We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value plus location. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Value plus location. ”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Being the only hotel directly on harbor, they could charge whatever they want yet they keep rates reasonable. Front desk was most pleasant with me, even after just completing dealing with an arrogant and unpleasant guest. Room bathroom and kitchenette spotless. Only minus for my needs would have been an additional pillow or two.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianMillerSantee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    117
    66
    37
    28
See reviews for
89
116
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I agree with most of the other reviews. The hotel was average but the price and location were perfect. If you have average expectations then you will enjoy your stay. We stayed in two separate rooms over a three day stay due to a busy reservation weekend. The Harbor view room was much nicer and more updated than the pool view room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwade81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich/Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is older, but it was the most affordable on our entire trip along the Pacific coast. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious, with a kitchenette and a comfortable king size bed; the continental breakfast was the usual fare, but we appreciated having a coffee and something to eat.
Negative aspects were the noise (walls seem to be quite thin) and a weak wifi/internet connection. But all in all, it is a very good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was an awesome affordable hotel right in the heart of Dana Point and right on the Harbor. It was clean and the rooms were spacious. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again!
We had an awesome view of the harbor and it is right next to quaint shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: King with harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely hotel great location friendly helpful staff, my family and I had an amazing 2 days at this hotel we had a family room with two queen beds with harbour view, lovely large clean room, great pool, great breakfast, every thing is close by, do captain Daves whale and dolphin safari its the best experience, do sunset cocktails at wind and sea. Good value for money at this hotel. Only thing I would moan about is the guy blowing away leaves at 7am and mowing lawn during breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very satisfying experience on my recent stay at this property. Great staff, recent upgrade of rooms makes this a good value if staying in the area. Close to many coastal communities with easy commute via scenic drives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What more can be said than looking out the window and seeing hundreds and hundreds of boats.

Easy walk to shops and dinning but most important is to walk around the Marina. Take a drive up the Pacific Coast Highway and return to the peaceful Dana Point Inn.

The rooms are older but the price to be right on the water is a great bargain.

Very friendly front desk staff.

Morning breakfast was continental and self serve but nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
6.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing