We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views & Excellent Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after a long flight from Australia. It was only a bit over an hours drive from LAX & was a perfect place to unwind before going to a conference in San Diego. The Blue Lantern had lovely views over the Marina in Dana Point and we found the room very spacious with comfortable bedding & very large bathroom. We thought that the breakfast was good but not outstanding & it was a lovely touch to have afternoon drinks & nibbles included in the tariffs.
There were lovely restaurants within walking distance of the blue Lantern.
I think that the location of the Inn is wonderful because it is right on the coast away from the busy coast road & there are beautiful walks nearby. The nearby beaches also are very good.
The only downside we had was some noisy musicians were playing outside our window until very late be night (We did stay during a jazz festival, so I'm sure this noise factor is not normal)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 491 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Only stayed for overnight visit the hotel is warm and friendly. The rooms are comfortable,spacious and clean. The bathroom was large and clean The position of the the hotel is what makes it spectacular the views are outstanding. We were lucky enough to stay while the tall ships were in harbour. Would recommend that everybody visits (if you can,t get in to the hotel as it is very busy ) then just visit dana point, fab shops and restaurants,we tried shacks burger joint,excellent value for money. Cannot wait till we return.

Room Tip: Book early to get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Labor Day weekend was the third time we have stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast in Dana Point, CA. Setting on a bluff overlooking the Dana Point harbor, each room has either a patio or balcony with fantastic views of not only the harbor but the blue Pacific.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed. A delightful breakfast is served each morning with wine and various snacks in the afternoon. The staff, without exception, are very helpful providing suggestions for restaurants and other attractions. We look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a third floor room. They provide the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very friendly and comfortable small hotel in great location. We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a longer trip in USA, the hotel is just over 1 hour from LAX so an ideal first stop. Very pleasant walking trails around the hotel and harbour, and within a short drive of other locations such as Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, etc. Good breakfast, we had different 'specials' each day (frittata, pancakes, etc). Excellent restaurants nearby. Would definitely recommend for short stays as part of a west coast tour.

Room Tip: Stayed in a tower room with balcony, very spacious with great views, teenage children had Pacific Ed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved our stay at the Blue Lantern Inn. A beautiful destination when driving from Los Angeles for a change of pace. Our room was large with comfortable beds and an enormous bathroom with a perfect showerhead. We enjoyed taking walks directly from the Inn, there were several food options in walking distance and there's a trail with fabulous views of the harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velocitytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went here for our anniversary, wanting somewhere special. It was everything we had hoped for and more. The rooms were very nice and very clean. They had a fireplace and also a jazzuzi tub AND ALSO A Jacuzzi tub. Even had soda in the frig to take. The view of the harbor and ocean was absolutely spectacular. It was so peaceful and relaxing to sit out on our patio. You could see all the activities in the harbor and we had our binoculars hoping to see a pod of dolphin or even a whale, but never did. The staff was very nice and helpful. They had a full breakfast in the morning and a wine reception with lots of appetizers in the afternoon. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is a perfectly decent and comfortable place to stay, but for us (a well-travelled retired British couple who stayed four nights) it simply didn't live up to its not inconsiderable Tripadvisor billing. Or to put it more bluntly, it wasn't worth the money, in our view. Yes, the location is superb and the views are delightful but really, that's out of the hands of the owners/management...

On the plus side: the bed was very comfortable; towels and bedding were good quality; public areas (indoor and outdoor) were spacious and well-kept; the free parking was welcome; and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The flavoured water/cookies/wine & cheese are nice touches.

But..and this is what drags down our overall rating...the whole place (including our room and bathroom) had a vaguely shabby and outdated feel in terms of decor, furniture and maintenance. If the intention is for 'shabby chic' then it misses by a country mile. And the 'signature' breakfast was hugely disappointing, some mornings being little better than we had in a motel lobby elsewhere on our trip.

A nice enough place but not good enough to justify the rates.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maccem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
350 reviews
6.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range: $257 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing