We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City West Az
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

This was the last leg of our three week vacation in Southern California and we saved the best for last. What a wonderful property. The location is great - we had a beautiful view of the harbor and our room was charming. The bed was comfortable and the patio delightful. Each morning there was a breakfast with a hot entree. We would have liked more variety for the hot entry however fruit/juices/cereal and muffins were included. There was wine/cheese & dessert in the afternoon that was very nice. You could have turn down service that included cleaning your bathroom. All the services are included - free internet, parking,breakfast and turn down service. There were games and books in the library and lobby. They even gave us champagne the last night there and thanked us for our stay. WE spent 5 nights and it was wonderful. Highly recommend for any couple who wants a nice romantic experience and gorgeous views.

  • Liked — Location/Room/ammenties
  • Disliked — Not enough variety for breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scwretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    93
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
303
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sw colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

Loved our pacific edge room, # 202, second floor – view of the harbor and the ocean from a roomy balcony with table and chairs. Over $100 less that the best rooms – 201 & 301, that have larger balconies, which jut out from the western end of the Inn with ultimate privacy. We brought our breakfast up to our room each morning and had our afternoon apps. & drinks on the balcony watching the world go by. They don't have coffee ready downstairs until 8 am. but we made it in our room if we wanted it early. The breakfast was fine, always lots of fruit, muffins/breads, and a hot egg dish, sometimes with meat, not like moms home cooking, but plenty to get you through to lunch. There was a party with music one night at neighboring Canons, but it didn’t bother us as we were usually out to dinner and by the time we got back and sat awhile on the balcony before bed, things had quieted down. Of course there are always loud talkers eating at Canons like the world should hear what they have to say, but that happens anywhere you go! King bed was comfy, the fireplace worked fine, & turndown service in the eve. was nice as they replaced any dirty towels, glasses or plates at that time, or you could put out the do not disturb sign if you didn't want to be bothered. Had a shower and Jacuzzi tub in the extra large bathroom. Very nice staff, not overtly friendly but quite helpful when needed. A Quiet location at the end of Street of the Blue Lantern. We had wanted to stay on the beach between Laguna and Dana Point, but couldn’t find quite the right place at the right price. Selections for beachfront are either resort style, or too close to the railroad tracks, or crummy looking places which were very overpriced (most with no balconies), or extremely expensive so the Inn turned out to be a good choice. For a delicious breakfast I suggest the Beach House in Laguna Beach. Quaint converted historic home with a deck where you can eat right over the sand. Excellent service and eggs done perfectly on the crab cakes benedict! One of the pictures I included here is a panoramic which shows the entire view from the balcony so you can see what you are getting on the north side of this Inn.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DurangoPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

We recently spent 2 nights at the Blue Lantern Inn and found it to be a great place for a relaxing getaway. Our room was quite nice - with a balcony overlooking the ocean, a working gas fireplace, and a jacuzzi. Each day, they served a satisfying breakfast which we ate outside on the deck one day and upstairs on "our" balcony the next. Late afternoon, they served wine and light refreshments. They also had DVDs which you could borrow to watch in your room and a tandem bicycle which we took out for a spin.

The first night we were there, we asked for a recommendation for dinner and they suggested the Chart House. They took care of making reservations for us and when we arrived (it is a short walk from the Inn), we were treated as VIPs and were seated at the only open window table. The Inn also treated us to dessert at the restaurant - and we splurged on their signature hot chocolate lava cake.

Dana Point was a refreshing stop - good food, nice people, beautiful views. It's not as upscale as next-door neighbor Laguna Beach but a nice place to visit.

  • Liked — Location, balcony
  • Disliked — Having to leave :)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MumaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Spent one night here with my wife on Valentines Day and we had a great visit. The evening wine was very nice as were the snacks. The breakfast was so-so, regular scrambled eggs are my preference vs the scramblette. Our room did not have a balcony and after staying here, I would recommend a room with a balcony and view.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caddoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

My husband and I just got back from a weekend getaway at the inn. It was recommended by my sister in law. We could not have been happier. After I booked it, I found this site and was a little nervous with all the reviews. My fireplace worked fine, the breakfast and snack in the afternoon was very good and the inn keepers were very nice and helpful. We look forward to booking another getaway there soon.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andreasolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at the Blue Lantern Inn, for a week in January with my boyfriend. Overall we loved the Inn.
OUR ROOM was comfortable and immaculate with no dust or dirt to be found anywhere. I do look! The bed was comfortable and nicely dressed with neutral comforters and linens. We both liked the nautical decorations and the spaciousness of our room. The gas fireplace added warmth and a sense of coziness to the room. We never heard any noise and slept like babies! The room was easy to relax in and call home for the week we were there. The highlight of the room is the view of the Pacific Ocean. It is truly spectacular. The room had plenty of windows to open up the wooden blinds and enjoy the view.
THE BATHROOM was oversized with plenty of counter space. Housekeeping kept it immaculate throughout our stay. Housekeeping does a really great job at being nonintrusive yet quickly and efficiently cleaning your room. Kudos to never once being disturbed by the housekeeping staff! The amenties in the bathroom were top notch. The jacuzzi was nice, but there is no way to fit two people in it unless they are both midgets!
THE FACILITY is comfortable and warm. We both liked the front desk staff and found them to be very helpfull with suggestions for dining. There is a large living/library room with plenty of comfortable couches to watch the large screen TV or cuddle up with a book. There are large fireplaces in the public rooms and game tables. There is a computer for guest use in the basement as well as a fitness room. It was very comfortable and relaxing to be a guest in this INN.
FOOD. Breakfast is adequate but nothing to brag about. The fresh muffins were good, but coming from the East we did not like the red and green pepper in every egg dish day after day. There were bagles, plain hot cereal, hard boiled eggs and sliced fruit day after day. It lacks variety and was boring. By the forth day we ate out for breakfast. I do have to note that the eating area was clean and also has a great view. I just would have killed for a waffle or eggs w/o pepper!
AFTERNOON snacks were great! It was nice to be able to enjoy a nice glass of wine and enjoy some cheese. We enjoyed it day after day! It is also wonderfull that the snacks and wine are left out to enjoy most of the evening. A very nice touch. I was also thrilled to have the soda in the refrig, that was also a really nice touch.
OVERALL we loved the INN. It was peacefull, cozy, romantic and a great place to spend a week. I think it is also a great bargain for this area in California. We can't wait to come back and applaud the nice job this INN does. I wish the four sisters would come to the East Coast :).

  • Liked — coziness, view, comfort
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2008

This place is a real gem and I think their prices are good considering the prices nowadays for similar upscale inns/hotels.

I'm sorry, but I cannot agree with several reviewers regarding this Inn. My husband have been staying at The Blue Lantern Inn once a year since it opened, probably more than ten years ago. It is our favorite "weekend getaway" place.

Regarding the comment about the noise from the restaurant next door, I am sorry that this happened to you, but in all of our years staying here, we have never once has a problem with noise. I asked the hotel clerk about this, and she said that there is one room on the far side which can have noise if there is a wedding on the weekend.

Regarding the comments from a couple of reviewers about the breakfast being just hard boiled eggs and potatoes: each time we've stayed here, there was a baked egg soufle' type dish, with cheese in it. They always have a freshly baked muffin or something similar, different fresh fruits, etc. During the day there are cookies in the cookie jar and in the evening there are carafes of wines, a freshly baked desert like a bundt cake, cheeses , fancy crackers and raw veggies with dips.

Regarding the linens on the bed, ours have always been white. We have never had a room that smelled funnny.

Of course, there are little ways this property and the staff could be better, but in general, I always consider this inn a five-star place (and I am a very picky traveler - ask my husband).

The inn is really beautiful - the library room, area around the fire place, dining room. The rooms are truly beautiful, with gas burning fire places and really great bathrooms. Always, our room has a bathroom with a double sink and shower separate from the jacuzzi tub and a toilet room.

However, for our last stay, we asked booked a particular room and were given another when we checked in, which did not have this type of bathroom. The manager said that the reason we could not have the room we booked was because the person who took our reservation did not enter the code which said we want this room only, so make sure you tell them this when you book.

  • Liked — the ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing