We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Zurich/Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good deal”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is older, but it was the most affordable on our entire trip along the Pacific coast. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious, with a kitchenette and a comfortable king size bed; the continental breakfast was the usual fare, but we appreciated having a coffee and something to eat.
Negative aspects were the noise (walls seem to be quite thin) and a weak wifi/internet connection. But all in all, it is a very good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    109
    64
    36
    28
See reviews for
86
113
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was an awesome affordable hotel right in the heart of Dana Point and right on the Harbor. It was clean and the rooms were spacious. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again!
We had an awesome view of the harbor and it is right next to quaint shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: King with harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely hotel great location friendly helpful staff, my family and I had an amazing 2 days at this hotel we had a family room with two queen beds with harbour view, lovely large clean room, great pool, great breakfast, every thing is close by, do captain Daves whale and dolphin safari its the best experience, do sunset cocktails at wind and sea. Good value for money at this hotel. Only thing I would moan about is the guy blowing away leaves at 7am and mowing lawn during breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very satisfying experience on my recent stay at this property. Great staff, recent upgrade of rooms makes this a good value if staying in the area. Close to many coastal communities with easy commute via scenic drives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What more can be said than looking out the window and seeing hundreds and hundreds of boats.

Easy walk to shops and dinning but most important is to walk around the Marina. Take a drive up the Pacific Coast Highway and return to the peaceful Dana Point Inn.

The rooms are older but the price to be right on the water is a great bargain.

Very friendly front desk staff.

Morning breakfast was continental and self serve but nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
310 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Yes, it is an older hotel -- an oldie but a goodie! Consider where you are and the convenience to so much -- restaurants, shops, views, walks, ocean. Hop on the express boat and spend the day on Catalina Island. Cross the bridge -- turn right to where they teach the kids sailing and other water activities; turn left for more great views. Very doggie friendly area. Breakfast at the hotel was adequate with many choices including yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, packaged pastry (may still be a little frozen), etc. Eat it out on the patio by the pool. Since we are part of a touring group, we found we had a variety of rooms. Ours had a kitchenette. We heard others had a small fridge. The furniture is tired but perfect for the beach scene. Our room was very clean with everything we needed for our 2 night stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are fancier hotels in the area but they don't have this fabulous location.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms have a patio with chairs. The upper rooms have a balcony with chairs. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this motel. It was clean and had a nice view of the harbor. Staff was friendly too. Dana point is a beautiful area and we recommend driving up the coast through laguna beach while there

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJbrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 12 in Dana Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
#9 of 12 in Dana Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing