good, all in all exactly what I had hoped for. For a romantic dinner there is a Chart House restaurant just a couple of blocks to the west of the Inn; walking distance! I highly recommend the Blue Lantern for any special occasion. Or 'just because'.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We arrived here with very little notice after we had to bring our dog to an emergency DVM clinic in Tustin and needed to pick her up the next day (we live in Los Angles). We arrived
soaked to the skin following a drive in pouring rain and Laura, at the front desk, seeing our distress, upgraded us to a room with a great view of the harbor and a balcony at no extra cost. Our room was very nice with a fireplace and elegant bath. They serve wine and cheese
at 4:30 pm and leave the wine out if you come home from dinner and want one for the road.
They serve a full breakfast, eggs, bacon, orange juice, oatmeal, whatever you could possibly
want. All together a very fine experience under the worst possible circumstances.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank pandafanLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews