We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best stay ever”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I travel to southern California every year to visit friends. This time we decided to try a smaller hotel and we were pleasantly surprised with this gem of a place. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, making reservations at nearby restaurants and suggesting interesting places to see. The food was great and the added touch of afternoon wine and appetizers was wonderful. Everything from the room to the view was perfect and made our stay an exceptional one.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms would be nice but even ours with the view of the parking lot was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GmaFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    93
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
51
312
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

These Inns are amazing. Every detail is perfect! From the beginning of your stay to the end! Everything is the top of the line. The breakfast is to die foe. The selection is superb! Wine, cheese and appetizers I'm the evening were great too. The cookies, warm from the oven! How can you get enough! The stuffed bears decorating the stairs are soooo....... Cute! I clouding the one on our bed. The people in charge are so friendly and take care of any request. We go back as often as we can!

Room Tip: All room are good. Look on line to choose the room that fits your stile. They are all very cute. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIssion Viejo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed overnight for a quick getaway. My husband called the inn direct and was offered a very good rate. Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room, on the second floor, was very clean and quite spacious with a small sitting area, fireplace, and a small fridge. The bathroom was quite large with an over-sized tub and separate shower. We did have a balcony that faced the side street with a lovely view of the harbor. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony reading a book with a glass of wine. We watched the sunset from the patio at the back of the inn and enjoyed some quiet time together. The wine reception in the afternoon offered two types of wines and several cold hors d'oeuvres. We had breakfast delivered to our room. The breakfast was delivered on time and was very good. The common areas are pleasant and spacious. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

When visiting grandkids, this time we decided to try a smaller place. This is a beautiful hotel in a great location on a bluff overlooking Dana point harbor. Pleasant room with a nice ocean/harbor view.
Not easy to actually get to the harbor / ocean from there by foot .
The description of the breakfast was far better than the actual breakfast. They were painting the lobby during our stay, leaving an unpleasant smell on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Blue Lantern Inn - was perfect getaway for our family. Scenic views. Quiet surroundings. Close to the marina. WE will be return guests very soon. Nice lobby for family ativities. Wine and Cheese platter in the afternoon was a great touch.

Room Tip: We liked room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Blue Lantern Inn last weekend for my husband's Birthday. What a perfect stay! The Inn is kept impeccably clean and all the staff are so friendly and willing to accomodate their guests.

We stayed in room 301, which was on the top floor and had a panoramic view of Dana Point Harbour and the coastline. Although we are locals, we loved just sitting out on our private deck taking in the view and sipping champagne!

When we checked in, Laura, at the front desk, offered to make our dinner reservations for the Chart House restaurant closeby. So glad we did! When we arrived at the Chart House, we were given a VIP booth, prime location overlooking the harbour!

What I really appreciated about the Blue Lantern Inn was the friendliness of the staff and the ambience of the place. There were free bicycle rentals and it was fun and relaxing to ride around the neighborhood. Our breakfast was served in our bedroom for the first morning. (For subsequent mornings will you be charged $10.) Happy hour in the lobby at 4:30pm provided cheese, crackers, veggies and so-so wine.

A lovely place and we plan to return. Oh yes, when we checked out, I left my hat in the room. A few hours later, I received a phone call from Carmen at the front desk, who kindly notified me and put my hat aside for me to pick up the next day. Great place, great people! Looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Top floor, room 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passion4travel296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a beautifully clean hotel. The wine and cheeses in the evening were very welcome after a long journey from LAX. A real bonus was the pot of freshly brewed coffee delivered in the morning. The breakfast was a big improvement on the usual carbohydrate laden American breakfast. All the staff were keen to do everything they could to make our stay an enjoyable one.I only wish we had booked a room with a balcony.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing