We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Nearby Hotels
$214
$197
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$200
$150
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$247
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$599
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $699/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
361
102
21
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
102
21
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific edgewine and cheesedana point harborafternoon winecarpe diemtower roomcity viewb and bhappy hour with winechart housegas fireplacegreat view of the harborjacuzzi tubhard boiled eggscliff overlookingboutique hotelsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 507 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We borrowed the bicycles and had a great time. The inn is very comfortable. Complimentary sodas, breakfast, and evening meet & greet really makes staying here fun. The staff are terrific and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the staff and arrived just in time for wine, cheese and fresh veggies and dip. A great beginning. Loved our room that had a tiny view of the bay. A nice fireplace and two wingback chairs gave the room a comfy feel to it. Slept well and were able to leave a window open for a nice ocean breeze. The Inn sits on a bluff at the end of a street so there was only foot traffic. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. All areas of this Inn are warm and inviting. It was our first visit but we will surely come again. Parking is right next door and there is no charge. Also two nice restaurants are steps away.
My only complaint is that the bathroom had many areas that should be repainted and wouldn't take a lot of time or effort to do. (Room 307) For the amount of money we paid we wanted the room to be in top shape.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot or the back would probably not have a very good view but I didn't see these rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48thAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast set high on a bluff overlooking Dana Point Harbor. The height and views mean no easy beach access, but beach access is very close by. The views are tremendous, and I love the atmosphere of the inn. Many bed & breakfasts are a little on the fussy side, which puts off my husband, but we found our room at the Blue Lantern to be understated, well-appointed and elegant. The linens in particular are top notch, and they do have the usuals like fluffy white robes as well as in-room Keurig coffee makers. The staff is great, and we really enjoyed afternoon appetizers and wine with that marvelous ocean view. Breakfast was actually very good, with a mushroom and egg dish and lots of bacon, but the home-baked goodies such as stuffed french toast and gooey pastries usual at b&b's were conspicuously absent. This was actually a blessing for us, because it is hard to resist what should be resisted...Try for a room with a balcony (whether ocean or harbor view, better to spend the extra $ on the balcony rather than the view, in my mind). We like to drive to the harbor for lunch at Dana Point Harbor Coffee Importers -- the food is unbelievable, and you can bring it back for an al fresco lunch on your own balcony...Try to make time to ride the beach bikes, and if you like walking, the hike of the headlands down to the Strands beach is just about 2 minutes away, and it is breathtaking. All in all, can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Room 306 is great, it has a harbor view and a balcony, best of both worlds.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSMGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived at the hotel late after our wedding ended. The man at the front desk was so kind and hospitable. Our room was excellent - especially the bathroom and the tub. Breakfast was nice and the views are breathtaking. Parking is easy and convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were heading to California for a graduation and wanted to extend our stay to places we had not seen before. I looked around Laguna Beach but things were pretty pricey and in my search I stumbled upon the Blue Lantern which is just a bit south of Laguna. I read about the Four Sisters Inns and recognized another place we had tried to stay once, the Healdsburg Inn. Knowing the reputation of that Inn I did not hesitate to book Blue Lantern. It was one of the most wonderful places I have ever stayed!! (Also quite romantic)! Our friends joined us and they had a beautiful room as well with an even better view, they had upgraded them to a larger space as they had 3 in the room.The location is spectacular perched on a bluff overlooking the harbor. We had a semi ocean view room where we could see the entire harbor and a beautiful view of the ocean. The rooms are large, well appointed, extremely comfortable bed, and a fantastic bathroom!! We also had a large balcony which was divine! Perhaps the best part is the staff, they are professional, warm, informative and all around delightful people. They helped us find 2 great restaurants, that we walked to, and were always available with a smile. The breakfast was fantastic, (included in room), and who would not love having a glass of wine and some cheese on a bluff overlooking the ocean, (also complimentary). Of course it is California so the weather was superb, cool breeze, warm sunshine, and NO humidity!! We loved the Inn so much we asked if they had one in Santa Monica as we were headed there in a few days, they did, we stayed and it was another wonderful experience. This team has customer service and comfort nailed!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank EMCFairfax_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews