We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pillows and Bed Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
“Best Pillows and Bed Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Got engaged here on Friday night. The room comes with pretty great amenities: fireplace and jacuzzi tub...PLUS, the most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever slept on. I just called the Inn to see what kind of pillows they use so I can buy some at home!

The Inn is clean, comfortable, food and wine is consistent and tasty. The staff is stellar, really genuine, nice people.

Thanks for a great stay! We'll be looking to stay in your sister inns in Napa!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    93
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
303
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I called to book a reservation for our 4 th wedding Anniversary , the lady who answered the phone was a bit impatient . I will try back later.
I called back a day later & a different time, the lady who answered the phone was Rude!
On our way back home, we decided to stop by this B & B and see if booking a reservation in person would be better, giving the employees the benefit of the doubt.
Well we walked into this B & B, pretty! Great location. Again the lady was Rude!!! Never mind , we will spend our money else where.
2 great Hotels across from the ocean. Great city love all the things to do in this charming city ( Dana Point )
Do not stay at this B & B

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Wsjs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I chose this inn to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.....we couldn't have been more disappointed. This is clearly NOT a bed and breakfast as advertised here at Tripadvisor and other sites.. The food was more like a cattle call...a "buffet" complete with powdered eggs, processed glue like sausage....canned fruit...it was horrible. Further, the Inn did NOTHING to acknowledge our 20th wedding anniversary. When we mentioned this upon leaving, the manager asked us if we had seen the "chocolates" left on the bed. I am surprised she could say this with a straight face. The "chocolates" were the common " two chocolate box" you would commonly see with a turn down service...nothing more. To top it off, the guest upstairs seemed to be rolling three dressers (from the sound of it), back and forth for two hours above us from 10:00 p.m. until 12:00 a.m! When we complained upon our departure to the manager--she simply looked at us with a "who cares" attitude and said "sorry"....with an attitude of "we don't care"....it was truly unbelievable We have been to many bed and breakfasts....and 99% of them have been truly wonderful experiences..even if all they offered was a buffet..there was no pride in the quality of the food--at all.....It was sad to see this type of poor quality, food, and "don't care" attitude on our 20th wedding anniversary. We also sent in a response to their satisfaction survey sent to us upon our return home...and consistent with their apparent lack of caring for their guests (or business)....we received no response.....this is NOT the place to spend your money. The rooms are lack luster and they appear to be too cheap to splurge on little bottles pf shampoo, soap, etc for your individual use. Instead they use the same bottle from one guest to another....never again for us!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSInns, General Manager at Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Lantern Inn as we always appreciate receiving our guests’ comments.

I was disheartened to read your review and subsequent feedback following your stay as I would have taken every measure to ensure your satisfaction during your visit had you mentioned any of the issues. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates and card that were left for your anniversary as we hoped these would add a little extra sweetness to the occasion but apologize if we missed the mark.

We endeavor to make it is as clear as possible on our website and Trip Advisor that, as a larger bed and breakfast style inn, we offer a buffet-style breakfast that includes a hot and hearty breakfast as well as fresh baked goods, fruit, yogurt etc. You are welcome to enjoy this in our sunroom but it is our pleasure to also offer, on request the night before, breakfast in bed in the comfort of your guestroom or on the patio.

With regards to the disturbance from the guest above, as I discussed during check-out, we have 24 hour on-site staff that would have been more than happy to help rectify the situation should you have asked as, again, our guests’ comfort is of utmost importance.

Warmly,
Lin McMahon
General Manager, Blue Lantern Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Dana Point to enjoy the annual whale festival and in the process discovered an amazing inn that we plan to return to more than just annually! The moment we arrived we felt the serenity the location and atmosphere provides. As far as the festival, we were in the perfect spot overlooking the harbor and all the festivities - beautiful sunset views, plus we were able to see whales from our balcony! We definitely plan to return and enjoyed the daily complimentary warm breakfast and afternoon appetizers and wine. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, accommodating us with DVD's, binoculars, bicycles, and local information. Our room, 203, was clean, inviting, updated, and spacious. On our next trip we plan to take full advantage of one of several luxury spa packages!! This is one of those finds that you are torn between telling everyone about, or keeping as your own little secret!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Overall, we really enjoyed our time at the Blue Lantern Inn! The staff was so kind in arranging our last minute stay and was even willing to upgrade our room at no extra cost. Our room had a stunning view of Dana Point harbor, our bed was comfy & had enough pillows to accommodate me in my 8th month of pregnancy. The only drawback was the bathroom seemed a little outdated for this hotel, but the large soaking tub was wonderful. This b&b was a great couple's getaway for my husband and I celebrating our 9th anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happywmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway and absolutely loved this place we will forever want to come back. The views were amazing, staff was excellent, and the atmosphere was wonderful.

We stayed in room 301 which is the room you see when you first enter the website. This has the best view in the entire hotel and makes you want to just sit on the balcony all day. We loved having wine and horse d'oeuvres every evening along with having a fully stocked fridge of Coca-Cola!

We can't say enough about this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I wanted a pleasant place to "hide out" for the week-end after a trip to Busy San Diego and LA and decided on The Blue Lantern. It is in a lovely location with marina and water views. We were were cordially greeted and all of our needs were foreseen. We were celebrating my birthday and the receptionist had several suggestions for dinner, made the reservation for us and arranged a great table and birthday dessert. The room was cozy and I wish I could have spent more time on the patio. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and they will help you choose the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sombreil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing