We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, California
1 review
“Great Place Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had the most wonerful stay. From the time I enter the front door through my checkout I couldn't have asked for anything more. I was meant with a smile and a warm greeting room was perfect veiw off the charts all I can say is "WOW". If your thinking of staying here think no more and book it now. THANKS BLUE LANTERN INN.

Room Tip: Any rooms is worth it. It's also the staff that made my stay all worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    92
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
44
270
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we have stayed at this hotel many times, the veiw the serve the free wine are all excellent, within easy walking distance to dana point eateries and attractions, watch for special bargains on their website, best bargains always during the week for seniors, quick trip from la for a great rest stop during the week, the rooms oceanside have the most spectacular veiw, they even have bikes to borrow, the rooms are great, and very comfy, great for a romantic get away

Room Tip: call for last minute specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanlar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our recent stay at the Blue Lantern was the perfect escape. From the moment we checked in, we felt welcomed and at home. The space is beautiful and the room pristine. We immediately turned on our in-room fireplace and tucked in for the night. When we woke up in the morning, the views out of our window were a dream. Downstairs a full breakfast was waiting for us, complete with a cup of coffee and newspaper. This was the absolute perfect vacation spot for two city-dwellers looking for a way to unwind, sleep in, and relax in a serene spot. This will certainly not be the last time we stay at the Blue Lantern Inn and I would highly recommend this spot to anyone looking for an escape from your day to day stresses.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cait H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very nice boutique hotel with a spectacular view. I would recommend this hotel for a couple that would like to have a very quiet time where you would like to be away from the world. The view is spectacular with room 206 having a small balcony that overlooks the water. There are some trees that obstruct the view a bit, but still beautiful. The hotel has bicycles available to take a leisurely bike ride around the area. There are some great restaurants within walking distance that have scenic views as well. I would not recommend this hotel for families or large groups due to noise concerns.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dmas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in June for a weekend. The location is beautiful and the service was even better. All of our questions were answered promptly and everyone is very friendly. The breakfast is delicious, especially the granola! The room was clean, fresh, and well maintained. It was the perfect place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful views of Dana Point Harbor which is the beach town after Laguna Beach. Be sure to ask for a view room with a balcony. Room 301 at the very top is worth the extra money, and was pleasantly surprised that they had champagne and chocolates waiting. Great area for walking and relaxing after you get passed the check in staff which from reading the other reviews seem to be the biggest negative. Very unfriendly and condescending toward guests. Cannons restaurant is next door which has a beautiful view as well. From 4:30 to 5:30 wine, cheese and appetizers are out. Coffee, tea, cookies and cucumber, citrus water always available in lobby. Breakfast was amazing with pancakes, bacon, boiled eggs, all kinds of bread, and juice. Reminds me of an older Cape Cod BB. Enjoyed our stay, but stayed away from desk demons.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coleen_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay here. Frankly, it wasn't all that we had expected. The woman who checked us in (Christine?) just did not have a very warm or welcoming personality and it never really improved every time I had to deal with her. In general, the vibe is that they are doing you a favor letting you stay there. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. It was great fun being able to sit out on our balcony overlooking the partial view of the ocean. The elevator alone has an unbelievable view. The bathroom with spa tub was very nice but we had to live with the noise of the waterjets, which wouldn't turn off, for an hour until the desk clerk flipped the circuit breaker to the tub. The breakfast was underwhelming and not up to the quality we had expected. One night here was probably enough for us.

Room Tip: It's just a question of how much you want to spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
5.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 13 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing