We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Wales UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely hotel great location friendly helpful staff, my family and I had an amazing 2 days at this hotel we had a family room with two queen beds with harbour view, lovely large clean room, great pool, great breakfast, every thing is close by, do captain Daves whale and dolphin safari its the best experience, do sunset cocktails at wind and sea. Good value for money at this hotel. Only thing I would moan about is the guy blowing away leaves at 7am and mowing lawn during breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    63
    36
    27
See reviews for
84
108
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very satisfying experience on my recent stay at this property. Great staff, recent upgrade of rooms makes this a good value if staying in the area. Close to many coastal communities with easy commute via scenic drives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What more can be said than looking out the window and seeing hundreds and hundreds of boats.

Easy walk to shops and dinning but most important is to walk around the Marina. Take a drive up the Pacific Coast Highway and return to the peaceful Dana Point Inn.

The rooms are older but the price to be right on the water is a great bargain.

Very friendly front desk staff.

Morning breakfast was continental and self serve but nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
286 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Yes, it is an older hotel -- an oldie but a goodie! Consider where you are and the convenience to so much -- restaurants, shops, views, walks, ocean. Hop on the express boat and spend the day on Catalina Island. Cross the bridge -- turn right to where they teach the kids sailing and other water activities; turn left for more great views. Very doggie friendly area. Breakfast at the hotel was adequate with many choices including yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, packaged pastry (may still be a little frozen), etc. Eat it out on the patio by the pool. Since we are part of a touring group, we found we had a variety of rooms. Ours had a kitchenette. We heard others had a small fridge. The furniture is tired but perfect for the beach scene. Our room was very clean with everything we needed for our 2 night stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are fancier hotels in the area but they don't have this fabulous location.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms have a patio with chairs. The upper rooms have a balcony with chairs. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this motel. It was clean and had a nice view of the harbor. Staff was friendly too. Dana point is a beautiful area and we recommend driving up the coast through laguna beach while there

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJbrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Know this before going in....it's an older hotel. But are you going to travel to Dana Point and hang out in your room all day?
Negatives: it's older...dated...noisy a/c...continental breakfast is nothing to get excited over.
Positives: it's reasonable...free breakfast...free parking...helpful people that work there...and a perfect location. Request a harbor view room - 3rd floor. There's a small balcony with plastic chairs - you can sit out there and look at the harbor. It's right next door to shopping, restaurants. Dana Point tide pools are wonderul. Get a tide chart and find out when low tide is before hand and plan your trip accordingly.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quieter and better view. Also request harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieArnett_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My sister wanted to vacation near our family in Dana Point so she booked 3 rooms for herself and adult kids and grandkids 6 months ago. She asked that at least 2 of the rooms be close together (grandkids are young) and that 1 be next to the pool so when the little ones needed to nap, they could still enjoy the pool. She called again in July and also a week before they arrived restating her requests. Bottom line, she did not get either request and the staff she spoke with had a take it or leave it attitude. Not even an apology was offered, much less any effort to accommodate her.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.3 mi away
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
#9 of 12 in Dana Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing