We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very quaint and beautiful B&B right on the harbor. We had a great room with our own private balcony patio that over looked Dana Point Harbor. Exceptional breakfast every morning with a great selection. Every afternoon there was wine and cheese for the guests. The location was perfect because it was close to shopping, the harbor, and other local beaches. One great beach was salt creek, fantastic park setting with beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: Harbor views are better than the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenrs924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    92
    18
    13
    6
See reviews for
49
293
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We showed up early for check-in, and they were apologetic (it was our problem) and gave us a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine! The weather was damped, so we warmed ourselves by the fire with cookies and coffee ubtil our room was ready. The staff was very friendly and happy to help us. We lost hot water but ir didn't affect us because we were out at Cinneoplis. Regardless, they adjusted our bill (we didn't ask for them to do it). The view was charming and the location was concennient to many good restaurants. We loved and would definitely love to return. It is for couples, though. Definately no kids!

Room Tip: The inn is laid out so many of the rooms have sort of a view, but if the view is important to you, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeNozeAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E.U.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Us: Two Southern Californians and a 15 month old Poquito.


Pros:
Great location perched up on a dramatic cliff.
First-Call Staff.
Easy Parking.
Nice food within walking distance.
Loyalty Program.
Best (complimentary) breakfast in Southern California.
Great Wi-Fi reception.
Free DVDs in the lobby to bring up to the room.
Nice gas fireplace in room with the flick of a switch.
In-room wine list decent - $18 for Pinot Noir.
Complementary turn-down service.


Cons:
Jacuzzi tub not really that strong would be nicer if they had a real jacuzzi overlooking the bay!


Perks/Notes:
Rate: 165 inclusive all fees
Booked online at 2:15pm - hotel front very friendly and quick, checkin at 3pm instead at most place it's 4pm.


Would I return?
Yes.

Sent from my iPhone.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a nice view of the sunrise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

New Year's Eve getting ready for a party and there is no hot water. Called down to Carmen at the front desk and she said let it run a little longer and she would check and call back. Ran "hot" water 15 minutes and it never came on and she never called back...took cold shower. On the way out I asked about hot water and Carmen said it should be working, but that she had another call about the water as well. Checking out the next day, I waited till I had paid and then inquired about the hot water situation so as to not act like I was trying to get a freebie. The lady at the front desk (manager) was indifferent even when the lady behind me said she had the same problem. Not sure what I was looking for, but I did not expect a cold shoulder with my cold shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had the most wonerful stay. From the time I enter the front door through my checkout I couldn't have asked for anything more. I was meant with a smile and a warm greeting room was perfect veiw off the charts all I can say is "WOW". If your thinking of staying here think no more and book it now. THANKS BLUE LANTERN INN.

Room Tip: Any rooms is worth it. It's also the staff that made my stay all worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

we have stayed at this hotel many times, the veiw the serve the free wine are all excellent, within easy walking distance to dana point eateries and attractions, watch for special bargains on their website, best bargains always during the week for seniors, quick trip from la for a great rest stop during the week, the rooms oceanside have the most spectacular veiw, they even have bikes to borrow, the rooms are great, and very comfy, great for a romantic get away

Room Tip: call for last minute specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanlar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our recent stay at the Blue Lantern was the perfect escape. From the moment we checked in, we felt welcomed and at home. The space is beautiful and the room pristine. We immediately turned on our in-room fireplace and tucked in for the night. When we woke up in the morning, the views out of our window were a dream. Downstairs a full breakfast was waiting for us, complete with a cup of coffee and newspaper. This was the absolute perfect vacation spot for two city-dwellers looking for a way to unwind, sleep in, and relax in a serene spot. This will certainly not be the last time we stay at the Blue Lantern Inn and I would highly recommend this spot to anyone looking for an escape from your day to day stresses.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cait H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
5.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing